Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

walking distance to the center of town...

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: close to airport, walking distance to downtown Roanoke
Cons: Mini frig in the rooms
Location: Center of town, close to airport, close to Hollins University
Elegant, comfortable, southern hospitality and charm, in walking distance to downtown Roanoke, staff is gracious and accomodating
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled you enjoyed your experience! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA 22980

Outstanding

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Across the bridge from historic downtown. Near several museums and other sites.
Have been going to the Hotel Roanoke for many years. Just to get my fix of first class service. They more than met my high expectations. We where there just to shop Roanoke and visit sites of interest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are delighted you enjoyed your experience! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

just a stop over for me

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: clean, nice character, high end touches, easy internet access, desk in room to work at
Cons: when i called for service, it did take awhile before anyone would answer, but that is not even worth mentioning. It is a world class hotel
Location: wasn't part of my trip
but all staff were pleasant and efficient. Couldn't get the door open to my room, we back down and the staff person made 2 new cards and went up to room with me. Ordered room service, it was very good. Valet and help with luggage, all excellent. clean room, good night's sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adele, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be sharing your review with our team. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience as well as the amenities. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
3 out of 5
by Lea

You don't always get what you pay for...

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful. I chose this place for two reasons: it had a spa and it was close to where I needed to go downtown. The first being the most important thing to me, I tried several times to get a hold of someone at the spa to make an appointment. I called and left voicemail.I emailed through the hotel site and I emailed from my personal email. I did not get a response until the day of my arrival that there was no availability. I asked for a nearby recommendation and the two that I received where too far away and were unresponsive as well. My reservations were already paid for, so I could easily switch hotels. So i was stuck. The cleaning staff left things undone in my room and didn't restock properly making it necessary to have to do it myself several times. Now, this isn't a problem at Motel 6... but when paying this much for a hotel room, one should be able to expect a certain level of service. The limited menu of the restaurant and inconvenient hours of the pub were frustrating. The room service staff, however, was EXCELLENT. He was not only pleasant and courteous, but helpful to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Lea, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be addressing this with our team. I appreciate you sharing your experience so we can review our operations and make corrections.We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and unfortunately were not at our best during your visit. We will make corrections and do hope to serve you again to deliver an experience that is beyond expectations. Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your review and rating! We hope to serve you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful Old Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
It's a beautiful old hotel built in the 1880's and rebuilt in the 1990's. A bit overpriced for the area, but comfortable, charming, and stately just the same! Nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Doc Snarky, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Amy L

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Amy L, thank you for your review and rating! We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Stay here first in Roanoke!

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is wonderful. Customer service is excellent, the beds are amazingly comfortable, and the restaurant & bar are great. Walking distance to everything in downtown Roanoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience and found the staff to be a highlight! I hope if your travels return you to the area you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
3 out of 5
by Kelvin

Loud HVAC

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine. The only problem was the HVAC unit was so loud. When it turned on you had to keep turning the TV up just to be able to hear, then once it went off you had to turn it back down again. Then there was children running around in the hallway late into the night, very loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Kelvin, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I have shared your experience with our team and we are reviewing all HVAC units. I thank you for sharing your experience with us so we can improve our operations. I hope we can serve you again soon and deliver a much better stay. Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
4 out of 5
by Robert

Understated elegance

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing and historic hotel. Service is top-notch. It is elegant without being stuffy. I felt totally relaxed throughout my stay and I look forward to returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! I will share the kind words with our team and we look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager