Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

lied about all include

Posted Jun 1, 2017
I pay all include when I try to go restaurant they try charge me , also they don't found my reservation (stupid )
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste you're money; do not book here

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Dirty & smelly. No hot water many other couples made same complaints. Made complaints and nothing was ever fixed. Treated badly if not VIP, discrepancy from regular guest to VIP guest was HUGE. Told we could not upgrade unless we pay for a 7000$ membership for 20 years, nothing in writing; different couples were given different prices for membership. Harassed by staff, no drinks in the morning until 10am (no mimosas or Bloody Mary's) bars were empty and boring, entertainment was VERY strange. The drinks sucked and nothing but Dominican bottom shelf liquor(unless you're VIP). Their strawberry daiquiris tastes like bubblegum? Shuttle services had us wait almost 30 minutes, not handicap accessible. Slippery tiles and stairs through all hotel, dangerous when raining! Another older gentlemen had fallen in the tub and his wife found out that their phone did not work. Pipeline running through the hotel (pretty sure is sewage) smelled very strong. It seems like this hotel is pretty empty. No one by pools in morning. In afternoon some people show up, not "fun". I'm 25 and my friend and I were often in bed by 9 because there was nothing to do and no people to hang out with. The safe was a joke and you had to pay extra for the key. Only nice thing was the one beach we were made accessible (VIP beach). I honestly tried to get my money back. Expedia needs to take this place off their marketing list because it's truly terrible. TERRIBLE. I wish I took photos but I was ashamed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good trip for the price

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The pools are all excellent and the VIP beach is heaven on earth.
Cons: Update the rooms. Food could be improved. Train the male staff on appropriate customer service with female guests.
Location: 40 minutes from the airport. Just take a cab to and from.
The Cofresi Palm is located at the Lifestyles resort complex in Puerto Plata. At check-in you will receive your bracelet, room keys and towel card. If you would like access to the room safe, it is $25 extra. Very important...THERE IS NO WI-FI. You have the option of paying for wi-fi which is a ridiculous $25/day and it doesn't even work. There are different levels of guests at the hotel. We received a blue bracelet which is the very basic level. The rooms are okay. Pretty old but sufficient. The grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained. The food is okay. With the blue band you have a limited selection of restaurants but still a decent variety. There are two buffets - The Pearl at the Cofresi and Casablanca at the Tropical. Eat at the Casablanca. It's not a far walk. It's worth waiting in a short line between 9-11am to make dinner reservations at their restaurants. Overall a good value for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Beautiful surroundings, amenities.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Multiple resorts connected, expansive grounds, beautiful vegetation, pools. Beach is on the smaller side but because of the many pools, it never felt crowded. Depending on which part of the resort you stay, the buildings can be older or more modern and updated. Even the older accommodations have very spacious, air conditioned rooms with balconies and they are kept clean. Don't expect cable (about 10 channels, 8 local, 2 English speaking). WIFI is extra. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and the food is excellent; plenty of choices and the quality of foodd is very good too. All inclusive at its best!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Where do I start?

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Everywhere you go you are hustled, from the parking lot to the room, in the room we found a cockroach, which was reported and ignored, the AC, stopped working in the middle of the night four nights (Carlos tried his best to resolve the issue but mechanics couldn't find the problem) Bar Amenities is one Pepsi a day due to booking with Expedia, leak in the bathroom ceiling,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Noriernes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Bed bugs bed bugs bed bugs

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Bed bugs dirty rooms if you don't buy into their time share BS. Don't go here unless you want to ruin your vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Never Again

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Orbitz
If you are not a VIP member you get no attention, the hotel is located on a hill like landscape and you have to take stairs up and down to get anywhere.. and the waitin for the shuttle bus to the other resort where there are other restaurants and activities is the worst... super over rated resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels