Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The resort was nice but I have stayed in nicer ones. As soon as we got checked in they tried to sale you their preferred club. There was suppose to be a mini bar in the room. We complained about the refrigerator in the room not keeping the drinks cold. And we were told it was a cooler not a frig. The mini bar was not really a mini bar. The whirlpool tub was terrible. The first night we used it, it had brown slimming stuff that came out in the water. Needless to say we didn't use it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Beautiful/romantic!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Beautiful property. Husband and I came for vacay. Staff took care of all our needs. I loved it! We tried to extend our stay but couldn't get our flight rescheduled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: It is a pleasure to have hosted you and your husband for your recent vacation. I am happy that you both had a lovely stay and were pleased with the level of service extended by our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! Regards, Christina Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Quiet, luxurious and comfortable!!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The Staff, Private beach, Amenities, Spa, Food.
Cons: Maybe had some soft reggae music by the pool area so it's not TOO quiet.
Location: The location of the resort is only 13 minutes from the Airport. Such a quick drive!
Secrets Wild Orchid is the perfect getaway for quiet and relaxation. Don't get me wrong, if you want a little noise and play time all you have to do is walk a few steps over to Secret St James and you can party in their pool and swim up bar. It's the perfect combination of relaxation and fun. All you hear is the sound of the waves and nature. I wouldn't want it any other way. If you want more of a party resort you should say at Secret St James. The preferred club is completely worth it!!! I have to give a shout out to Danea, Michael, Matthew and Gregory. Danae went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable when we first arrived. Michael finished up by having a cake sent to our room for my Fiance's birthday. Matthew and Gregory were always waiting us with warm smiles when we arrived down to the lobby. We will definitely be back to Secret Wild Orchid in the future. We had the most amazing, relaxing time EVER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 31, 2017
The food was not as good as the last time. The wait staff acted like they were not interested in being there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for visiting our resort and for sharing your feedback with us. It is unfortunate that the quality of the meals and staff attitude did not meeting your expected standards and will take necessary steps to address these concerns. I do hope that you were able to enjoy other aspects of your vacation experience. Regards, Christina Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

INCREDIBLE PLACE/HOTEL/STAFF

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the room and the beach
Cons: more breakfast option than the buffet
Location: everything is close by but everything you need is in the hotel already
Literally you don't even need to leave the hotel you have everything AND MORE there. The staff is incredible and the amenities to die for. There are so many options of restaurants, theres a club, amazing beach, and multiple bars all in the resort. Incredible experience would love to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing. It is great to read that you loved the room, beach and general location as well as the helpfulness of our team members. Your comment regarding the breakfast options have also been noted for review and improvement by our Food and Beverage Department. It was a pleasure to have been your hosts and thanks again for sharing your review of our resort. Regards, Christina Smith
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenixville, Pa

Nice resort, miserable staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The food was good and the spa was good.
Cons: Fire or retrain most of the staff as to how to give guests a great experience.
I chose this resort based on the reviews but was extremely disappointed. This is my 5th time to Jamaica but my first time at this resort. The resort is nice, not a wow you place, but nice. Housekeeping is stingy with towels, you get exactly 2 towels and 2 wash clothes a day. We did not even get soap to wash our hands with so we had to use the shower gel instead. We were told our mini frig in our room was as cold as it gets, which was not cold at all. After investigating we found it was unplugged. The staff was by far the worst. 90% were miserable and should not be in a customer service job. It was so bad we named the pool bartender miserable 1 and the piano bartender miserable 2. We looked for a hotel manager but could not find one. When we asked one of the staff if she was a manager she replied "I wish." I have been to Sandals and the Iberostar Grand so if you want a great experience and to be treated with kindness do yourself a favor and go to one of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunset view!

Posted May 9, 2017
Awesome first floor room with easy access to the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you for your recent vacation. I am glad you loved the room you were assigned and trust that you also enjoyed other aspects of your overall experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Regards, Christina
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

It's ok, but not great

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: --Room service was good, hotel food was tasty. -Deep soak tub that's jetted -Lovely grounds -Friendly Staff -The spa was awesome
Cons: -There was tons of trash in the water on their beaches -Restaurant wait times -Water getting into room/cleanliness
Location: -Beaches
The room: This hotel was ok, but I don't know if it was necessarily worth the price I paid. The room I had was a garden view. I requested a king bed, but all they had were 2 queens. My room was on the bottom floor close to the main wild orchid pool, so it was really noisy between 9AM-8PM and blasted music between 9AM-7PM. I woke up the first night to a cockroach on my floor (see picture) which I caught. The second day I came in from dinner and found a small frog in my room which I also captured (see photo). It rained horribly my last day there, and the ground rooms are not sloping up or above the rest of the ground, so rainwater poured into the room, the staff had to line all the rooms on the floor with towels and I had to use my room towels to make sure I didn't slip to my death. I called the staff and they said I had to wait for more towels as they didn't have any. This shows the poor construction of the hotel. Grounds/Amenities: The ground were very pretty, and the bathtub in the room was jetted and very nice. The wild orchid Jacuzzi tub also didn't work, which was annoying as it was one of the property amenities. The wait times for restaurants were long, especially on days it rained as they could not seat people outside. At one pointed I was in line for 30 minutes just so they could put me on a waiting list, so I left and ordered room service. The pools were nice and clean and they had lots of games/entertainment throughout the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester Hills, MI

It was very nice although......

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Outside of the lady checking me into the resort the staff was amazing!! Food and drinks were great. Beaches were nice.
Cons: Should have got what I paid for: Spa service amenities working correctly and should have been put in the resort I originally paid extra to stay at.
Location: Stayed on the resort.
The resort and staff where amazing. Although Expedia and/or the resort ripped me off. I booked with Expedia for Secrets Wild Orchid, then when I got to the Wild Orchid resort they said, you booked the deal of the day and we do not have any rooms for you at the Wild Orchid, we only have rooms for you at St. James. I had no option, but to take the St. James room. I paid extra money to stay at the Wild Orchid side because of the view, location to the restaurants, entertainment, etc, etc.... I felt cheated as the deal of the day was also offered at St. James for a lower price. I specifically booked the Wild Orchid and was not given what I asked for. I was calm, but very upset when I spoke with the lady at the front desk and was still pushed to the St. James resort, as there seemed to be no other option. I planed this trip 6 months out and had my heart set on the Wild Orchid. I was very disappointed. I also purchased a $200 plus Spa massage, then when I got there the steam room was not working and the hot tub didn't have hot water. They said it was broke. I hate to complain, but I didn't get what I paid for. I really wish someone made it right for me while I was there, but I was just treated like this happens all the time and I'm just some guest staying at a cheap resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: All of the restaurants had great food
Location: We just stay on the resort to soak up the sun and relax.
We had a great room overlooking the pool and ocean view. Beautiful.