Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel was quaint in the mountains. Not as near Taormina as expected. The room was cute almost storybook style but the beds were not comfortable. Staff was very hospitable and room was clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Worst experience ever!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Location: Nice little town in the middle of nowhere.
Although we had initially booked the accommodation for our entire stay in Sicily (10 nights) the poor conditions of the accommodation forced us to leave immediately the premises, having to look in a rush for a new accommodation at the peak of the hot season of the island. The service and accommodation was unsatisfactory in the following ways: 1) Five minutes into having checked in into the B&B the receptionist left the premises holding our passports overnight and without giving us any emergency contact number. 2) The walls of the accommodation were thin and permeated all the noises around: we could hear the snoring from the neighbouring rooms and in the morning the steps of people going down the stairs at 7.00 am woke us up. 3) The beds were super uncomfortable, with very hard and worn out springs. The sheets looked dirty and washed out 4) The shower cubicle was tiny, the curtain full of mold, the drainage wasn’t working so you ended up with your feet soaking in the water accumulated during your shower. The hot water supply run out after the first person in the bedroom had showered. 5) Our young daughters were placed in a room that was literally on the street and without any security other than a surveillance camera that probably wasn’t being monitored by anyone as there was no staff in place at the time. The hotel refused to reimburse us for the nights we did not use and we were left paying double for our holiday accommodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Valentino, Hotel Management
Quello che voi leggete perchè il clienti non volevano pagare.
5 out of 5
by Annette from Uster

Great hotel close to Mount Etna

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay with very personal service. Home cooked meal that was delicious. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to stay away from big hotels. A little hard to find, had to ask local people for directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Best deal ever

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The staff is very good. Mr. Rosario is very proactive, kind and clever has a good English level, what makes our stay a bit easier.
Cons: Bathroom size, should be bigger, it's very narrow considering I am 1.83m height and 110Kg weight.
Location: It's a medieval village, so it means lots of mountains, bends and up and downs everywhere. Easily we've reached Taormina, Giardini Naxos, Mount Etna.
First of all I would like to thank Mr. Rosario (Manager), it's due to him our stay was simply superb, he had prepared every night our traditional Sicilian dinner and apart from that all other arrangements well care in advance for us in very good way. The hotel is quite clean and we realized that in general our stay was even better than our expectations. All staff personnel are very friendly, air conditioning works fine as well as the internet connection. I don't have a single complainant for this hotel. Only one single advise for travelers is to hire a care in advance in order to make your stay perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Non touristy, rustic, value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Friendly and no frills, good value.
Cons: Shower was very small, could be awkward if you are quite large. Also we struggled to find it when we first arrived.
We enjoyed our stay here. It was in a off beat location, very interesting if you want to see the non touristy side of Sicily. You will need a car if you want to visit the many excellent sites in the area. Etna is close as is Taormina and we even drove down to Siracusa for the day from here. Catania airport is about is just over an hour's drive away. The owner, Valentino and the staff were very helpful and friendly. October 2014
4 out of 5
by anton from Maidstone

Would recommend

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely room with great balcony with views across the valley/town. Excellent breakfast with full buffet of tasty choices. Only slight let down was cold showers in the morning....only stayed one night and water got hotter later, so don't know if this was a one off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Pleasant ten day stay

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Rooms with balconies & the location of the B&B
Cons: Better internet connection
Location: Lovely walks from the B&B, Drive to Mt.Etna ,Taormina & Naxos Beautiful drives into the countryside.
Our family of four stayed for ten days in two rooms in the main part of this rustic B&B. Our rooms were clean , comfortable and had balconies with great views. The other rooms are spread out and may involve several flights of stairs so may not be suitable for the elderly or infirm. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of pastries, cheese and cold meat. The fresh orange juice and coffee were great The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We specifically booked a B&B with internet access as it was important for our son & daughter to catch up on revision. Unfortunately, the internet connection was very hit and miss. Another issue was the thin walls. - even normal pitched sound travels far. I suppose there is only so much that can be done given the age of the B&B. The noise was not too much of an issue with us but might bother other light sleepers. The atmosphere around the B&B is peaceful and calm and we enjoyed the hooting of owls at night. Despite the two negatives, we would highly recommend a visit to the B&B to enjoy typical Sicilian life. The village itself is beautiful and has lovely walks and views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Nice b&b, stunning views

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great views of the hills and Taormina in the distance. Wry friendly staff, stayed up late for our arrival.
2 out of 5
by Fred from Costa Rica

Difficult to find.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Location: Located close to Mount Etna. The city is unique and interesting to walk around.
This was extremely difficult to find. We had to obtain directions from several local people. The hotel room was cold, damp. The beds were uncomfortable. The shower leaked. Breakfast disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by nunzio, Hotel Management
These customers have made the noshow the is all false.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet hotel in the mountains

Posted May 11, 2014
Lovely hotel with simple, clean rooms. Not the best noise-proofing between rooms, but the hospitality of staff more than made up for it.