Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Check in was quick and easy room was spotless. Heat worked great and bed was very comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants have no complaints would defiantly stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Go to Hampton Inn instead!

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The bathroom floor and shower wall were covered in someone's long black hair. The tub dripped constantly. The floor had not been vacuumed and someone's fingernail clippings were on the floor by the desk. The sliding door was unlocked and the back door to enter the hotel didn't lock after hours. The whole place except the lobby is in disrepair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Good breakfast.Room had odor & wasn't the cleanest

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Did the job. I slept well enough & ate a good breakfast. Front desk lady was friendly, but couldn't check anybody in at first- took about 30 minutes for her to get the computer working. The price was reasonable, so I tempered my expectations. Outwardly, the hotel appeared clean & decently maintained however, once we entered the room there was an unpleasant odor and a closer look showed the room could have been a bit cleaner. For the price I was satisfied however.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newburgh, New York

Nightmare from nasty hotel.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Nothing works, I mean nothing. Dirty all over. Called every hotel in the area but sold out. Never again. The all lie about fixing the problem, never happened.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit noisy with hard bed.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Cons: bath room ceiling tiles need repair/replacing.
The nearby New York State Thruway is a factor. Heavy tractor trailer traffic all night long. Get a room away from the highway if you can. The mattresses are fairly hard and thin but serviceable.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Clean.....strong odor.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Good price and was clean. Bed was comfortable. Only complaint is that the entry to the stairs and hallway smelled quite strong of mustiness trying to be covered up with chemicals. Not a good mix. Plenty of food choices in area. Neptune Diner is minutes away and was delicious!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Very satisfactory for the price!

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to find. near restaurants and stores, fair price for the room.
Cons: The bathroom, especially the bathtub and curtain, could be updated but they were clean.
Location: There were restaurants including a diner and TGI Fridays. and shopping including Home Depot and Target.
I was late in looking for a hotel near my son's college for family weekend, so my search was narrowed down to about 8 hotels a half an hour away. I read the reviews and this seemed to receive the best comments. We found the hotel to be clean and fine for our purposes, which was basically somewhere to watch tv after dinner and go to sleep. The bathroom was somewhat outdated but clean. The front office staff was great- the first night we were greeted warmly by the young woman, and my checkout was handled efficiently by the gentleman at the desk the next morning. There were a number of restaurants and stores nearby for somewhere to walk around after dinner. We even decided that we would probably stay at this hotel the next time because we were able to save so much more money than if we had stayed at an overpriced motel closer to the college!
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Reasonable
Cons: Needs serious updating,carpet needs to be shampooed, bathrooms need remodeling
Location: good
Toilet seat was broken bottom of outside of bath tub dirty
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Nice location for night stay with good comfort and recommendable to friends
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

The fact that Expedia recommended this hotel ...

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: .....nothing.....
Location: Located in Newburgh, NY
has me seriously re-thinking if I will ever use Expedia again!! Hotel was dingy, worn down, strange smell as soon as you walked in. The room was so dim and when we went to turn the lights on, nothing worked. We were able to find a maintenance man and he came in, then had to leave to find an extension cord to plug in the light!!! Only one outlet in the room!!!! Beds should have been replaced years ago, they were so uncomfortable and the mattresses sagged so you were sleeping in a hole! Tub was from the 70's and the years have not been kind to it!! Even the new shower curtain could not disguise what was going on in there!! Honestly, we should have driven home, but decided to stay the night since it was late and there we no other hotel rooms available in the area do to Parent's weekend at the local colleges and a big rival football game. The "Continental Breakfast" was a joke, and by this time, we just laughed and got the hell out of there!!! Like I said, if this is what to expect from Expedia, I will never use them again, and I most certainly will never stay at the Howard Johnson Hotel again....