Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: The location is great for access to downtown and to shopping.
I always stay in this hotel when I come to Raleigh and have to go downtown for meetings. It's easy to find, easy to travel to downtown without needing to access the highway and it's a great value for the money. The staff is very friendly and it seems very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh nc

Extremely pleased!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The staff was beyond polite and accommodating, check in was a breeze. The room was very nice, and much better than what I had been staying in previously. We were their for personal business this time, but we recommended the hotel to our work place for future trips for us and our co-workers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, a little chilly

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Hotel is set-up for extended stay guests, so has kitchenette, free laundry facility, items you can purchase such as frozen dinners, toiletries, etc, as well as option to borrow games or kitchen gadgets. Room was clean and inviting, with a table that functioned as a desk as well. Felt safe for this female business traveler, alone. Is very convenient to Crabtree Valley Mall. Main drawback: room is chilly. There is an energy saving thermostat on the wall with a sensor so that it turns off (or down atleast) when you leave the room. So you come back to a chilly room. Even with thermostat set on 76, I'm was still chilly so not sure if it was working right. Not enough to deter me from staying again though...I'll just turn it higher. Another drawback: no continental breakfast, but you can buy yogurt, granola bars, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Heat System, was hard to maintain constant temp
Location: Close to all eateries and shopping
Upon arrival fast check-in and the location was perfect for our stay, enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stella, NC

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Late check-in for a early morning meeting. I always choose this hotel, because of the comfort!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Goldsboro NC

I guess you get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
My wife and I stayed for one night. I booked because it was the best deal in conjunction with rating. The rooms are what you'd expect for what you pay (the queen size bed is just big enough not to be a full size), but the kitchen is well worth it. Cooking your own breakfast beats trucking down stairs for waffles and fruit in a room full of strangers. Although you need to make sure you bring your own coffee and WASH THE COFFEE MAKER!!! Seriously, it was like pouring hot water through a dirty dish rag. About an hour after check in I went the hotel store for a soda. Waited for 10 minutes while the desk clerk spoke on the phone (with a manager, no less) about booking guest for next week. He never once acknowledged me, nor told whoever he was on the phone with that a guest was in front of him and obviously needed assistance. 10 minutes, without hyperbole, 10 minutes, I'm four feet away from him for 10 minutes holding a soda that he just saw me take from the place that they sell sodas and such from...and nothing. He finally finished what he considered more important, smugly apologized, and offered the now luke warm soda as compensation. I realize it's probably a one off experience, but it was the one I had, it was totally avoidable, and kinda set me in a judgemental path till check out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Nasty Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We stayed on the second floor and it was a horrible experience. The hotel room was nasty and not pleasant at all. We had dirty wash clothes and hand towels. The carpet had an odor and needed cleaning. The lamp did not work and the fridge was noisy. The shower was filthy as well. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Very nice place

Posted Oct 18, 2017
This is a nice quiet hotel and it is centrally located to just about everything. It also is in a beatlutful part of raleigh and is very close to lakes, hiking trails and malls etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Visiting family

Posted Sep 27, 2017
I came down to Raleigh to visit family. I found the room to be clean and spacious. If i had neighbors, I couldn't hear them. I had a full refrigerator, dishwasher, sink and glass top stove. It felt like I was in a studio apartment. I was given plenty of towels and the bathroom was very clean. I couldn't really find anything wrong with the room and trust me I tried. I was disappointed that there wasn't a dedicated housekeeping everyday, I would have liked to had my bed made up and the garbage taken out daily. But the lack of dedicated housekeeping wasn't enough for me to have any issues or real complaints. This is an extended stay hotel which had me a bit concerned but the other guests were quiet and polite if i ever saw any. I was so pleased with my room, I told other relatives that were coming to stay in the area that they should consider staying at Candlewood and they did! If I plan to do an extended stay in the area I would definitely come back and stay at this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke Rapids, NC

Close to the mall

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Clean room and friendly staff. Anything I needed the staff was there to help.