Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Elegant hotel in need of renovation

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff and elegant setting
Cons: Bathroom renovation and the lack of ventilation
Having booking the cheapest rooms on this property, I must emphasize that the room is probably not the nicest. The bathroom was the smallest we have during our 10-day trip in Italy and you could see paint peeling off and the toilet seat is unhinged. There is obviously some plumbing issue since the room smell of sewer from time to time. That said, the staff are amazing and the restaurant is first rated (for both dinner and buffet breakfast). Maybe we will return but stay in a nicer room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Luxurious haven

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The room was just lovely. The whole hotel had a peaceful ambience. Wonderful staff and excellent room
Cons: The bed creaked endlessly which was quite annoying
Location: Excellent location. Easy walk into local village if you want.
This is an excellent hotel if you want to stay away from Rome but still have train travel access. Th staff are all brilliant. The room facilities are spacious with a great bathroom and view The surrounds are tranquil and peaceful The staff are extremely professional and could not have been more helpful The transfer to the train into Rome worked extremely well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Beautiful setting, helpful staff, excellent food

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Don't be put off by this hotel's 'out of the way' position. It is the perfect sanctuary after experiencing the hustle and bustle of Rome. Fabulous friendly staff, beautiful setting, excellent food and SOOOO relaxing. This hotel is a must if you want to be spoiled. This hotel is full of history and is on the site of an ancient Roman Villa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smart "get away from it all" hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The pool was quiet & had plenty of sunbeds available & good poolside service.
Cons: The Wifi service was patchy across the hotel & didn't work for all our devices, we were told too many people were logged in
Location: It is an isolated hotel which apart from using the hotel shuttle bus to & from the local train station, ideally you need to have a car
We booked here as a rest from our city sightseeing. Nice hotel with nothing to do, except eat, drink & relax by the pool. Probably best accessed by car as otherwise Rome is 2 train journeys away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
The food was delicious. The pasta at dinner was great. The continental breakfast included delicious pastries (more like those we have had in France) and very fresh fruit. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner on the Terrace which has lovely views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful and Unique Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The view, the history, the pool, the restaurant, it's so beautiful there
Cons: The air conditioning and figuring out a way to keep away ants
Location: The location is pretty remote, but they can call you a cab to pick you up from the hotel or you can take their free shuttle to the metro station
The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and breathtaking. The food at the restaurant for dinner was delicious. They have cheap snacks at the pool like burgers, salads and sandwiches around lunchtime which was convenient. Breakfast was ok, if you like sweets it's perfect for you. The pool was perfect, never too crowded, and the life guard and attendants were friendly and helpful and would bring your food and drinks poolside to you. The room was nice, but the air conditioner was never cold enough. A lot of ants got into the room, although they were pretty much everywhere. The shower pressure was way too hard and spilled all over the floor, but overall we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Love this place. Away from the craziness of Rome. Elegant and a special place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Old Italian Charm

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff is exceptional! The castle is rustic, quiet and charming.
Location: There is really nothing near by which was exactly what we wanted. There is a hotel shuttle to a train station, but we used a taxi - 40 Euros.
We spent 2 weeks in Italy and our stay at Castello della Castelluccia was one of our favorite places. Upon arrival, I was slightly disappointed as it appeared the Castle grounds had not been as well maintained as I would have expected - the red entry carpet to hotel needs some care, golf cart parked in front was an eyesore and beautiful orange trees off the patio had fallen fruit that was rotting, such a shame. But after the first day there was a certain charm of being at an older Castle. I saw several workers every day sweeping leaves, cleaning and trying to keep up with the maintenance which I imagine is no small task for an older place of this size. Once you start exploring the Castle and grounds you see the lovely detail around every corner. Do not miss dinner on the patio, such amazing food, service, we could have sat there all evening. We did make a reservation every night, if in summer I'd sugget 8:30-9pm to enjoy the weather more, and every evening we were greeted with an excellent table waiting for us. The pool is a little walk below the Castle but wonderful poolside food, drinks and service. We rented the room with hydro massage, it took 45 minutes to fill but was very comfortable for 2 people and a fun room extra. The bed is hard and the A/C was just so-so but the room was rustic and beautiful. The hotel staff provided us with softer pillows upon request.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel. Lovely scenery. Very helpful staff. Great food. It's a bit far away from everything - they have a shuttle bus and are willing to take and fetch you. It's a good idea to have a car though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Hotel with great facilities

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: the pool, the room and the food
Stayed with my two children of four and seven. We all loved this hotel, especially the pool. easy to find, great parking, sky TV to keep the little ones entertained (in english). lovely clean room and helpful staff