Ratings based on 1,068 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, cheap and close to Plaza

Posted Jul 17, 2016
If you're looking for luxury you may want to stay somewhere else. You can't beat the price or location to the Plaza. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and there is a great restaurant attached to the hotel. I hear they are slowly replacing the 19" crt TV's with LCD's ( not a joke). They advertise WiFi but is is close to non-existent. That being said I stay there regularly. Hint" spring for the king size room unless you're a single.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Within walking distance to everything.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Lovely cool pool that we had all to ourselves on a Wednesday afternoon. The bed and pillows were new and very comfotable. Nice to have in-room coffee set-up. The front desk staff and maids responded cheerfully to any requests and comped us a day parking over a minor inconvenience. Loved this place! Do be aware that second floor rooms are only accessible via stairs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Englewood, CO

Great central location!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Garrett's Desert Inn is a typical 1950s-style motel. We loved the central location and proximity to the plaza. It's quiet, clean, and affordable. We'll definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

good location / outdated rooms

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: just updated the bedding and room décor - would pay a higher rate if done
the location is very close to the Plaza but the rooms were very outdated - bathtubs were so small I could stand sideways to take a shower. $8/day parking is required and not included in the room rate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oostkamp

We hadden er meer van verwacht

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: De ligging is perfect. Vlakbij centrum en toch geen lawaai.
Het personeel was correct, maar niet echt vriendelijk, in tegenstelling tot bijna alle personeel van bijna alle andere hotels in de USA die we deden. Onze frigo zat op een stroomblok die defect was en ze hebben dat niet opgelost. Er werd niet gestofzuigd. Het zwembad hebben we niet benut. De ligging ervan bij of zelfs op de parking eigenlijk is niet leuk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Easy walk to Plaza

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Have stayed here several times. Best things are location and price. They did surprise me with a parking fee ($8). Not a deal breaker, I just hate when hotels charge parking and "resort" fees when you arrive. Seems a little sneaky when it's too late to cancel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyons, CO

Great location, good price!

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: Not charging guests for parking.
Location: All within walking distance: shopping, museums, dining, people watching, close to galleries on Canyon Road.
The location of Garrett's Desert is great, within walking distance of everything - the plaza, museums, dining, shopping. The room was a little dated but very clean and comfortable, plus the shower had pressure and a good flow - always important. Compared to the prices of other Santa Fe hotels, the Desert Inn beats them all. I'll take a little dated and great location instead of top dollar prices. We parked our car when we arrived Monday evening and didn't drive again until we left Thursday morning. It would have been nice if we didn't have to pay for parking, especially since the huge parking lot was sparsely populated. I would definitely stay at Garrett's again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Close to Plaza

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Proximity to Plaza
Cons: Open the pool.
Location: Cathedral Georgia O'Keeffe museum
Adam, the front desk clerk was very accommodating. He is a real gem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Perfect Santa Fe location!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Comfort. Location. Value. Helpful desk staff.
Cons: I guess some people might want a more updated type room, but really, who cares? Spend your money on things that matter.
Location: Just a couple blocks from the square, so head over to the French Bakery for breakfast, hit the Art Museum, then just hang out in the square.
I've stayed at Garrett's several times - the location is perfect, just a few blocks off the square. And the parking lot is huge, so no parking hassles at all, The room are nothing fancy, sort of old-fashioned, but quite comfortable - my bed was great. Good shower too - not one of those stupid handheld jobs. The people at the front desk were very helpful and nice - they gave me google maps to a couple places I was interested in finding. (Because I have a flip phone, not a smart phone.) Just a nice, homey kind of place, and a great Santa Fe value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Remodel
Location: A five minute walk to the plaza and the restaurants, bars, and shops.
The only good thing about this hotel is it's location ... a five minute walk to the plaza and the restaurants, bars, and shops.