Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Mold in the rooms

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: All inclusive. Did'nt have to worry about meals and alcohol. Except on New Year's eve when they only had one resturant open and it was full.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Playa Del Carmen is a great little city right next to RIU resort.
4. My girlfriend and I arrived at RIU Tequila resort on Monday December 26th, 2016 late due to the airline delays. We had dinner and shrugged it off. We stayed in room 2706 at the resort. On Wednesday the 28th, 2016 my girlfriend complained about feeling sick and I noticed mold in the shower. I promptly reported this to the front desk and they sent someone on Thursday 29th, 2016 to clean the shower. She continued to get sick so I kept looking and found a lot more mold in the bathroom itself. It is December 31st at this point when I advised the front desk that they had to do something. That is when I started feeling sick. I remember the exact moment I told the front desk because I was trying to find a place to eat for New Years Eve and was denied entry to the Gala that night. My girlfriend spent the next three days sick and taking whatever over the counter medicine we could find. They never once asked how they could help us or even offered to move us to another room. Our vacation was basically over halfway through it. Now I know it may be hard to believe, so I took pictures and both of us went to the doctor when we got home to show you what the mold gave us. The pictures will be attached to my email to you and if you need the doctor’s diagnosis, it can be provided. We arrived back to Nashville early on January 4th due to airline delays again and I went to the doctor on January 5th, 2017 where I was diagnosed with and treated for Pneumonia from the mold exposure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a massive update.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel needs a massive update. Everything looked very dated. Saving grace was amazing service by the staff. Other Rius in the vicinity were much better looking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids,MI

the hotel is nice but far away of the beach

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: the pool, the pool service is pretty good, the team for entitlement the same good, the plaza of good and tidy.
Cons: as I stated, you could improve the menu and better check the composition of the food that is served in the Cabinet for food
Location: the hotel is in a good area and can be used and the other hotels of the RIU tequila and safe
The hotel is a neat ,check in we quickly and without problems, and it's unfortunately all I can happen at the reception of a different kind of help does not exist we asked for help for taxi but we didn't get they sent us everywhere just to disturb them, service in the room and clean-up is great, the food was clean and super but there's not enough salami of chicken , Turkey and beef, and if there is no clear inscriptions on the composition of the food they don't eat all the pork due to health or religious reasons
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el sibrante, ca

The worse place a person can stay.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Horrible experience. Worse place to stay. It was infested with the worse and ugly animals you can imagine. They were everywhere you sat. I cried all night and had anxiety attack. The room smelled like mildew. There were ants everywhere. I will definitely take this up with Expedia!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

we will be back

Posted Oct 31, 2016
everything was outstanding this time as it was last april. we will be back again. the food was outstanding (bacon, bacon, bacon). then help bent over backwords to help. the beach was very good also even if you had to walk there. it was a short 10 minute walk.they have a 7 person gulf car to take to and from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Love my stay the staff was super cool, the jalisco buffet was delicious, there late shows next to the bar were just great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

not as nice as initially thought.....

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: breakfast buffet was good and staff was very nice
Cons: rooms are terribly outdated and look like they have not been renovated in 20+ years!!!
I booked this hotel thru Expedia which gave the property a pretty good rating (4.2 stars) and while the surrounding grounds, buildings are nice, the hotel rooms are terribly outdated! The staff is very nice though and did a great job welcoming us to the hotel. Once we got to our rooms though, everything went downhill. The locks on the doors are difficult to open, the room decorations look like they have been there since the 1970's, air conditioning does not work too well and even and electric socket came completely out when I was removing a plug. We booked the hotel for 3 nights and only stayed 1. When we checked out early, we were not even asked why...so I assume this happens a lot. With that being said, the breakfast buffet was very good and again, the staff was great. I would NOT stay here again though! Too many other good choices in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice environment, pleasant!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I stayed 7 days and we enjoyed RT, the staff is nice, the food very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Awesome!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice, close enough to the beach, excellent food, no hassle a la carte dinning, staff attentive to detail. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

It is so nice to be able to use all 3 Riu resorts.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Riu tequila has always been my favorite but it seems to have gone downhill a little this year. The pool was dirty, bed was very hard. Saw cups and cans laying on the grounds (never saw that before). Thank god we were able to use the Riu Playacar resort everyday for pool and beach time. I would still recomend Riu Tequila to friends and hope that this week isnt representative of the future of Riu Tequila.