Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Great hotel, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, nice food - overall great time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toluca, Mex

Hotel agradable cerca de la playa

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: La vegetación y en general las instalaciones
Cons: Ya lo comente
Location: La playa está limpia y accesible
En general aceptable la estancia, algunos aspectos por mejorar: mejor ventilación en las habitaciones, especialmente en él área de baño; el servibar hacía mucho ruido. Las comidas bien en general, la cena navideña muy buen ambientada y muy completa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John O.

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Orbitz
We (brother and I) have stayed at five other hotels in the Playa del Carmen area and 18-19 times at the Tequila. We would not stay at any other hotel than the Tequila unless forced. We would change dates first. The hotel is Mexican not cement and glass like many of them. The food is great, the people are fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. Not on the beach but it has a shuttle to the beach and the afternoons around the pools are why you went to Mexico. Peaceful and serene. Do your self a favor and don't go for that we have to be on the beach attitude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wissous_France

globalement bon

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: la gentillesse et le dévouement du personnel
Cons: l'hygiène dans les salles de restauration : interdir l'accès aux oiseaux à ces espaces
Location: plage à 10 mn à pied, playa del carmen à 10 mn en taxi ( 90 pesos Mex)
Bon hotel, le personnel est vraiment sympathique, et très bon rapport qualité/prix Bémol sur l'hygiène avec des sortes de marsupiaux partout et des oiseaux qui vont et viennent dans certains espaces de restauration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nico from mar del plata

Volveria

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
en general fue todo muy bueno, excelente. El equipo de animacion se pasa de bueno, la comida y bebida exelente, muy lindas playas. Vacaciones de diez
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Washington, USA

Visited October 5, 2015 thru October 15, 2015

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: (1) Some in our group of seven would say, lots of alcohol. (2) Playa del Carmen is paradise.(3) Staff was very, very good at their jobs.
Cons: The food was not to our liking, seven of us went in this group, to give a grade = C minus. Light the room number signs on walkways.
Location: Playa del Carmen is so far, in my travels, my favorite beach
We really enjoyed Playa del Carmen, this was my forth visit to the area. Will not stay at Riu Tequila ever again. Where do I start? Two double beds in the room pushed together side by side, so comfortable for only two adults; we had three adults in our room - made available to use was a third bed, crib size. The two double beds create so many problems; (1) the rooms are small to start with so adding a crib sized bed for an adult gives no room for walking around in room, (2) there is no gain to comfort having two doubles in a room; either remove one double or remove both beds and replace with one queen or one king bed, (3) how i it possible for and adult to sleep in a crib sized mattress? The shower is dangerous to step into; (1) there is a safety bar but in the wrong location, (2) the front edge of shower is too tall so you must step way over into shower causing a dangerous slipping problem. Only one electric plug in room, so make sure to take your own power strip and a forty foot extension cord if you need power in the bathroom for shaving, or sleep apnea machine. After dark you will have problems finding your room because the signs are small and not light - dangerous and difficult for people who don't see well in the dark, so bring a flashlight. Doors use mechanical system, so how many people have copies? Locks don't work well - they are old and worn. I could go on and on but no characters available here so see below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ótima impressão, funcionários excelentes

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: paisagismo, os funcionários, quem arrumava o quarto 1802, a moça do bar da piscina, o gerente e o Carlos bar recepção a noite, e garçons cafe manha
Cons: os encostos acolchoados das cadeiras da piscina, a entrada dos quatis no restaurante da piscina, colocaria 2 carrinhos pra fazer o percurso até a prai
Location: localização perfeita por causa da tranquilidade e do paisagismo, o acesso as instalações do hotel da praia.
excelente hotel, mas gostaria de destacar a incrível recepção e o atendimento por parte de alguns funcionários, que além de simpáticos e atenciosos, se desdobraram para executar um perfeito atendimento, não me recordo dos nomes mas preciso destacar essas pessoas, a bar tender que é a responsável pelo bar da piscina (Riu Tequila), o gerente do bar próximo a recepção e principalmente o bar tender Carlos, o responsável pela arrumação do quarto 1802, e dois garçons que atendiam a ala esquerda logo na entrada do restaurante principal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOSE CARLOS from Querétaro

Playa y servicio de lujo, alberca puede mejorar.

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Muy buen hotel, excelente ubicación, el personal limpia la playa y hay meseros atendiendo en esa área, el personal de barras muy serviciales. El único detalle es que la alberca estaba sucia el agua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Superbe séjour à playa del carmen. Hôtel, plage, services... Tout est parfait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by André from São Paulo

A melhor escolha!

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
A escolha de ficar no Riu Tequila, foi EXCELENTE. Além do custo-benefício muito bom, as opções de comida são maravilhosas, com muita variedade e qualidade. As piscinas são excelentes e o serviço dos bares são muito bons. O hotel conta com uma estrutura não muito nova, porém muito limpo e bem decorado. A única observação, é a de que o hotel não fica em frente ao mar, ele fica exatamente atrás do hotel Riu Yucatan que é em frente ao mar. Quem está hospedado no Riu Tequila, pode usar toda a estrutura (piscina, cadeiras, bares e restaurantes) do Riu Yucatan. Caminhando são 7 minutos, mas de 10 em 10 minutos saem carrinhos de golf da recepção que te levam e te buscam. Na recepção, tem wifi livre, não muito rápido, mas se quiser, pode comprar o serviço para ter nos quartos.