Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
It was nice and friendly. The people was nice and it was the cleanest room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient to town

Posted May 11, 2017
Hotel owner and staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Room needs maintenance. Could be cute if bathroom had up to date caulking and shower was not scratched up. Also air conditioner had not been turned on before my arrival so it took hours to cool down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted May 5, 2017
Very nice people that run the motel. Clean except days they forget to clean the room! Very old, small yet quaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise ID

Cute little place

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This hotel was very nice and very clean. It was a great value and there is not one thing I didn't like about it. Just so you know though, it is not in walking distance to the beach. A short 5-7 minute drive though and you get the beautiful beach. The people around are all super nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff offering old Florida charm newly.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Price and convenience to the beach area were the standout features.
Cons: I found the beds to be a little uncomfortable. Would like the mattress a little more supportive.
Location: Shops and restaurants were easily reached by walking. Theater and library were nearby as well as beaches and boating.
Wanted to see Venice for several reasons, possibly moving down here from New England. Island Breeze offered me a n effective, easy and relaxing way of seeing Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebastian, Fl.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I like this place just like it is............
Location: Close to so many good things. Restaurants, thrift shops, shopping, The area is a little pricey but this is a big beach town.
We were so very pleased with is motel. It fit our budget and I was very well pleased with every aspect of the facility. From the friendliness of the owner and staff to the amazing cleanliness of the room and grounds. New owner has had it for 6 months and he works so very hard along with his family to make your stay most pleasing. His family is from another country and he is so pleased to be here and he makes every effort to make your stay enjoyable. I plan on coming this way for our anniversary and I will be staying here and I will be reccomending it to all the friends who may come. Do not go online and look for a most reasonable motel and then get upset when you aren't in the Hylton I have really enjoyed my stay here and will come again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel wasn't as pictured really. Bathroom was musty and smelled and needed repairing! The mattress wasn't that good. Felt like you were falling off the bed unless in the middle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus

Substandard in every way. Management questionable.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Everything about the facilities was inferior to what I would have expected from a room being offered through Expedia.
Cons: Before a facility is accepted by Expedia, it should be inspected and held to a certain standard.
Location: The room was reasonably close to the beach.
When I checked in, the hotel manager claimed that it was required that I let them copy my driver's license and credit card. I have never had that request before. I went back to the front desk and questioned it and he (and his 17 year old son) insisted that it was required. He showed me a drawer full of the same information that he had gotten from other patrons and insisted that it was required, but that he would return it at check-out. I requested that they return the driver's license photo when I checked out, and then I had my credit card cancelled and reissued. This whole thing seemed quite irregular. This was like an identity theft scam. The room smelled funny when we entered - not unclean, but as if they were using a strange cleaning agent. There was an old sofa in the room that looked like something that someone may have had in their living room in the 70s. There was a crank open window in the bathroom that would not completely close or latch. There was a door to the adjoining room that looked like it was made from 1960s wood paneling, but we could not find where we had control of the lock from our room side. The light outside of our room made it very light inside of the room all night no matter how we adjusted the blinds. There were no night stands next to the bed. The bathroom had a single lav with no counter, like what you would expect to find in a gas station restroom, only not as good. If I had known what the room was like in advance, I would not stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine, FL.

Outdated hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Update bathrooms, include hair dryer in the room
Location: Lots of local shops and very close to the beach.
Sadly, we won't be returning to this hotel that we have frequented over the past 4 yrs. They are under new ownership/management and they are less than friendly. The rooms need updated badly, especially the bathrooms. It is overpriced and simple things like complementary pastries in the morning are now no longer offered. I can get a larger updated room, with breakfast at a newer hotel just 1 mile away. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

convenient motel when visiting Venice

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This traditional 60s style Florida motel is very convenient to all of the restaurants and shopping in Venice area . It's about a mile to Venice Beach and comfortable to stay when visiting this area .