Ratings based on 936 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wixom, MI

We enjoyed our stay at the Carleton of Oak Park

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price. Location. Free parking. Room comfort and cleanliness. Friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel was within short walking distance to the Green Line train, which whisks you to the heart of downtown in 20 minutes.
We were very pleased with everything about The Carleton of Oak Park...the location, the rooms, the staff, the amenities, the price, and the service were all excellent. We will definitely stay at the Carleton during future trips to Chicago, and highly recommend it to other Chicago visitors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

OK hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location to center of town.
Cons: Update! It felt like something out of a 50's movie.
Location: Frank Lloyd Wright tours were excellent, nice restaurants and fun shopping within walking distance.
Not many hotels right in Oak Park to choose from. The Carleton was overpriced for the room we got. Clean, but outdated, and small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC, KS

Nice hotel, not so nice motel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location, only a block away from an L stop with a good Irish pub, CVS and Dunkin' Donuts also a couple blocks away.
Cons: Cleanliness - I don't think they cleaned the floor once we were in the room (the blankets we removed from the bed were left in the corner).
Found a good deal on this site and the location was perfect for what we were looking for (a block from an L stop) so we booked this and were ready for our trip. We arrived early in the day after the drive went much faster than we were expecting. The team at the front desk in the morning was excellent, even though Expedia apparently hadn't sent our reservation correctly. It was at this time that we realized that our "standard" room wasn't in the Carleton hotel proper, but in the "motor lodge" next door. We didn't worry about this as we hadn't seen the room and were ready to start on our vacation. After returning that evening and checking in, the lady at the desk was a bit defensive when I stated that the site didn't clarify that "standard" rooms were not really in the hotel. She even commented that (paraphrased) "people find great deals on those rooms and expect the good rooms". When we finally got into the room, it was old-fashioned and looked like it hasn't been renovated or updated since the 1960s. The sheets had a distinct "sweaty" smell and when I called the front desk to request fresh sheets, they didn't have any housekeeping staff on the clock, so they expected us to put our own sheets on. Overall, the room was adequate and acceptable for sleeping after a day of tourism. If you're looking for something more than a bed and a toilet, I'd recommend either booking the better rooms or finding a different hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan

Great gem

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very nice and cozy hotel. Carla at check was very pleasant, accommodating and great spirit. One of the best to greet me at a hotel ever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little town. Great location.

Posted May 27, 2016
I was in the outside, courtyard room which was a bit unusual to me. However, the hotel staff was great and the room was satisfactory.
4 out of 5
by Adrian from Driggs, ID

Nice Stay in Chicago

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
We only had one night but we really enjoyed it. The beds were smaller than advertised so it was a little crammed but it worked out. We were a 1/2 hour from downtown on the L.
5 out of 5
by Melvin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A. Hasan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Nice hotel. Very close to el and downtown.

Posted May 6, 2016
We picked this hotel because of free parking and its close proximity to mass transit. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
The hotel is too small to accommodate a wedding and outside guests. We were put in a room above a wedding reception that went until 11:30pm. The music was so loud it was as if we were at the reception. The hotel should have at least put a wedding guest in our room so they would be out of that room during the party. The Carleton is really the only hotel option in Oak Park so I think it's safe to assume that they will not be motivated to make any positive changes.