Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O'Fallon, MO

Disappointed

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: I like the helpful staff most of all. Front desk, maintenance people, housekeeping, breakfast staff they were all are wonderful.
Cons: Television service. I am a television person and when you offer only one local channel doesn't work for me.
Location: Excellent location. Plenty of places to eat and things to do.
The reason I booked this hotel is because my stay at Carlson Inn in Tacoma Washington beginning April 1, 2017 was such a Fantastic experience I purposely booked with Carlson for this trip. I was so disappointed. Carlson Tacoma offered a variety of channels on television. Channels at Portage, Ind. was very limited. The towels were ruff like maybe soap wasn't rinsed completely out. facial tissue was only in the bath room. I selected the hotel in Portage because I was told Portage was an upscale area. I thought it would be the same quality as in Tacoma, that area was just nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great place to bring the kids to play in the pool.

Posted May 26, 2017
It was fun. The breakfast was good. The children had a blast in the pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel once you are on budget

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Bed size, mattress, pillow and blanket quality were excellent.
We liked the room space (except wardrobe), Free parking, free wi-fi, descent breakfast, Pretty fast check-in and check-out. The minor issue was a TV - it was not functioning. In the morning we notified the lady on reception about it, but she did not even bother to make a note. Obviously, when we came back to hotel in the evening the TV was not fixed. Another lady from reception said that the Maintenance guy has already gone and offered us another room, but since it was our last night in the hotel we declined this offer.
5 out of 5
by Eliza

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and hot. We would definitely stay here again if travleing through Portage.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Wonderful Staff, Room; Pool and Hot Tub Shut Down

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were setting up a weekend getaway and we chose this hotel because of the reviews and for the pool area. Upon checking in, we were disappointed to learn the hot tub was not working. After settling in a bit, we headed to the pool and were disappointed again to learn the main pool was closed down for the night. The kiddie pool, and the room were great and the staff were all very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
We are so very sorry for the pool issue. We had a child vomit in the big pool which caused us to shut it down for the safety of our guests. The Jacuzzi heater had stopped working but has been repaired now. I do hope you will stay with us again to recreate your visit. I am pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and welcoming. I will pass on the compliments to them. We hope to welcome you again if your travels bring you back to our area. Yolanda
1 out of 5
by Kara

If this is the #1 hotel in portage, keep driving.

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was over ran by unruly guests and the hotel had no control over what was happening at the property. Apparently this has become the cheap local hangout for Saturday nights. It was full of unattended children and teens running in the halls all night long. The room above us was full of kids either stomping or wrestling. I have video recording the sounds coming from our ceiling light. It sounded like the light was about to come down. The first time I complained, the clerk said she was call up to the room. The second time I complained and showed her the video, she said the guests were refusing to answer to the phone (not their first time at this rodeo). I requested she go to the room and let them know the noise was a problem. After she went up, they got even louder on purpose. They knew there were new consequences for their actions. At this point we complained again and asked for a new room on the top floor. While it was better with no noise from above, there were people running in the halls all night long. In the morning I was told they could not discount my rate because booked it thru hotels.com. I asked the clerk if it was just a bad night, and she said it was like that every single Saturday. Clearly management is aware. I asked her if she felt safe there. She made eye contact, but said nothing. I worked in the hospitality industry for years and this situation is completely unacceptable. First time staying at country inn and suites.and the last.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the unruly neighbors and also for not handling the situation properly. We are evaluating how we can improve these issues to ensure we can avoid these problems to our guests in the future. Spring Break brought on many more challenges than what we were prepared for and will not treat this occasion much different going forward. Thank you again for sharing your concerns and feedback with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

daughter won't stop talking about the frog slide

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: comfortable rooms, pleasant staff
Cons: My husband had a mix-up with the waffle iron. He and the staff had to clean up batter. He noted a lack of hand soap by kitchen sink. FIX the pool.
Location: West beach is close. Longhorn steak house has great steak and kids meals.
We stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was in Feb 2017. It was amazing. The hotel host accidentally gave us a room that someone was already staying in (she explained it was a glitch in computer system that happens sometimes) and made up for it by upgrading our room. It was nice to have the extra space. The second time we stayed the large pool was shut town temporarily for maintenance. The thing is, when hotels that have pools, close them, they should notify the customers. I think the problem is that I book via Expedia and expedia doesn't share renovation information the way they should. We stayed here less than two weeks later and the pool had been closed. I was too exhausted to do anything about it, but it was incredibly difficult to watch our 1 year old (who we would have had in the big pool with us in a flotation device), while our almost 4 year old played in the baby pool with the frog slide. I'm getting sick of booking via expedia to find out the hotel has renovations happening. There must be a way to notify customers when pools or other amenities are temporarily shut down. I don't want to negatively review the hotel, because again, I'm not sure how much they are to blame. However, we were there three days the second time around and the pool was closed the entire time and it didn't look like anyone was fixing it.
5 out of 5
by Melinda

Lovely, clean and well appointed

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and well appointed and was generous in size. The breakfast was also good with several options. The staff we dealt with were polite and helpful. Overall this was a great stay. The only issue was that the beds could have been a little more comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family friendly hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great pool for kids, wide selection for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Linda

Happy visitor

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Close to my family, safe and comfortable