Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Clean, dog friendly, no extra pet fees

Posted Jul 7, 2017
For a quick mid-week get away we wanted to check out PIB, but since we weren't sure we wanted to be limited to the island we stayed at this much more affordable option on the mainland. This is clean, basic lodging. It's a Super 8, not a luxury hotel, and met our expectations for a clean comfortable place to stay. They offer free breakfast, which is limited but they had waffles which made my husband happy. They are also walking distance to other restaurants (we tried the fish at Jolly Roger across the street which was good) and we walked to the Jet Express - a little over a mile- rather than pay to park at the ferry. The big selling point for us is that they are dog friendly and do not charge a separate fee for your pet. Just let them know you are bringing a pet when you book. Since we travel with our dog, it is great to find a place like this. Most places charge $40-$50 per night for the dog, above any refundable damage deposit. We did not need to pay anything extra here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville TN

Average hotel close to main drag, but ...

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location and helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: -Fridges in rooms -change the batteries on the door locks -fisherman who stay there might actually like to use some of the "Ice for rooms ONLY!".
Location: Close to the landing and boat ramp to launch your own boat.
-No fridges in rooms -couldn't locate the ONLY roll out bed so we HAD to rent another room Basically a very mediocre hotel, but the staff was helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nashville

Cuts corners in things that matter

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Checked in and was placed in a handicapped room was told that's is what I requested although I did not. Room was clean. Wanted to watch tv. The audio was good but the picture on every channel was quite snowy- nearly unwatchable. The mattresses were cheap and completely worn out and warped. Did not receive maid service. I asked front desk person if that was normal. He inquired if I had up do not disturb sign. I told him I did not. He asked if I had personal items on the beds as they would not make beds if that was the case. I told him I did not and it was apparent that the maid did not come into room as the trash was not emptied, the linens were not replaced, room not vacuumed and beds not made. Free Breakfast is corn flakes or cinnamon buns. The shower has a unique knob. You could get either hot or cold nearly impossible to get water yep to comfortable level.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Basic hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient access to birding locations
Cons: Quality control of maid service, hallways too dark...add higher wattage bulbs
Location: Hiking trails, birding at Magee Marsh, Ottawa Refuge, Maumee Park
Ok if you are not in the room much Needs updating, better room cleaning, more lighting
4 out of 5
by Amy

Decent room at a reasonable price

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
I had a reasonably pleasant stay at this motel. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, despite being right on a busy road and backing up to a McDonald's drive-through. I was there in the off-season (mid-April) and during the week (Sunday and Monday nights), so there were not many people in the motel -- I imagine it might be a different story during the Summer tourist season. Front desk staff were friendly and check-in went smoothly. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jsson

very happy

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
I said from the time we got there that it was the so clean. Staff very friendly. Never wrote a review before. Very happy!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good enough for a cheap one night stay! Cheap and easy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

A good place to stay!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Port Clinton Is ten miles from two birding hot spots: Magee Marsh and Ottawa NWR, and it has a great reputation with fishermen.
The staff is amazing - so friendly! The room was nice and clean, but the bathtub should really be replaced as it is peeling and shows of old dirt that will not come off (Room 101). Another concern was the incredibly weak WiFi. It was too frustrating to continue to try to use the Internet. The fellow at the front desk said that he was struggling as well and said the cause was too many guests using WiFi that evening. Breakfast was great. All in all, we would stay there again.