Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Great location, great service

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Beautiful upscale hotel in a great location. Staff was excellent and got us everything we needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Best in Manhattan

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not a thing I can think of.
Location: See above.
The Benjamin is situated perfectly just a few blocks from St. Patrick's cathedral and Saks on 5th, on the non-Times Square side of things. There is a Starbucks just across the street and the National serves a killer dinner and the bar is open late if you are hungry. Minutes on foot to MOMA, skating at Rockefeller or Central Park. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable and always willing to help with anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Great location. However it is the little things that make a hotel from good to great. This hotel is good. Good sized rooms but awkward doors between the bedroom and the living room (hard to explain but the doors face each other so they bang into each other constantly). Comfy beds but our room was on the fourth floor. We could hear ther traffic all night! We were early for check in, so we had our bags stored and spent the day enjoying the city. Returned at night, our room was ready, but no luggage in our room, sofa bed was not ready, no cot (as requested) was in the room. Although they quickly fixed this, it should have been ready in the first place. As well, when we arrived we told the front desk that we were having lunch in the hotel restaurant. When we received our hotel key later that night, we received a voucher for the restaurant (why didn't the check in reception give this to us earlier?) Overall it's a good hotel and the staff do try their best. I think they shouldn't charge five star prices for a four star (at best), hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm and welcoming staff

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The thing that keeps me coming back to Benjamin is not the great location, or the hotel itself, but the staff. They are attentive, warm and receptive to guest requests. The Benjamin is a wonderful place to stay in the midtown area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Excellent service, upgraded to a one bedroom suite, clean room, fully equipped gym, great location
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location
Excellent service, warm friendly staff, upgraded to a one bedroom suite, clean room, fully equipped gym, great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, midtown.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Conveniently located close to subway. Rooms are comfy. We had room on 25th floor with views of the skyline. Staff are courteous and helpful. Good location for exploring NYC, with diners and coffee shops nearby. Restaurant is expensive, but then NYC is expensive. Our companions had booked a mini suite, which they did not feel offered them value for money or the facilities they had expected but we were very happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Overall the hotel was good and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was huge and clean. Two things that could have been better was the bed which wasn't very good, the mattress was worn out and soft, and the shower, it was narrow, I had to stand sideways in it to avoid having the curtain touch the side of my arm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Upgraded to a suite, fantastic concierge

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Super comfortable bed, loved the pillow buffet, nighttime snack menu, location
Cons: Room was a bit noisy (traffic from the street below) but we were on a lower floor so probably that was the reason.
Location: Metro, coffee shops, drug stores, shopping, walking distance to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good weekend

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The bed and pillows...great, comfortable. The staff was very accommodating
Cons: It took a while for the water to heat up in the bathroom.
Location: Good restaurants in the area.
The suite was comfortable and roomy unlike many Manhattan hotels. Fortunately the room did not face Lexington Ave. The corner of the hotel is way busy & noisy. Bigger bathroom would have been nice. Overall the value received was definitely worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent hotel great location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Good size room, very new and clean. Polite and helpful staff. A winner.