Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lytham

Lovely hotel in stunning surroundings

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were absolutely lovely, dealing with our lack of the Italian language very well but the setting made the experience.
Cons: The only thing I might say could be improved might be the pool as there were a lot of insects in it and we had to clean the pool ourselves
Location: Sassetta was lovely but be warned you may not be able to get a meal there on a Saturday night if you don't book which we found out too late
I visited for a girls weekend where we were looking for a relaxing weekend of exploring Tuscan hills and we were really delighted with what we encountered. Overall the hotel was in good condition and the rooms were very comfortable with air conditioning which was a pleasure after the intense heat of the outdoors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from London

Very pleasant stay

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Would stay there again if planning another holiday in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Italian Wine Country Paradise

Posted Sep 10, 2011
Located just a few kilometers from a beautiful medieval village (Castegneto Carducci), and just a short drive from another walled city in the middle of super-Tuscan wine country (Bolgheri), Tenuta la Bandita is an idyllic setting to relax and enjoy the beauty of this region. Everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. Our room was huge (as was the bathroom), the food was outstanding, and being able to eat on the terrace overlooking the valley was almost more than we could believe. A wonderful blend of tranquility and Tuscan ambiance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Fabulous B & B

Posted Jul 6, 2010
Fabulous hotel! The service, staff, location was amazing. Loved the room we stayed in that had a view of the mountains and valleys . Would stay here in again in a heartbeat. Perfect!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich, Switzerland

Disappointed

Posted Sep 11, 2009
The standard room we booked turned out to be a very small dark room at the back of the property, with no aircon, no bedside tables and with a lot of noise from the plumbing pipes. Due to lack of aircon, the windows had to be open, with attendant noise from the carpark and from donkeys. This (plus plumbing noises) meant we could not hear the TV, which had one English channel, and had the sound limited. The breakfast buffet often ran out of bread. Coffee was poor - out of thermos flasks. Upon request one espresso or cappucino was provided per person. More than one attracted a charge, as did bacon and eggs. Pool loungers were always full, so we didn't use the pool. Parking was also full on 2 occasions. Not at all relaxing. I asked to change the room, but none was available. Was told that I had only booked a standard room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Preston

A slice of Paradise!!

Posted Jun 25, 2009
Everything about this place is superb, from the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and everything has a wonderfully genuine touch to it. The rooms are exquisite with original features blending effortlessly with comfortable bedroom furniture. The breakfasts, whilst self serve have everything you would want and the dinners are without doubt some of the finest I've ever tasted. Can't stress how great this place is!! Treat yourself and try it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing Hideaway

Posted Jun 25, 2009
Tenuta La Bandita is a little out of the way, but that makes it all the more enjoyable. Tucked in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, near a cute hilltop town with to-die-for gelato (Sassetta), it is a gem of a small hotel. The staff is efficient and friendly (and fluent in several languages), the landscape is beautiful, and the food - grown and cooked on site - is simply marvelous. The beds are a bit hard (perhaps it is the Italian way) but otherwise the hotel gets five stars from me. I can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Well worth a revisit.

Posted Oct 12, 2008
Rather a small room and cold swimming pool but excellent situation, service and retaurant. It could do with some easy chairs on the terrace and the hedge trimmed to allow the wonderful view to be enjoyed in comfort. Not the easiest to find!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

A mountainside Treasure

Posted Sep 17, 2008
Tenuta La Bandita is based around a Tuscan Hillside villa and is at least an hour away from major cities and attractions, a car is essential. But the surrounding mountain roads are driving heaven. The food and service of pleasant staff, meant that we ate at the hotel 3 out of 4 nights and the menu was at a fixed price, very well cooked from produce grown on or nearby the villa, like a good old Italian Mamma would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely rural setting

Posted Aug 7, 2008
We stayed for 10 days at the end of July 2008. The hotel had a diverse mix of nationalities staying in its 24 rooms, but mainly Italian and German. Evening meals in the hotel are exceptionally good but expensive. Restaraunts in Castagneta Carducci (10 mins drive) are lower cost. There is also a nice pizzeria in Sassetta where you can eat with the locals. There is nothing within walking distance of the hotel so a car is essential, as is Sat Nav.