Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Excellent hotel...close to al destinations

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Was 10 min drive to our destination ....room was spacious beds comfortable....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, easy to access from road

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Close to the road and easy to access but traffic was also noisy and loud in the AM. Very bright in the room, they should have curtains that will cover the entire window! The pool area and fitness center were a bit small but fine. The hot tub was very HOT! Overall stay was fine, mostly the room noise and lack of privacy/bright sun because of the poor window coverings were the most disappointing. Would probably try another hotel when in red wing next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

clean and comfortable

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: there is a park just to the east with a good walking trail. not much other within walking distance.
This hotel is 10 minutes from downtown. There is a ribs restaurant next door, no other restaurants in walking distance. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows, shower water hot, clean hotel, I did not use the pool, The breakfast was good, waffles every day, eggs scrambled or in a tortilla, yogurt, cereal, juice milk and assorted condiments. Parking is close to the doors but there is not much of it. you have to park in the restaurant parking lot if you come in late. It was quiet. I recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable

Posted May 8, 2017
Cons: functioning pillows
Location: Red Wing, MN - small quaint town, beautiful scenery, sweet downtown
The entire hotel had all the hallways and rooms repainted and all the carpets were replaced so the smell of fresh paint & carpet was overwhelming. Also, the new decor looks pretty bad. They took a hotel that used to have a welcoming homey feel and they've redone it more as a 70's motel style. They even replaced the lobby furniture with what looks like Ikea clearance items. The deal breaker was the uncomfortable bed with the strangest pillows we've every had to use. The huge and puffy pillows looked great, but the second you put your head on them, they collapsed and would actually slide out from underneath our heads. Very strange. It didn't matter how many pillows we piled on top of each other, they would all just flatten out and slip away. I gave up by 2:30 and spent the rest of the night trying to sleep in a chair. My husband ended up with an extremely stiff neck. We won't be back to this hotel. Not worth the $200+ dollars for one night's stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, including the decors. Also, we are sorry to know that you were not able to have a good night sleep due to the comfort of your pillow at that time. This is definitely not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be forwarded to the hotel management for them to make necessary actions. We hope to see you again in any of our Country Inn & Suites By Carlson hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Surprised

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Definitely the free breakfast
Cons: Needs updating and if they could somehow get rid of the "stale" feel, that would be amazing.
Location: Red Wing is a lovely little town - I didn't do much sight-seeing since I was there for business. I also wasn't at the facility very much.
I was surprised at how "worn out" the facility appeared - although it was clean it had an "old shoe" feel to it but the breakfast was exceptional - fruit, waffles, coffee, oatmeal, danishes, eggs, fancy potatoes . . . Staff was very helpful and accommodating ~
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay. Bed was squeaky, and this along with lots of traffic noise made sleep less than optimal. Hot breakfast is really nice, but they were often out of a lot of the food. Other than that, really good stay. Good value!
3 out of 5
by Kimberly

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice. Our room was ok...our major complaint was the pillows...they were super flat. We each used two but they were not even a full as one normal pillow...my husband actually went to the bathroom and used two rolled towels to give the pillows some fluff. We stay in a lot of hotels and theses were the worst we have seen. We both slept horribly. It seems like an easy thing to offer to the guests. Nice pillows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Parking is horrible. Some guests had to park on city streets
4 out of 5
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable room and bed, great breakfast