Ratings based on 2,478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knoxville, TN

Great tanning lawn

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Room could use updating. No bed bugs, I always check! Nice to have a kitchenette in our room with two kids. The walk in pool was nice and the hotel was close to everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean view

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Cons: The lobby area in between the buildings was outdated and the bar near the pool was just so so. Great experience otherwise.
We loved our stay at Dayton House. We got a room with a view for a few bucks more. The staff at the front desk was professional and efficient. If I had known we would have a full size refrigerator and 2 stove burners, we would have booked the room for longer. The sun lawn was perfect for winding down at night and after our sandy beach day. We will definitely look up Dayton House on our next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago Ill

This hotel smells like pee.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The oceanfront balcony
Cons: Rip out the carpeting and put cement flooring and or move the a/c units to different part of the rooms.
Location: This hotel is oceanfront but there really isn't much to do unless you rent a car or get an uber. The boardwalk is really not as major as they say.
This hotel has a major problem. It smells like pee. The hallways are carpeted and with everyone walking in from the beach there is a lot of moisture which makes it smell like pee. To top it off the air conditioning units for each room face the hallway which allows the smell to come into the room unless you keep the air set to 68 degrees and freeze. Also not only did housekeeping not clean our room when we were there , it didn't seem they did anything but give us clean sheets upon our arrival. The day we were leaving one of the other guests told us that they were going to spray because they found two rats in their kitchen. I will never stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice rooms right on the beach

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Very positive. Off season rates are great. They seemed to think of everything. Nice to have a full kitchen, have 2 pools, and be right on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect View and Amenities

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Great location. Great views. Easy access to the beach.
Cons: The beds! Super uncomfortable!
Location: Everything was a quick walk or short drive. A ton to do!
The view, the staff and the amenities were excellent! The beds were very, very uncomfortable! The room was well laid out and comfortable otherwise. We will be back for sure!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Enjoyed !!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location
We stayed in an ocean front room and it was great. We would stay again !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Preisgünstiges Strandhotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Preisgünstig in der Nachsaison.
Günstig gelegen am Strand, inmitten der Hotelburgen von Myrtle Beach. Hübscher Pool, direkter Zugang zum riesigen Sandstrand. Alle Zimmer mit Kitchenette, Frühstück am besten selbst machen. Zimmer mit Blick zum Meer natürlich besonders hübsch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

beautiful view of beach area. rooms very comfy

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: layout of room
Cons: parking
Had to park 2 blocks away, we are 75 and 80 so if I had known that I would not have booked there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hendersonville, NC

Not what we expected when we heard "resort"

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The elevator was close to our room and relatively quick to arrive when called. The hot tubs were spacious and the pools were clean.
Cons: Reception staff training in handling situations such as online room rates that differ from what they have previously encountered.
Location: Close to several eateries, although the AYCE seafood places are farther out; relatively close to Family Kingdom amusement park.
The only ocean view from our room meant leaning far out over the balcony rail to look between two hotel buildings. There were multiple problems with the lighting in the room - from the bedside lamps which would not turn on to the table lamp that was broken to the point that the bulb was laying along the side of the lamp base! There was a large crack in the ceiling above the shower and the shower curtain was torn. Bedding and bath linens were frayed and rough. The mattresses were stiff and not very comfortable. After the drama we had endured at check-in, which took more than 40 minutes to conclude, we decided not to initiate any further interaction with the hotel staff (desk clerk AND manager) with complaints, so we made do with what we considered sub-par accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved hotel last year. Different staff.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Extremely slow service at front desk compared to last year. Asked them multiple times to call on cell phone when room was ready. Promised a call never happened. Then given a room after 4 pm that had a sliding door that did not lock. They suggested having maintaince to come fix after I waited all day for a call for my room. Next, I asked the desk to get a menu to order several friends pizza and wings Got menu and ordered asked front desk to call me when order arrived and they acknowledged. Later I approached the front desk and inquired about order and they told me that they sent the order back.Now why would they say would call me on the pool terrace and send food back???? Front desk needs customer service and speed training.