Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Different and refreshing

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: It felt like relaxing on my aunt's farm. It is a serene place. Yummm, fresh macdemia and excellent breakfast.
Cons: The facilities may be a bit outdated for many guests. The grounds could use a bit of attention. An identifiable check-in entry for guests is needed.
Location: Reasonable food is nearby but closes early. Easy access to Green Sands Beach. A nice half-way stopping point between Kona and Volcano.
It was casual, friendly, easy, rustic. My daughter loved roaming around and exploring the large back yard full of macadamia nut trees, chickens, and other creatures (and so did I). We also loved that she had her own bed and sleeping area. Cracking our own nuts and experiencing fresh macadamias was a real treat. It can see this place developing into a great yoga retreat. The location is perfect if you want to visit green sands beach and take a break between Kona and Volcano. Breakfast overlooking the yard was the one touch of fancy; it was really nice, though a bit large for me - Beautifully arranged big plate of fruit and yogurt to start (and a meal enough for me), followed by a plate of eggs, toast, ham, juice, coffee and I can't even remember what else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Relaxing and full of surprises!

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Lastminute
John the care taker exceeded our expectations with his hospitality. The place itself is beautiful enormous and worth a wander. We enjoyed johns home made sushi, fresh oranges/mangoes off the tree and macadamian nuts off the bush!
5 out of 5
by Janet

Serene Stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely, quiet place close to South Point, Green Sand Beach, and Black Sand Beach. The hosts are amazing!
5 out of 5
by Agnes

Beautiful natural BnB

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely property, very friendly and low key, gets you in the vacation mood. Amazing and accommodating chef for our breakfast (made home made gluten free bread to accommodate dietary restriction!) and treated us to a lovely fruit salad at the end of a long travel day. Bring ear plugs for the crowing roosters at night and many song birds before dawn to get a better nights rest. A lovely and unique property to get you into the Hawaiian island spirit! Wish we had stayed longer!
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Great Property in Under-served Area

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
There was some confusion about our booking as the new ownership was not under the impression that they are accepting reservations through Hotels.com. This led to our room having been given away. Fortunately, there was another available room, and one of the young folks staying at the property (they run a program for college-ish-age people who want to help explore the island in which room and board is exchanged for help with the program) did a great job of getting the room set-up quickly. This could have been a much bigger issue potentially, so hopefully they'll get booking figured out. The room itself was on the floor level of the main building, and is essentially part of a large walk-out basement divided into four rooms. The room was clean and spacious, the linens were nice and there was an en-suite bathroom. They're currently updating the rooms with new flooring, etc. which is badly needed. The main building, which has a wrap-around porch where breakfast is served, is beautiful but could use some updating if it is to serve as a gathering place for guests. The included breakfast was prepared by the same young lady who cleaned our room, and for the two mornings we were there it was exceptional and a really great way to start the long days exploring the island. The property is located in the south-west part of the island where there isn't much competition, though it's actually a nice spot to launch from. The property is beautiful and the macadamia nuts are plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Most everything.
We enjoyed everything about our stay. our hosts Jennifer & Caril made us feel welcome & happy to have us there . This is a wonderful quiet serene setting in true Hawaiian aloha. Very comfortable room, very unique & great to be away from the typical hotel setting. The gourmet breakfast was fabulous. We definitely will return & recommend to others
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Orbitz
When we got to our room it smelled horribly of body odor. The smell was so bad I felt like I had to puke. As the night progressed I was feeling more and more sick, we had to go to get medicine. By the time we got back, it was dark. There is no lighting on the sides of the hotel so it made going back really hard and almost dangerous. The bathroom was also shared with the room next door, I was not expecting to have a shared bathroom. The next day I felt better and decided to give the breakfast a try. They were serving eggs, bacon, and bakery items with juice. In the serving that I got, I had about half an egg's shell served with it also. Initially, I had a small crunch but I ignored it until it just got worse and worse. The amount I picked out was equivalent to half and egg. That wasn't even the worse part. The muffin that I was eating was actually molding. The folks were nice but the service and lack of care was disgusting. This is by far, the worst experience I have had staying somewhere. The one positive thing is that the bed was comfortable and it is a place to stay. If there is another option, it would probably be better.
4 out of 5
by Sharon from Alberta

Great location

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
Great location while touring the south side of the Big Island. Leave lots of hiking time to see the green sand beach as it is a 3 mile hike one way on rough terrain. Nice B&B with friendly hosts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
nice out of the way place. Very peaceful and friendly. Definitely would stay there again if we come back that way
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2011 on Hotels