Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fleet, UK

Stylish hotel with very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff service, good quality room, food and swimming pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The old part of Modica is a short drive away and, as the rest of region, is historically and architecturally fascinating.
The whole experience with this hotel was excellent from the outset. All the staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and had a balcony which was a nice touch. The reception staff spoke English well and helped by organising a tour and when the rental car had a problem. The restaurant staff were equally pleasant and the menu was so good that we ate in the hotel most evenings rather than go out. There was a very good swimming pool area which one could sit by for the evening meal and breakfast. There was live entertainment on the Saturday night. Please pass on our thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Felt Like an Airport Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
This hotel was rated at 4.5/5, connotes a certain level of quality that was not found during our stay. Our room was small and sterile, despite the fact that we had supposedly been "upgraded"; I could not imagine what our original room would have looked like. Upon entering the room it wreaked of smoke, which was unpleasant to say the least. The room itself was clean though, so we did not complain, especially since we were only staying one night. The hotel is not near the main area in Modica and so a car is required to reach most stores and restaurants. I think the location should be emphasized on the website, as we were not made aware and it was a damper for our short stay in Modica. The staff spoke poor English and during check out this became an issue, as I tried to understand the purpose of a privacy release they wanted me to sign and they could not explain to me what it was for. Breakfast buffet was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Nice hotel, fairly new. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Nice pool as well. Hotel handy for visiting some of the more historical towns in the area like Noto, Modica etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta.

Nice and pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Pleasant staff, peace and quiet, breakfast and cleanliness.
Cons: Food portions at restaurant in relation to price and more food variety. Menu is very limited and pricey.
Location: Few shops around and a nice cafeteria called fuchsia which makes delicious ice cream and wonderful sicilian pastries.
We spent two nights at modica palace hotel. It is a wonderful place with courteous and pleasant staff. Superb cleanliness all around and a wonderful breakfast awaited us. Hotel is close to some shops, pizzeria and coffee shop. One has to take pool towels with him since they are not supplied. Few umbrellas would also be great around the pool since we experienced scorching sun and high temperatures at the time. The pool and area was meticulously clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Base for Modica,Ragusa &most Montalbano locations

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Location and quality
Cons: Restaurant closed during our stay
Location: A little difficult to find without a SatNav.
Small hotel with a large adjacent and gated car park. Typical Italian breakfast with a really good selection topped up at regular intervals. Huge garden and pool area, both fastidiously maintained. Restaurant not open during our stay but we were directed by the most helpful front desk team to the nearby and easy to find La Sirinetta which was excellent. We thought this hotel was a credit to the owners and management team. We paid a little more for a superior room and slept very well indeed!
2 out of 5
by colin from cambridge uk

the good, the bad and the ok

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: more or less everything else
Location: good for exploring the area
The good bits are that the hotel is well situated for touring the area. It is outside Modica, so access to the town requires a drive. Evening meals are only available on certain occasions, and restaurants also require transport. We were there in May/June.The hotel had a few coach parties, so by the time we got down to brakfast there was a poor choice.Complaint led to some fresh fruit, but overall disappointing. The pool ares is nice but the grass surrounds are cut on saturdays with noise and disruption. All in all, this is a three star hotel masquerading as a four.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Beautiful room and en-suite, excellent pool
Cons: Noise from other rooms
Location: Local pizzerie, gelaterie etc but central Modica is about 2.5 miles from the hotel - we went by car. Good location to reach Noto, Ragusa by car
Modern hotel that feels more expensive than it is - price included parking, air conditioning and no hidden charges. Room was comfortable with a good modern en-suite, spotlessly clean and serviced every day. Beautiful pool and plenty of sun loungers. Decent continental breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel two nights and we were pleased with the food and the service. Only negative point is that there was quite a lot of noise from other rooms and on one night music from a party being held at the hotel - but this wasn't a problem between 11:30pm and 6:30am so generally got a good sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard from Peak District

Good hotel great pool!

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: The pool and surrounding area
Cons: Location does not lend itself to walks from the hotel. Need a car.
Location: In the suburbs surrounded by mixture of housing and shopping complexes. Good links to Modica and nearby towns
A modern hotel with an art deco styling that offers all the services expected of a 4* hotel. Our room was typical of modern hotels, not overly large but with all amenities. Storage space for clothing was an issue as we were staying for a week with the result that an amount of clothing had to be left in cases. The bed was comfortable, a little softer than usual for hotels and the air conditioning effective and reasonably quiet. The pool is the jewel being large well furnished and private plus shady areas if you wish to escape from the fierce sun. The staff were very helpful speak better English than I do Italian and were able to organise a late check-out for us for a small fee. The restaurant Is not of the highest Italian standard but is worth a visit. One strange event was, on my first visit, I was informed that they had no wine list which was not true. Still not worked that out! The hotel is actually situated outside the centre of Modica and I would suggest a car is necessary if you wish to visit the town (well worthwhile) and neighbouring places such as Ragusa, Noto and Cava d'Ispica. Good location for sightseeing round the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gian from London, UK

Modica is a lovely place to stay.

Posted Jun 17, 2012
Pros: The staff and peaceful pool area.
Location: Fine for getting to see Noto, Scicly and Ragusa and some of the local marinas.
The staff were lovely and the restaurant not at all bad value. They could be a bit late in cleaning the rooms which is a bit of a nuisance if you are spending the day by the pool - which we had to ourselves for the 5 days we were there. We were given a bottle of wine as a leaving gift which was very touching. Yes, the staff are delightful and I would fully recommend the hotel. Breakfast not at all bad for Italy. Very good espresso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnifique hôtel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: piscine, petit déjeuners
Location: Bonne emplacement pour rayonner dans le sud de la Sicile (Monica, Ragusa, Notto, Scicli, Syracuse, Marzamemi, )
Malgré sa petite taille, cet hôtel a su se différentier : Magnifique piscine avec oreillers géants, personnels ultra sympathique, bon restaurant et un petit déjeuné avec des produits frais (dont certains viennent du potager). J'y retournerai ....