Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

The thought is there...

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The oceanfront view was amazing!! Staff was excellent, big help on local things, the rooms, the thought is there but the comfort, not so much. The beds are HORRIBLE! Hard as a rock! Major renovation going on, unfort our room was already remodeled and that didn't help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice hotel, excellent price, great location. I have stayed here many times and have always had a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsend, DE

Nice hotel right on beach. Small sitting room also

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Small sitting room in addition to 2 double beds was a nice surprise. Also 2 TV's. Extra ladies and men's rooms on 2 floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bensalem pa

Not very impressed

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Checked in late on a Friday night, and pretty much had to yell and wake up the front desk person who I guess was in the back office. After we go to our room the electric was not working I had to call the front desk and it took them at least 5 minutes to understand i needed to be moved and could not stay into a room without electric. It took 2 moves and 30 mins later to finally get get into a acceptable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh Pa

Relaxing, perfect

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: It seems well loved, but was very comfortable for me.
Cons: Free night for every two special?
Location: The stores and restaurants were very good. Nice just to walk on the beach.
So nice to hear the sound of the ocean waves. I slept so well. Even though it was chilly, it was very relaxing. Awesome room, can't beat the price. So nice to walk out on a balcony and the beach right ther. All staff were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Oceanfront room, great staff.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, proximity to the beach, friendly staff.
Cons: everything was fine as is.
Location: A beach town in mid January is not hopping with night life or tourist attractions. We love the surf, walking boardwalks, and birdwatching.
We wanted a get away vacation right on the beach. For many years we have stayed at another place in Dewey, but changes in ownership made the price too high for rooms that badly need rehabilitation. The Sands has oceanfront rooms at a decent off season price. We had fourth floor views of the ocean, twice daily long walks on the boardwalk, and though the restaurants at the hotel are not open in winter, many others are within walking distance, including the Victoria next door.. It was nice to park the car and leave it for three days. Mid-January is the time for snow geese migrations to pass through the area, so we saw lots of bird life.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth 3.5 star rating

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Only benefit is it is right next to the beach. Not the cleanest, ice machine wouldn't work, not a 3.5 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential not sure they really care?

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Outdoor pool closed off season, not a big deal. Hotel appeared not very full but assured no ocean front rooms available and because of a supposed convention the on site bar and restaurant were closed. Could be a great hotel year around - if they wanted to be!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

At Least A Good Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
The door to the balcony apparently leaks ... the carpet near the outside wall was sopping wet so couldn't sleep in desired bed. No morning coffee in the lobby ... they are happy to send you outside to an attached coffee bar (conflict of interest?).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice and I've stayed before. However, our last stay was horrible. They are doing construction of the beaches right in front of the hotel and it goes on all night long. All you heard all night longs was the beeping of construction vehicles backing up. While I understand that this is not the fault of the hotel, they could have done a better job of making up for the sleepless night, possibly with a partial credit. Instead, they had more of a "sorry about your luck" attitude.