Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by stella from Illinois

Small room big price

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
we were really suprised by how small our room was. Room was maybe 12x8 no fridge microwave tub or even a night stand on one side of the bed. There was a a control for the heat and air it was never able to be adjusted to a comfortable setting and no window to open. The staff was friendly. The nachos from the bar were horrible and burnt. We win be staying there again not worth the price could have and should have went somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful low-flowing river view

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Charming employee, Diana, the shower and the adorable, rustic decor. It was close to my family event and charming to walk the area.
Cons: Two suggestions listed above related to heater, friendly staff and service dogs.
Location: Walk in the footsteps of President Lincoln, his friends and historical events.
What a charming hamlet to stay in with this lovely, rustic hotel at the entrance of the town of Petersburg. To come upon this hotel after an 7-hour drive and checking in late was a relief. Diana was very kind, energetic and professional. She and a colleague assisted to offer local dinner options in a kind and professional manner. The room was comfortable, yet tiny with a view (in the morning) of a railroad track and the low-flowing Sangamon River. One train passed and it was a whisper with the solid windows. The shower was fantastic! Only two suggestions with the first being the heater, it was not controlled within the room and thus was cycling frequently all night. Being a little room it went from comfortable-to-super hot and dry a least three times per hour. It would be nice to turn it off during the night for better comfort. Lastly, I had a trained service dog traveling with me that behaved perfectly. I was questioned by an employee who was not very friendly at the time of check out. I was surprised as that information is considered private and I had the documentation for him being a service dog, which she did not ask for or need really as I was checking out. The hotel staff should be trained not to ask and if they need documentation upon checking in, then it should be provided by the guest. I was in the area for a funeral, so already it was a sad circumstance and this made it embarrassing as well. Thank you for allowing me to comment.
5 out of 5
by larry

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was amazing and very helpful. Always going out of their way
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Exceeded expectations

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff exceeded my expectations when I checked out in the morning and came back within 20 minutes because I was extremely ill and two hours from home. They had already stripped my room so they immediately put me into another room without charging me initially. I didn't leave until nearly 3:00 in the afternoon, and they only charged me half the rate. They were very helpful in an extremely uncomfortable situation and I hope to return, even though the economy room was exceptionally small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Online
The room they put us in the first night was horrible. No temperature control and you could hear the boiler room turning on and off. No windows. The next day we asked housekeeping if they had any other rooms and she said she would check at the front desk. We were in luck! Staff was so nice and helpful with us getting a new room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by JB, Hotel Management
We are so glad that we were able to find a room that met your needs. Most of our rooms are different and we do try to find one that will work for different guest tastes if at all possible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Changes at Lodge

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and neat, and works great for after a show at Theater in the Park at New Salem.
Cons: Friendliness of staff. Door on bathroom didn't allow us to open it to get in without hitting the toilet, maybe a sliding door would work better.
Location: New Salem, Theater in the Park at New Salem. Springfield Il is not tofar.
We had stayed at River Bank Lodge last year and the staff was so friendly. While not rude the staff this year wasn't as friendly and outgoing as last year. That was rather disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Rockford

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Nice motel for small town.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean, accommodating, and local.
Cons: A better area to hang clothes would be nice--along with some provided hangers--The post sticking out of the wall with a couple hooks doesn't work well
Location: The area has lots of history on Abraham Lincoln. New Salem State Park is close by and a must see if in the area.
I have stayed at this motel twice and was surprised at how nice it is for such a small town. It is nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast, although not as nice as some larger chain hotels, is a reasonable continental-style layout. If you like a larger room request a basement level room. The rooms on the lobby level are very small, but work nicely for a single guest. The lobby level rooms are also more vulnerable to noise from very close by trains traveling behind the building. If you are visiting in the area, and enjoy a quaint small town atmosphere, this is the place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by RBL staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us, Joyce! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to serve you again in the future!