Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sal from scranton pa

gun fire and crashes was the only thing missing! !

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived and our room changed from a king bed to 2 doubles. . The hotel description is of a hotel filled with Crack heads and prostitution. It was a very unpleasant stay. Hotels.com, please remove this hotel from your website..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jeanette from Pennsauken

Inexpensive and Close to the Beach

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
The Surfside is not a luxury motel. It only has the very bare essentials, but the beds are comfortable and clean, the rooms are very clean and a basic room--that is, not an efficiency room--includes a small refrigerator and microwave. Television had poor reception and terrible channels when I stayed, but that is not what you usually go to the shore to see. The two-bed room has the sink and mirror outside the main bathroom which has only a shower and no tub. The sink area is well lit and has an outlet for your hair dryer. I like to go to the shore off-season, and the heater, though it did not look like much, kept the entire room very warm and cozy. Many of the rooms do not have an ocean view, but it is as close to the beach as you can get without being on the boardwalk itself. As many reviews will remind you, this is the shore...things are simple here. If you are looking for an inexpensive way to be near the ocean and atmosphere does not matter, I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel very close to beach! Staff were nice!

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Good experience very close to beach room was clean front desk male & female were pleasant. My two daughters loved it we had a blast enjoyed our stay. The only thing was the fridge didn't work but other than that nice hotel. Clean. Didn't find any bugs. 😁
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, PA

It was close to the beach

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: how close it was to the beach
Cons: get hot water and the furniture was very abused. don't promise a king size bed and give something else
Location: the boardwalk was nearby along with a good seafood restaurant, Park Seafood. Dunkin Donuts is around the corner on the boardwalk
the hotel is located 1 block from the beach and we could see the ocean from our 3rd floor room. However, there was no king size bed, just two doubles, the TV got a few channels but all were fuzzy and there was no hot water. i guess you can say, we got what we paid for. my wife and i were not bothered much by it since we spent most of our time on the beach for the two days we were there, but any longer would have been a challenge. there was also a working fridge and microwave and the A/C was new.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Has not recovered from Hurricane Sandy.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Close to boardwalk
Cons: Everything needs work
Location: Attended Harley Owners Group Ocean County Rally. Should have stayed at the host hotel.
Asked for a first floor room and got it. Room came with a kitchenette - refrigerator, sink and gas stove. A microwave would have been better suited. Picture tube TV with fuzzy lines on every channel. Pool too cold to use even though it was a very hot Sept. Staff said hotel was hit with 5 feet of water and lots of sand.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florence NJ

Nothing nice to say

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Room was dirty, bathroom was filthy, toilet didn't flush, the walls had brown stuff stuck all over them and sofa was stained beyond repair...holes in walls and doors...never stayed over...left for home early...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel by the boardwalk !!!!!!

Posted Sep 13, 2015
the hotel itself its good, the staff were really nice and didnt bother at all, the pool was clean, we had a speaker by the pool and no one bothered the rooms were clean, a lil small but good enough. You get what you pay for, & i payed like $200 for 1apartment and 1 room & it was good enough, comfortable enough, i dnt cry about anything i get comfortable almost anywhere; the boardwalk is literally right there, the hotel after 10pm had plenty of cops around it, it was good enough... Loved it !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to boardwalk

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: close to boardwalk
Cons: bathroom and TV
Location: close to boardwalk
Bathroom was outdated, the beds made a squeaky noise