Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Key System was broken - NO key given at check-in

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Clerk at front desk was very nice, under the circumstances that their were NO room keys given out.
Cons: Key system needs to work.
Location: West Point is nearby.
You were NOT given any room key at check in, just a room number and a wi-fi code - their entire key system was broken. If you ever left your room [ I traveled solo ], you had to have the clerk let you back in your room. THIS IS WAY BELOW ACCEPTABLE and made leaving the room a HASSLE. I used Expedia's no refund, lowest price option and felt trapped at check-in, when I found out, for the first time in my 65 years that the entire hotel's lock system was broken. Live and learn. I will NEVER use the no refund option again - How would you like it if YOU checked into a hotel and were NOT even give a room key, since they wouldn't even work. I'd rate this a ZERO! As other's review this hotel, it would be nice if Expedia would warn those who booked a room in advance that there is a major problem at a Hotel - naturally that did not happen - the problem, I found out too late, existed 5 days prior to my arrival. A refund would be in order.............. this was an upsetting Hotel experience. Howard Johnson's, newburgh, ny - 2/5/17.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Nice room for work downtown. Reasonable price for the area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great staff but an aging hotel.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Great staff. Tv screwed down. No swivel. Aging hotel. Priced right online. Overpriced if obtained in lobby. Breakfast ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Nice hotel. Easy to find. Close to good restaurants. Clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Didn't know if I was gonna like it cuz the outside looked a little beat up! But once I went inside the hallways and rooms are very clean and smell great..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

everything was old

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Close to where my relatives lived.
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one.
I informed mgmnt of a backup of the 2 sinks in room 127. Apparrently they could not be fixed until roro rooter was needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Cons: The hallway carpets were very dirty and the air freshner too strong. The entry way from the parking lot was dirty. No provision for 2nd floor luggag
Location: The ads made the location seem more urban as far as safer walking distance to nearby locations.
I was disappointed in the maintenance of the building. It's age showed!!! The staff seemed helpful. The room was adequately clean though the age of the building and lack of maintence was evident. The availability for three consecutive nights was a positive for me as was the WIFI in the rooms. Breakfast was adequate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dirty hotel, poor towels conditions

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Nothing around Kong good signage, Korea lobby entrance no elevator
Very bad hotel not worth for the money you pay, the breakfast is veryour poor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dirty rooms and bathroom. Very uncomfortable bed.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good
One of the worse I've ever seen. Asked for a refund... Other guest upset... Dirty rooms, broken bed, noisy air conditioner unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate but not especially good.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
This is an older property that is adequate but not especially good. The room we had was reasonably comfortable. The hotel has two floors but no elevator, and one must navigate stairs to enter the first floor from the most convenient entrances. The breakfast had very few choices, and no healthy options. The hallways are very long and somewhat dingy. Overall, it is not the worst possible experience, but it is not one I would recommend for most people.