Ratings based on 1,189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outstanding service

Posted May 14, 2016
Wonderful hotel. Beautiful room and artwork throughout hotel. Outstanding customer service and staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Santa Fe Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Location: Location is fabulous. Right on the plaza.
This is a lovely hotel to stay in in Santa Fe. Right off the square. Close to restaurants, shopping. Wonderful breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not meet expectations

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: The $$$ does not meet the expectations on the type of accimmodations received
Location: Everything is relatively closed but so are other hotels at a better rate and nicer accommodations
Was disappointed with the tyoe of accommodations originally provided when i arrived at the hotel. Were given a roont that faced to the front of the building where you could hear all the street traffic in addition you could barely move in the room without bumping into the furniture. Had to go to the frontdesk to have the room changed and althoug they did meet the requesti would not place this hotel to the stature it states to be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ventura ca

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2016
The hotel is beautiful and centrally located on the plaza in Santa Fe. It is undergoing a big lobby renovation so it wasn't as nice as usual but should be back to 4 star when completed. Great ambiance and wonderful food in the restaurant downstairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great hotel! Close to everything in the Plaza.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The hotel staff were very personable. In particular, we were very impressed by Felix, our concierge. He had a wealth of knowledge about venues and interests that our family would like. Thank you Felix for your great suggestions! Also, we'd like to thank Helen, our second concierge. She's very friendly and helpful. Thank you for your recommendations too! Looking forward to going back to Santa Fe...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Everything within walking distance

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: The setting, the room, the staff
Location: The cathedral, the chapel with the miracle staircase, shopping, great restaurants, the governor's palace, the state history museum, Canyon Road
It started with the pleasant parking staff and check in. The room was great, breakfast the next morning was also pleasant with great coffee. The concierge was very, very helpful. But, the thing that made our stay perfect was that our car stayed in the parking garage the entire time because everything was within walking distance including Canyon Road art district. The only thing we might have wanted to drive to was Museum Hill. The original art and the historic authenticity of the place added to our experience and made it worth repeating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arvada CO

Under Construction

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Rooms nicely decorated.
Cons: Rooms could be larger!!
Location: Location was perfect, right on the plaza with plenty of eating places and shops nearby!
I have to say I was very disappointed with my recent stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. We must have been in a newly renovated room because I can't imagine anyone not pointing out these flaws before. The bed was at least 3" lower at the head than the foot due to the slanting of the floor. We had to sleep with our pillows at the foot of the bed. Also the toilet kept running, and the outlets in the bathroom would not accommodate anything to be plugged in, including the hairdryer that the facility supplied. Upon check out when asked by the manager about our stay, I shared with her my disappointment and she was kind enough to compensate us by removing the $18.00 charge for parking from our bill. I realize that we could of contacted the main desk with our complaints, however my husband & I were too tired after traveling all day and we did not want to waste our one and only night in Santa Fe waiting for things to be fixed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rural south central Texas

Easy walk everywhere.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
The La Fonda is a historic hotel centrally located. We've eaten in the restaurant for years but this was our first overnight stay. It was very nice, even though the lobby is being remodeled. I look forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location, lovely historic setting.

Posted Mar 5, 2016
The hotel was great, just wish they had told us they were under a major renovation. Other than the construction it was lovely!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angel Fire, NM

Nice historic hotel with great location

Posted Mar 4, 2016
We spent only one night, but would not have needed a car for a longer stay, as shopping, galleries, cafes and nightspots were all within walking distance. A few things to note: First, the hotel's 'reservation specialist' I spoke to on the phone was not particularly pleasant, helpful, or inviting. If not for Expedia, we would not have stayed here. Second, the doorman was extremely helpful and friendly when we arrived, as were all the staff during our stay, he told my husband where to park the car, etc. Unfotunately, we had no idea until checking out, there was a charge of $18 per night to park the car. Also, at check in we were given a coupon for $2 off margaritas, but again, this was not mentioned so we didn't notice until after we had bought what we wanted (which was 2 margaritas) so we weren't able to use the discount. The hotel was brimming with activity, but the rooms were very quiet which was great.