Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

A Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The staff and the comfortable rooms.
Cons: The wifi. It is rather slow and room reception was not great.
Location: Centrally located in Nairobi, with many shops nearby. Learned later about the Masai Market, which is open on weekends only and only a few blocks away.
Our tour of Kenya started here, and it was a welcome respite for weary travelers. The room furnishings are a little worn, but the wonderful staff, great service, and delicious food at the three restaurants more than made up for that. Altogether, we stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home....

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Service, quality of food, and genuine care for customers...
Cons: The Stanley is simply aging. It is an old hotel, but beautiful and charming in so many ways.
Location: Excellent location in Nairobi Town. Central and easy to access any part of town (as easy as traffic in Nairobi will allow you).
Every time I travel to Kenya I fortunate stay at The Stanley. Rating The Stanley as a hotel is not possible, because The Stanley is more than a hotel. It is a home away from home....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Best experience

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The staff was friendly. The breakfast was worth every penny. The restaurants in the hotel provided the best service. The only problem is that the prices in the menus exclude tax and food service charge. The fitness club was free of charge. Shout out to Eunice for her excellent service at the sauna. However, i enjoyed my stay and I'll definitely go back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel staff

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Stop delaying orders to get extramoney
Staff searching 24hr for comission $$ Good restaurant Bad room service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel in a great central location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
I stayed at the Sarova Stanley as part of a group on a work trip. I would like to commend all staff on the concierge desk for being extremely helpful with our day to day travel arrangements. I thoroughly recommend the Thorntree Cafe as it catered well for vegetarians. The only minor criticism I have is that the check in and check out process was slower compared to other hotels of this standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Room and beds were too small, The Mattress and bedding were very old. When we paid for the hotel online, the offer included breakfast, but when we checked in at the hotel they said the offer online was incorrect and that the price we paid did not include breakfast. We had to pay $25 dollars a person for breakfast the following day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Top hotel in city center

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Practically everything - cant think of a particular negative.
Cons: Nothing I could point out particularly
Location: We didn't venture from the hotel once we returned from business conducted in the city.
The hotel was an oasis in a very busy part of town, The entire hotel experience was a joy. The trip getting there however was something else. If you have never been to Nairobi and hire a car make sure you know what you are in for. Traffic is unbelievable. So if your not a confident driver take a shuttle to the hotel. Upon arrival we hired a car and fortunately for us ran in the the shuttle service driver from the hotel who very kindly helped us find our way to the car hire team. The Sarova Stanley is a great hotel with a great team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Great Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: rate for meals should come down.
Location: centrally situated.
Very good service. Food was a bit too expensive, but great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NYC

An Old World Hotel, for Better or Worse

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The bar one floor up from the lobby is beautiful, well-staffed, and it served as quite place to hold meetings during the day in lovely environment.
Cons: The room fixtures are too low to the ground, and the mattress is only slightly softer than granite.
Location: It's in the city center, and it's a short cab right to many places. All the cab/uber drivers know where the Stanley is.
The Stanley is an old hotel, and it wears that fact like a badge of honor. In some ways, it's wonderful. There is rich, dark wood adorning the entire property; they have an old fashion, brass, rotary dial phone in the lobby; the bar one floor up from the lobby is opulent, for example. The down side is that it's not up-to-date regarding amenities. For example, everything in the hotel low, which was likely fine when people were smaller. I'm tall--6'3"/190cm--but that's not super tall, and the top of the bed's mattress didn't reach the bottom of my knee. The bathroom sink only came up to my mid-thigh. The hallways feel tight with low archways. Perhaps more importantly, while each room has an air conditioner, temperature is controlled centrally, not in each room. The unit in my room didn't work well. I spent a few very hot nights. It was cooler outside than inside, but the windows are locked. Putting aside all the foregoing, the fact that saves the Stanley and makes it deserving of 4 stars is the staff. They are very accommodating. I spoke to them about my warm room, and after two nights, they moved me to a larger room with a great A/C. The staff seems to have genuine concern for the comfort of the guests. So while the hotel's old world charm can cut both ways, I still recommend the Stanley for the reasons above, as well as their lovely heated pool, their excellent health and fitness facilities, but most of all because of the excellent staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The hotel is clean staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is s bit old with no modernizations but comfortable with all the amenities you need.