Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Amazing views and brilliant service

Posted Sep 17, 2016
My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon with our 11 months old daughter. Right from the moment we booked the staff couldn't have been more friendly with swift helpful email responses. They'd given us a free upgrade, a complementary bottle of wine and had even put Minnie Mouse sheets on the cot bed having noted we had a daughter. The room was always spotlessly clean, they waited till we went out to clean or asked when they could so as not to disturb our daughters naps and they cleaned the hot tub while we were there which was good to see. The views are stunning and daily breakfasts (chosen by you from a long list) bought to your balcony every day by Ilyas (who never stops but is always smiling) are a real treat. Make sure you try the cream pie with cinnamon. Sounds wrong for breakfast and not what we expected but they're amazing. The hot tub is warm. The pool is a little cold for a baby but great on the hot days. The location is great for peace, quiet and privacy away from the masses of tourists and built up locations of Oia and Fira. Nice restaurants are in walking distance and beneath Avant Garde is one of the few sandyish beaches (black sand) on the island. A car is recommended to explore though. In summary Avant Garde is well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VISTA SPETTACOLARE

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Vista, personale, pulizia
Hotel di pochissime camere con personale disponibile e preparato. La vista sulla Caldera dalle camere e dalle zone comuni è da mozzafiato a tutte le ore del giorno, e la location è tra le più indicate di Santorini, fuori dalla confusione dei centri più famosi ma affacciata alla Caldera e vicino alle spiagge più esclusive e belle. Qualche cosa potrebbe essere migliorata per meritare il massimo dei voti e non è in linea con le potenzialità di questa bella struttura: l'accesso alle camere è diretto da un parcheggio interno polveroso, la colazione è molto "standard", la biancheria è molto "basica"; scarichi del lavandino del bagno sono talvolta maleodoranti, alcune camere pur comode sono un po' piccole.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Atemberaubender Blick, abseits vom Trubel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: sehr klein, man hat den Pool meist für sich alleine, Blick auf die Insel. Mitarbeiter sehr höflich und zuvorkommend. Preis-Leistung.
Location: Akrotiri, die Insel ist so klein, dass man innerhalb von 30min mit dem Auto am anderen Ende ist. Mietwagen ist jedoch sehr empfehlenswert.
Der Blick von der privaten Terrasse, im Whirlpool sitzend, ist traumhaft schön. Natürlich ginge es auf Santorini (insbes. in den beiden Städten) noch luxoriöser und eleganter, aber zu einem deutlich höheren Preis. Wer gerne unbeobachtet auf seiner Terrasse liegt, abseits vom Touristentrubel, ist im Avantgarde-Hotel genau richtig. (Obwohl die Hotels in der Stadt wirklich genial aussehen und jeglichen Luxus bieten, könnte sich so mancher dort wohl auf der Zimmerterrasse/ im Pool etwas beobachtet fühlen von den vorbeilaufenden Touristenströmen.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sant cugat

Nos han recibido muy bien el hotel magnifico

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Perfecta ..el lugar es muy bonito y sobretoso descato la amabildad del personal del hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing suites; incredible views; fantastic staff!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Fantastic apartments with private terrace with your own hot tub - looking out onto amazing views of the volcano / sea. The apartments also have a shared pool that overlooks the volcano / sea too. Apartments themselves are quite basic - but not in a bad way. They are nice and spacious and you have air conditioning in both the bedroom and living room. You have a fridge and kettle too. The staff are Avant Garde are brilliant. Incredibly nice and helpful. Every morning, breakfast is made to order and brought to your apartment to eat on your terrace. Staff also helped us with places to go / how to get there etc. They even ordered a delivery for us one night when we wanted to stay in! And they also made some extra efforts for us on my birthday. Room service is available and the food that we tried was very good - nice salads and wraps. The cocktails by the pool were good too. They can also arrange for massages / treatments for you in your apartment. The apartments are in Akrotiri, which is a quiet village. There a few restaurants and shops in walking distance, as well as the Venetian Castle and the ancient ruins. There are also beaches nearby (Caldera and Akrotiri beach) and from Akrotiri Beach you can get a boat to the Red, White, and Black beaches (€5). Black Beach is - in our experience - the best of the beaches. There is also bus stop right outside the apartments which - for €2 and 15 minutes - will take you to Fira (the centre). Overall: Great! Recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel hôtel avec vue magnifique sur la Caldeira

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: La vue incroyable sur la Caldeira, les équipements de la chambre, la terrasse, la piscine de belle grandeur, la gentillesse du personnel.
Cons: Isolation des chambres, proposer plus de choix pour le petit déjeuner.
Location: Situé à proximité d'Akrotiri, l'hôtel est proche de plein de restaurants, commerces et des plages. Bonne situation pour visiter le reste de l'île.
9 nuits dans cet hôtel, notre suite de 45 m2 etait très joliment décorée, confortable et la terrasse idéale pour faire la sieste, prendre son petit déjeuner ou profiter du jacuzzi...avec une vue magnifique. Petit déjeuner classique et bon servi en chambre. En revanche, l'hôtel est proche de la route principale qui mène au village d'Akrotiri et du coup on entend bq les voitures, les quads, c'est dommage car sinon ce serait vraiment très bien.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rabat

vue magnifique

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Vue magnifique, hotel acceuillant, pas très bon emplacement
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome view of Santorini and perfect seclusion

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Nice infinity pool with great views -- and the pool was never crowded. The hotel staff are friendly and spoke
Cons: The bathrooms were a little dark but otherwise very functional.
Location: Caldera beach is a 5-minute walk down the hill from the hotel. Rent a car so that you can visit the other parts of the island (Oia and Fira).
Great hotel with an awesome view of the Santorini caldera, and the location is secluded and away from the crowds. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Nice infinity pool with great views -- and the pool was never crowded. The hotel staff are friendly and spoke great English. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of food. Caldera beach is a 5-minute walk down the hill from the hotel. I recommend that you rent a car so that you can visit the other parts of the island (Oia and Fira). If you want awesome views of Santorini from your room-- without the noisy crowds, this is the place for you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel and room

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Excellent and cozy experience. The hotel staff was fabulous. Yummy beakfast and view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Peaceful area with amazing views of the caldera!

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Views, breakfast, staff, and room were fabulous.
Location: The ruins at Akrotiri, Red Beach, Perissa Beach, Kamari Beach. Fira & Oia only a short drive away.
From the moment we arrived at Avant Garde, we were treated with warmth and kindness (and a bottle of wine!). The room was wonderful, the views from our balcony were stunning, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The hotel staff was incredibly attentive. When we arrived, we were greeted by Andi, and she gave us a map with some quick tips on navigating the island, as well as some wonderful recommendations for where to go and what to do. A hotel this nice with Caldera views in Fira or Oia can easily cost triple what we paid for Avant Garde. Because we rented a car, we were able to drive to Fira and Oia to experience Santorini's shops and restaurants. We were also able to drive to various beaches located fairly close to our hotel.