Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Santa Fe

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: In addition to the lovely staff,the beds are quite comfortable, the tile in the bathroom is beautiful and the big windows make the room light and air.
Location: The location of LaFonda is within walking distance to most everything you'd want to visit in Santa Fe!
We've dined at the restaurant at La Fonda in the past but this is the first time we stayed there while vacationing in Santa Fe. We were blown away by the accommodating and friendly staff. Seriously, everyone from the parking lot attendant, to the doorman, to the gentleman at the front desk and every other hotel staff member we had contact with, went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Our room on the terrace level (La Terraza) was beautiful and smelled of pinon wood! There is a very nice restaurant, bar and a coffee bar on the ground floor. The huevos rancheros from La Plazuela were some of the best we've ever had, which is saying a lot in a town that specializes in New Mexican cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, NH

Best Historic Hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Having their trash picked up outside at the wee hours vs. later in the day.
Location: Right off the historic plaza and close to Canyon Road.
Part of historic city center on the Plaza and walking distance to many staff, beautifully decorated. A special place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

First class just off the Square

Posted Jan 15, 2017
What a great staff and wonderful hotel in old Santa Fe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
great stay would return again there to celebrate 45th anniversary looking forward to many more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Right on the Plaza

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Cons: Better pillows.
Location: Right in the Plaza. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Short drive to Santa Fe Ski. Check out Meow Wolf interactive museum.
Location and service staff are excellent, especially front desk, housekeeping, and concierge. Only negatives are that the pillows are too soft (had to use 4 and still couldn't get comfortable), and, in spite of being at the end of hallway which should be quieter, I could hear all of the noise from the hallway, which would wake us up during the night or earlier in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

La Fonda is in the Plaza.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: I like the location, restaurant, proximity to the Plaza as well as the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Not sure.
Location: There are shops in the hotel, and in the Plaza.
It was our first Christmas away from family, just the two of us and it was a treat. The staff at the hotel were exceptional; the receptionist, valet, housekeeping and the wait staff. The restaurant manager was great, willing to please us, so that we might have an exceptional experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

The Best

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We enjoyed absolutely everything about the hotel. The restaurant was top-notch. The amenities like the coffee bar and French Creperie -quaint and hip at the same time. I highly recommend staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Melissa , Hotel Management
Hello Anne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Excellent hotel, full of character

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Beautiful decor and character. Convenient parking ramp for guests. Outstanding service from every member of staff.
Cons: Nothing we can think of.
Location: Santa Fe - history, art, local Native American Artisan program. Bandalier National Monument, Los Alamos- and Ray Bradbury History Centers
La Fonda is a beautiful, historic hotel, lots of character with interesting art work everywhere and unique furnishings. Far from the standard, dull hotel settings and fixtures you see normally even in 'top' hotels; but also nicely updated where appropriate, such as in bathrooms. The bed was the most comfortable we've found in any hotel anywhere. Staff were attentive and very professional, from the front desk to housekeeping. The restaurant is excellent - both food and service. A pleasant surprise was the bar and live music on the weekend: such a fun place to hang out and dance! Fantastic location from which to explore the city of Santa Fe and its surroundings. Don't miss Los Alamos or Bandalier National Monument if you're into history and culture. We look forward to returning some day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Artful, historic, beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
La Fonda on the Plaza is a special place. I love the design of the building and the original art in the room. Wonderful experience all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LaVerne,CA

Best hotel in old town Santa Fe

Posted Dec 8, 2016
La Fonda is a beautifully restored old hotel in the center of old town Santa Fe. Rooms are thoughtfully appointed, comfortable, & cozy. Will stay there again.