Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Playa Visit

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: I love the villas set up, the gardens, the jungle atmosphere and loved having animal walking free around the hotel. The pool is perfect size for the
Cons: WIFI, when I booked this hotel we thought that it was like any other All-inclusive hotel, Strong/free WIFI signal everywhere in the hotel including th
Location: The beach, it takes about 10-15 walking, or 6 minutes in a golf cart. shopping nearby, or take a taxi cab for about $9USD to playa de Carmen commercia
We have stayed at the RIU's in a previous visit to this area. We took the decision of staying at the Tequila this time because it was a few dollars cheaper than the RIU palace. Now, in general it was what we expected, I love the villas set up, the gardens, the jungle atmosphere and loved having animal walking free around the hotel. The pool is perfect size for the hotel, good enough of entertainment daily. the room itself, well cooled, comfortable beds, and clean sheets. Staff were pretty standard for the rating of hotel. Things I believe they need to improve: WIFI, when I booked this hotel we thought that it was like any other All-inclusive hotel, Strong/free WIFI signal everywhere in the hotel including the beach side, BUT negative, the signal was weak, and NOT FREE at the room, totally disappointed, and the sad part is the fact they know about it. If you have a tour leaving early in the morning, you are not able to take anything out of the buffet before leaving to your tour. plan ahead. The room has no Shower door, so if you like privacy, you may consider booking this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy buen hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Muy buena atencion y servicio. Excelente relacion precio/servicio.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016
We love going to this hotel. It's pretty much the only place we stay when going to Mexico. We love the staff there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Horrible experience

Posted Mar 31, 2016
When we arrived, the entire place was dirty. Yes, the customers should clean up after themselves, however the staff didn't do this either. Hours later, the same garbage was all around the hotel. The raccoon-like animals are everywhere, including on top of the dining tables, on the buffet, and even were urinating in the restaurant. The staff laughed at them and did nothing to try to get rid of them. We left, though it took hours to get expedia and the hotel management to let us pay for another hotel on the property. We've been to similar rated resorts, and have never seen such a disgusting place. I would never return to here or other Riu resorts in Mexico.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Hotel ideal combina relax con entretenimiento

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: La atencion del personal, la calidad de la comida
Cons: Esta todo perfecto
Location: Cerca de la Quinta Avenida para shopping y cerca se Xcaret y Xplorer . Tambien cerca del embarcadeo a Cozumel
El hotel es ideal para relajarse, disfrutar la piscina y la playa . El All include es excelente por su calidad y variedad de platos . Cuenta con shows todas las noches . Es un crucerp en tierra!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Poor room quality

Posted Mar 26, 2016
The rooms lack basic amenities. No outlets in bathroom, total of two single outlets in entire room. Beds are hard and very uncomfortable. Good was good and staff very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2016
We found that the beds were to hard and that the buffet was bland at best. We did enjoy how clean the hotel rooms and the whole hotel were.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Lovely plantation style hotel.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Just came back from Rui Tequila. Brought my parents to celebrate their 50th anniversary. Loved being treated like royalty by staff. Special recognition and gratitude to receptionist Antonio, who personally took care of our family needs, helped relocate us close to lobby to minimize my dad's walking. It truly made huge difference and allowed my father to spend more energy and strength for some fun activities. Also, Antonio was super professional, shared his knowledge on local tourist attractions and shopping. He patiently helped me numerous times with my Intenet connection problems. Since two people in our group were speaking only Russian, it was challenging to accommodate to all our needs, but Antonio made our trip to Chichen Itza not only possible, but incredibly he was able to organize couple side trips as well! Most important, Antonio has special bond with kids! My 8 year old thinks he made a friend! :-) Antonio helped with booking taxis for us, giving me huge relief and peace of mind. After all, such things make all the difference in the world. Viva Mexico!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was beautiful. With wonderful staff!

Posted Mar 9, 2016
I enjoyed everything about my stay here! Beautiful hotel. Loved the shows. And the staff were all so helpful and happy. I would recommend the Riu Tequila.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Great staff, fun shows and entertainment nightly. Beautiful huge beach.