Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, FL

Overnight in Newburgh

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
Nice and clean room. Window in room could not be latched for security. Hotel allows dogs as I was opening door to room guest was coming out of room next door with two small yapping dogs. Had I known this beforehand I would not have stayed there. The price is good compared to other hotels in the area. Hotel is convenient to interstate and restaurants. Casino and US Navy submarine base is nearby for attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
towel bad thin need new ones ask for wake up didn't get it first day room wasn't clean help went home at two that's what i was told. BAD BAD
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Close to the Hwy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Little bid of private, tucked away from main street
Cons: This hotel needs a MAJOR clean-up. Clean the Algae, Moss, and Mold!!!!!! Interior is CHEAP ... CHEAP ... CHEAP .... It needs better management
Location: Close to walmart
Hotel is in very POOR condition, cheap doors that have not been maintained. Poor security. Maybe the front of the building may look clean, but the rear and the REST of the hotel is dirty with Algae, Mold, and Moss. We had two rooms, none of them had a refrigerator. It just show this hotel is a dirt cheap and that's the image I will have about Howard Johnson Inn corporation - dirt cheap motel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An embarrassment to HJ

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: It was inexpensive. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Most everything.
This is an old, old facility, poorly maintained with no provisions for the disabled. The furniture is ancient, uncomforable, and falling apart. See photo which reveals the condition of the curtains, whose lining was so deteriorated that the sun shone through. It is hard to find this hotel because it is set back from the highway and the signage is poor. All parking is in the rear, and access to the first floor mainly requires climbing six ill-maintained steps. One of these flights has a shaky railing. I would classify this structure as a tear-down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

I never write reviews but I have to for this

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Absolutely disgusting. I checked in and the clerk was rude. He gave me my Room key and I walked into a disgusting room. Blankets everywhere, things on the floor. I'm not sure if the room was just dirty or if it was already occupied. so I go back to the front desk and tell him what I walked into. His only response was repeating the room number. I told him I needed a new room. He didn't apologize, he wasn't embarrassed or apologetic at all. I walked into the new room and it was an overwhelming smell of cigarettes and cologne. I had to check if there was someone in the room, because it smelled like it! I decided to try and get some sleep and check out in the morning to find a new hotel. But needed a few hours of sleep. I had an extra blanket in my car that I laid down on the bed and fell asleep on top of it. Not too long after, I woke up to bugs crawling on my face! This has never happened to me before. Absolutely disgusting. I took a shower, left the blanket and slept in my car. The only good thing I will say is that they let me cancel the rest of my reservation without an extra fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blooming grove new york

A very good place to revisit

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Their breakfast and space provided for breakfast was very good, clean and well monitored.
Cons: Cleaning the rug in the hallway going up to second floor from the main lobby to get rid of the musty smell
Location: Location was quiet and out of the main road. less traffic. My wife and I highly recommend the Flaming Grill restaurant located in the Newburgh Mall Pl
Clean and relaxing. Management seems to be serious about improving their business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

A restful night after a long drive

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Convenient and well-kept.
Cons: Tend the flowers by the back entrance!
Check in was smooth, and the lounge area comfortable. Linens and towels fairly good quality. Breakfast had the basic food groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nice staff that tried very hard to make things right for people.
Cons: All rooms should have microwaves and refrigerators. An elevator should be added. I am disabled and had to climb stairs. Painful.
Location: We went to The NY Ren Faire in Tuxedo Park. Loved it.
It was a nice place to stay. The staff (especially the man we checked in with) was great. The room was clean and quiet. It was easy to get to and had most everything you need close by. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast area had constant attention by the staff keeping it clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Hotel in need of an upgrade.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms need an upgrade in decor. Furniture shoddy. Lamps didn't work.
Location: The hotel is near the Dia in Beacon and also close to the Storm King Art Center. The town of Beacon has good restaurants, bookstores, etc.
The halls of the hotel were dingy, with worn carpets and the walls and doors in need of repainting. The doors to the guest rooms were supposed to opened with a key card but the locks were inoperable. The room was clean with clean sheets but again, in need of an upgrade. Lamps didn't work, furniture was worn and cheap looking. The bathtub was discolored to an awful yellow color with many rust stains. The provided breakfast was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Reasonable price. Close to many restaurants and shops. We were able to book a room at the last minute. Was able to extend our stay without any problem.