Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in the business district!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: I think some of the staff at food and beverage need training.
It took an awful long time to get to the hotel as the High Court was in session and a nearby road was closed so there was a terrible traffic jam. The check-in took a long time and I mentioned to the receptionist when it had taken 20 minutes but she actually refused that it had taken that long even when I told her at what time I had arrived. The location of the hotel is great - right in the business and shopping district. The room was very nice but a few more electric sockets would have been nice! The WIFI was very good! The breakfast buffet was great but when breakfast is served till.... it usually does not mean that the buffet is closed right at that time so you had to be sure that you had enough at that time. One morning the waitress forgot my tea - I guess she was busy One night I ordered room service: A cocktail to be brought immediately and dinner at least 30 minutes later. When the delivery had taken long I personally went to the restaurant. They said that the food was on the way but later admitted that they had forgotten the whole order. The room service menu of food dishes is very limited and it is not possible - as in most other hotels - to order room service from a restaurant menu. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I stayed for two nights and I had to pay a deposit of USD 100 if I did not want to pay everything by cash. If you do not buy any extras it takes two weeks to get the refund. I was granted a late check-out, thank you for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Just very enjoyable from the word Hello and welcome back at reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Location!

Posted Oct 25, 2017
This hotel is exceptional in all aspects. Great location, incredible service, and super friendly staff. It was the ideal hotel to start our wonderful African safari vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Very good centrally located hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Good restaurants and courteous staff. My favourite everytime I visit Nairobi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Traditional Hotel built in 1902

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: It is traditional and I love its history
Location: Hotel is in the city centre. We had a lot planned through the day whilst we were there so did not really venture out at night as we were exhausted.
Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff who cannot do enough for you. Steve the Concierge was amazingly helpful and his knowledge about the hotel's history and Nairobi in general is second to none
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new delhi

Good hotel . Good food and location is excellent

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Clean room . All the facilities like swimming pool , gym are available. You can get all type of food Indian, continental , thai etc . Though I am vegeterian . I have not faced any problem for food. The break fast spread is excellent. Only issue was service in the room as not fast. But I do not have much complain on this . Overall good hotel . Highlly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Juba

NIL

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: NIL
Cons: Many things
Location: NIL
I have nothing to say. 15 years ago it was much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and ambience. A lovely old colonial hotel
Cons: Maybe some new curtains
Location: Central location
The staff were excellent. The concierge Steve was really good took us on a historic tour of the hotel. Looked after us and advised us where and what to do.
4 out of 5
by theresa

Grand place/Great shower/a little wear

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
First, the shower here was amazing! Plenty of hot water, clean towels and bath amenities, but most important for this gal with waist long hair was the super pressure and water warm enough for a full rinse. The bed was comfortable and I didn't know until the third night that they could've changed the twins to a king. They give you two waters every day. Hope you'll take the chance to go to Thai Chi (rivals my trip to Thailand) and to the Exchange Bar, where the bartender is a real pro. Ever had anyone slap your mint leaves for a mojito? History of the bar and hotel did not disappoint. The only bad thing is they missed two wake up calls. Third day they came through with a loud knock on the door.