Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly staff adequate breakfast lovely and clean. Unfortunately the bar area was like a tap room full of young people playing darts snooker one arm bandit. This bar was open for public use and could be improved by partition and making a lounge area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Uncomfortable..

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The staff were lovely but the bed was very uncomfortable and the room was too hot. Perhaps a great place to stay in winter??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr X from West Midlands

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Crown hotel as they had very polite and tentative staff who made sure I was seen to quickly and satisfied with whatever I wanted. I ate in the Pub/Restaurant and the food was delicious. good value for the money. Overall the room was clean, staff were excellent and the food was delicious. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wockwabbit from York

A basic but not uncomfortable stay.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
On arrival we were given our key but not shown to our room. As it was a pub there were lots of doors and we wandered around a bit before we found our own way upstairs. The bed was large and comfortable. The ensuite was a bit on the small side with just a shower. There were only a few electrical plugs and the bed side lamps were connected by an extension cable, which meant you had to pull the bed out if you wanted to plug in a phone charger over night.. A nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate were provided along with free biscuits. There was bottled water on the first night but this wasn't replaced for the second, and there were no glasses for you to help your self from the tap. The full scottish breakfast was nice but there was only toast or cereal as an alternative. A bit of yoghurt or some fresh/tinned fruit would have been nice if you don't want a full fry up. We were warned in advance that there would be entertainment on the Saturday night until 1am and they had put us in a quiet room which we really appreciated. Overall, an ok stay but a little room for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by simonbinns54 from leeds

Ideal if catching Belfast ferry

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
Needed a hotel just off the A75 before catching the morning ferry. Could not have picked a better location than the Crown Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CP from Chester

Great friendly service

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
Great location perfect for fishing and walking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bernie from Welling

Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
The bar tended to shut very early and my room appeared to be a converted broom cupboard. The only heating was provided by an electric oil filled radiator and my only outlook on the world was a skylight. The staff were very friendly and overall I enjoyed my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

slightly dissapointing

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Generally a quite nice hotel, the rooms where basic although quite spacious and relatively clean, bathroom was rather cramped with a tiny shower cubical. Some rooms where oddly positioned as we had to walk through the main function room to get to ours, which was a tad awkward as there was a private party on, and you could also hear the music from this till two o'clock in the morning which was very annoying. Our evening meal was very nice though, but was slightly let down by the breakfast the next morning. I'm afraid I would not revisit this hotel as I find the rooms to expensive for what they are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Cheshire,UK

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels
On arrival the hotel did not have my booking but dealt with me promptly and found a suitable room. Staff were most apologetic about the booking issue and assured my this has now been fixed with Hotels.com. Service was excellent, food good and room comfortable so I would certainly stay there again.