Ratings based on 818 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel, great entertainment!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Very nice hotel, great entertainment for adults and children. Food and drinks are above average. Cons: being mexican-american and speaking spanish , i felt the waiters did not give me the attention that was offered to other guests. My family and I would sit at a table and sometimes they would just look at us and go to a table where guests arrived later. Happened more than once. Dead bugs in our hotel room, rooms need renovation, kid pool is not even average, golf cart that takes you to the beach is mostly always full and you have to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi TX

Great Hotel Overall

Posted May 25, 2017
Me and my husband stayed for a week at this resort and as always the Riu brand did not disappoint. The food and beverages were great also with a large selection of both offered. This resort is set up more like a bungalo style with smaller buildings spread throughout a beautiful landscape. There were some areas of the grounds that looked like they were doing so improvements to the foliage but overall very relaxing. Even though the rooms were spread out the main things such as front desk, restaurants, and bars were pretty well centrally located which was very nice. This was my fourth stay at a Riu resort and this was the only one I could say that the staff could use some improvement. Not that any of them were rude or unhelpful when asked, but staff at the previous Riu resorts seemed more eager to make sure you had a great stay. The room was nice and clean, only complaint there was the pillows were in need of retirement. Over all though we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to fellow travelers. Side note: the hotel is not ocean front but has a path designated for the Riu guests that in a short 10 min walk or 5 min shuttle your at the beach. Access to the sister property Riu Yucatán made our beach days very relaxing with drinks/snacks readily available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ne

Great from start to finish.

Posted May 21, 2017
Wonderful vacation. Second time at the Tequila and it won't be the last
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, New Jersey

Nice Mexican ambiance

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the Mexican feeling, looks like and old Hacienda, service people are great they make you feel welcome and ready to help.
Cons: Check in was rushed, even though there was not people waiting to check in upon our arrival. No information about the restaurants/activities was given.
Location: A street market is within a 3 min walk. Playa Del Carmen 5th Ave is 10 min away via taxi which cost about $9 US. 5th Ave is where Playa's action is!
Riu Tequila provides a nice Mexican ambiance when compared to the other RIU hotels in the area. Yes, it may be older, but is well kept and the service is superb. The newest RIU's while nice, don't provide a Mexican feeling, they are too modern for their location in my opinion. Of importance is to know Tequila is NOT on the beach, is a short 7-10 min walk on a private walkway or a 3 min ride on their golf car. The beach is secluded and I would say semi-private, shared with 2 other Riu hotels that are beachfront. Food selection and quality is OK, I would say is average or better by all inclusive standards, lots of options for your meals.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Average all inclusive hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel is OK, l was there for 3 nights, the clean up is good, but the maintenance in the room is not that good, the minibar was broken, and they weren't toiletries, l did complaint 3 times in the lobby about it and nobody show up to fix it. The beach is just crossing the street, but if you don't want to walk i's a shuttle cart every 15 min. The pool is good and the pool bar is great. The food is decent, and drinks are OK . This is not the perfect hotel but is OK .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted May 13, 2017
Resort, staff and beach was amazing! Had a great time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Way to hot

Posted May 3, 2017
We loved the grounds and staff. However our rooms air-conditioning was broke the whole time. It was so hot in our room we couldn't sleep felt sick a lot from the heat outside then having to go into a 100 degree room. They sent someone to fix it three times but it was never fixed. Said we could change rooms the next day then said that the air was out everywhere. Talked to other guests and there air was working. I would stay across the street at the Riu Yucatan and maybe walk over to this one to see the landscaping but not stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Mexican experience

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The Mexican flavour and its location
Go there, such a great time staff are awesome. Go to the swim up bar lots of fun
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Second chance

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Second time visiting this hotel. And probably the last one. I was given the very back room with a aprox walk of 7-10 from the lobby to my room. Having no wifi in the rooms is a big No for me. Just to check the web I had to walk to the lobby where people smoke all over the place. Not comfortable at all. The hitelshould have more golf carts, extra one going to the beach and another ones looping around the hotel for those rooms located very far from the lobby. Other those complaints, I love the food , and the service at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

All the staff are fabulous!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The staff here is incredible! Every aspect of this resort. From the front desk, wait staff, bartenders, cleaning staff, garden staff, cooks, entertainment, hope I didn't forget anybody. Anyone you come across in this place has a smile and an "hola" for you! A most enjoyable vacation spot.