Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsend, DE

Nice hotel right on beach. Small sitting room also

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Small sitting room in addition to 2 double beds was a nice surprise. Also 2 TV's. Extra ladies and men's rooms on 2 floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bensalem pa

Not very impressed

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Checked in late on a Friday night, and pretty much had to yell and wake up the front desk person who I guess was in the back office. After we go to our room the electric was not working I had to call the front desk and it took them at least 5 minutes to understand i needed to be moved and could not stay into a room without electric. It took 2 moves and 30 mins later to finally get get into a acceptable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh Pa

Relaxing, perfect

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: It seems well loved, but was very comfortable for me.
Cons: Free night for every two special?
Location: The stores and restaurants were very good. Nice just to walk on the beach.
So nice to hear the sound of the ocean waves. I slept so well. Even though it was chilly, it was very relaxing. Awesome room, can't beat the price. So nice to walk out on a balcony and the beach right ther. All staff were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Oceanfront room, great staff.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, proximity to the beach, friendly staff.
Cons: everything was fine as is.
Location: A beach town in mid January is not hopping with night life or tourist attractions. We love the surf, walking boardwalks, and birdwatching.
We wanted a get away vacation right on the beach. For many years we have stayed at another place in Dewey, but changes in ownership made the price too high for rooms that badly need rehabilitation. The Sands has oceanfront rooms at a decent off season price. We had fourth floor views of the ocean, twice daily long walks on the boardwalk, and though the restaurants at the hotel are not open in winter, many others are within walking distance, including the Victoria next door.. It was nice to park the car and leave it for three days. Mid-January is the time for snow geese migrations to pass through the area, so we saw lots of bird life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southeaster Pennsylvania

No Frills, Clean, Excellent Location!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We stayed Thanksgiving night. The check-in was quick and painless and the staff was pleasant. Our standard room was NOT ocean-front, but we ended up on a side of the hotel that faced the water and had a lovely ocean view anyway! Clean room with just the basics. No noise, everything worked (TV, microwave, safe), and the water was hot in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Off Season To OBX

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Staff was wonderful. Allowed me to view room selection to determine my preference. Rooms were spotless. Yes this is an older facility, but it's right on the Boardwalk and walking distance to everything. Our first time in Rehoboth Beach as we were traveling to Outer Banks. WIll certainly visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2016
A little noisy. The room was allright. The location of the hotel is fantastic. I still don't figured why to Expedia client the give them worse room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful offseason stay

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, older hotel in a great location. We have stayed here several times and will be back.