Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Tarik hall from Newburgh

front Desk rude and disrespectful

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
loved the room and breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Key System was broken - NO key given at check-in

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Clerk at front desk was very nice, under the circumstances that their were NO room keys given out.
Cons: Key system needs to work.
Location: West Point is nearby.
You were NOT given any room key at check in, just a room number and a wi-fi code - their entire key system was broken. If you ever left your room [ I traveled solo ], you had to have the clerk let you back in your room. THIS IS WAY BELOW ACCEPTABLE and made leaving the room a HASSLE. I used Expedia's no refund, lowest price option and felt trapped at check-in, when I found out, for the first time in my 65 years that the entire hotel's lock system was broken. Live and learn. I will NEVER use the no refund option again - How would you like it if YOU checked into a hotel and were NOT even give a room key, since they wouldn't even work. I'd rate this a ZERO! As other's review this hotel, it would be nice if Expedia would warn those who booked a room in advance that there is a major problem at a Hotel - naturally that did not happen - the problem, I found out too late, existed 5 days prior to my arrival. A refund would be in order.............. this was an upsetting Hotel experience. Howard Johnson's, newburgh, ny - 2/5/17.
2 out of 5
by Melvin

Rough night

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a little dated, were out of room keys, bed was hard as a rock, and when checking out was advised I stayed in the wrong room. Check other options in the area. The lady at check in was super sweet though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Nice room for work downtown. Reasonable price for the area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great staff but an aging hotel.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Great staff. Tv screwed down. No swivel. Aging hotel. Priced right online. Overpriced if obtained in lobby. Breakfast ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Nice hotel. Easy to find. Close to good restaurants. Clean.
4 out of 5
by Linda

Travel overnite stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Overnite stay while traveling. Hotel needs some updating, but clean. Continental breakfast was good, with make-your-own waffles!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Didn't know if I was gonna like it cuz the outside looked a little beat up! But once I went inside the hallways and rooms are very clean and smell great..
3 out of 5
by Q from Putnam Valley NY

Quick overnighter

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
very comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

everything was old

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Close to where my relatives lived.
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one.
I informed mgmnt of a backup of the 2 sinks in room 127. Apparrently they could not be fixed until roro rooter was needed.