Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Spaceous rooms and pool area.
Cons: Some staff a little less friendly
Very comfortable rooms. Great shower. Small, but pleasant pool area. Breakfast is basic, but a friendly chef makes you a great omelette. Some rooms have a kitchenette and there's a good gym too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Curtesy of it's personal.
Cons: Overall satisfied
Location: Local taxi service weren't to readily available, unless you did a little walking! Which I didn't mind
Very satisfied with hotel and it's staff also it's location to downtown San Fernando.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Basic hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Located one hour plus away from Piarco Int'l aiport, It is only good if you must have to stay in San Fernando/Point Lisas area. Services are barley minimal for a hotel: bed, ac, fan, bath (good water pressure). Furnitures are worn and not well keeped. Restaurant prices, as in whole TT, are high but quality is not. Breakfast was included, yet no fruit, ham or cheese is offered. Only eggs, cereal or pancakes. Internet us free, but data transmission is unreliable. Password is changed ecery two days. Allegedly offer in-room safety box. Mine did not work over my entire staying although it was reported three times. Personal is detached and distant, no service-leaned. And in top of above, it was expensive. Paid same in my last night, in a true 3-star chain hotel next to Airport.
5 out of 5
by Charles from Bleecker New York

First Overseas Stay

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very friendly, Went out of there way to accommodate my wife and I. The location was in a good neighborhood which made our stay quiet and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again.The only down side was the beautiful pool was in the wrong location-it had to close early because of the proximity to the restaurant.Speaking of the restaurant,the food and the service was very good!
5 out of 5
by Charles from Upstate NY.

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Don't know where some of the less than favorable reviews came from,but our stay has been A+ so far.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My experience

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
I originally had booked this hotel for 4 nights when we got there we were informed of extra charges that i wasn't aware of before coming. I ended up staying there the first night because we already got charged the first night and then finding an alternate place to stay in South Trinidad. The hotel location is not around anywhere so if your not from Trinidad or familiar with south Trinidad I don't advice you to stay here, but the rooms are very big and the hotel and food service are good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Room was over kitchen and weight room, to much noise late at night. Some staff were to abrupt when speaking to them. Not very patient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Birgitta from Columbia, SC

Tradewinds is the Best San Fernando has to offer.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
The better if not best hotel in San Fernando. The rooms were very large. I stayed in the room with two queen beds but it had a full desk area and sitting area with two chairs and a table not including the other two sitting chairs. I had the room with the balcony overlooking the pool area. The nightly music from the restaurant and pub a level below could be distracting if you were looking for quiet or don't like a wonderful array of pop hits from all eras from around the US and Trinidad & Tobago (with a little Adele and Sam Smith thrown in). The microwave and refrigerator were an excellent touch. But the room was so spacious and the AC unit came with a remote control. If you didn't want super cold air, there was also a very nice ceiling fan in the room. Every morning pretty local birds came by the pool area and the breakfast offerings were above the typical free continental breakfast fare. There was a staff person making omelettes as well as pancakes. Some of the staff need a little help but the customer service was much better her than at the other well-known (and older) hotel in the city. It is also very close to SAPA (Southern Academy for the Performing Arts) and the hotel staff is helpful in directing you or your cab driver on how to get there.
3 out of 5
by Jerry from Santa Fe

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
No frills hotel conveniently on the south end of the island