Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel located centrally to all amenities

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Staff
Very helpful staff and the hotel is located centrally to all the amenities which makes it very convenient.
4 out of 5
by Alexandra

Great hotel, scary building

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
I am writing this review in comparison with standard US hotels, so if you come to Russia from a different country, you might be in a little shock from seeing the condition of the building, the entrance, the tiny elevator without lights (Russian people are used to such conditions). But once you get inside the hotel (3rd floor of a historical building), then everything is nice, clean and decent. The entrance itself is hard to spot from the street, since the only big sign visible is KFC, but once you turn around the corner and find a door, then you are at the right place. The advantage of this hotel is its location. A subway station is right around the corner and you can actually walk to main city monuments and palaces if you want to skip taking subway (station closest to the hotel is only 1 stop away from major plazas and attractions). Breakfast options were better than in other Russian hotels (some don't offer at all), so overall this was a good stay. The hard part was to take heavy luggage up and down stairs which were unavoidable even with the use of elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location close to Metro.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Good location, breakfast, English speaking staff. We went back to Moscow and chose this hotel again. Highly recommended.
Cons: No complaints. Nothing to improve.
Location: Great location close to Metro. Easy to see everything by Metro.
Comfortable, affordable, good location, close to Metro so you can travel anywhere. Metro costs 55 rubles a single fare and is 5 minutes walk. Breakfast is good. Make sure you order cheap taxi not hotel taxi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel is generally OK nothing really exciting or outstanding, inexpensive and in a good central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the bed, it was hard as a rock and difficult to have a comfortable sleep.
5 out of 5
by James

Great experience

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful spacious room. Room service was great and staff was friendly. A little difficult to find/get to the room (lots of stairs) but worth it. Great place to stay on a budget.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visiting Peter

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, looking forward for another visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA, US

Nice small hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: location, staff
Location: next to two subway stations, a bus stop, a small mall, a few fast food restaurants, 15-20 min walk to the city's main attractions (Palace square...)
Nice small hotel next to a subway and a short walk to the city center, nice and helpful staff (can help you with excursions). Standard breakfast options (oatmeal, corn flakes, pastries, yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese and bologna, choice of coffee), tea and coffee with waffles are available all day. If you come with kids (more than two in a room) expect them to sleep on a chair/sofa bed (as in most of Russian and European hotels). The room was clean but limited with desk space. Old building with large windows in our corner room, kind of makes it authentic. Be prepared to carry your luggage on the staircase up: the elevator stops between floors.
4 out of 5
by Aliaksandr from Minsk

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
fine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds Yorkshire

Still Excellent value, but slipping a bit

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the hotel is located in the city centre
Cons: During busy holiday periods, it would be a good idea to increase breakfast room capacity - Even by putting more tables and chairs in the reception.
Location: The Allegro Moskovsky is right in the middle of where the action is;- Very close to 3 Metro stations in Sennaya square, And good for shopping.
I have stayed at the Allegro a few times now and I can recommend this place for it's excellent location and general value for money. However, on this occasion it stated to get full and busy towards the end of the week due to people arriving for the "Russian Easter holiday", and this caused problems in the breakfast room on a morning (which is now open 7am -10am). Everybody seems to go in there between 9am and 10am, so there's no where to sit. On my last day I tried to go in earlier to avoid the crowds, but it was just as bad. So I decided to stand by the worktop to prepare my breakfast of corn flakes cereal, then I found out there was no milk left. So when I asked the waitress if she could bring some more "Moloko", she said there was no more left.!! - For goodness sake Allegro, Get your act together, There is a big supermarket next door, So there is no excuse for running out of such a basic item. I do appreciate this was not normal circumstances with the hotel full to capacity, but maybe something should be done the next time this situation arises, for example breakfast room sitting times for guests if need be. Other than that, I had a pleasant stay in the hotel in a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard. This room still had carpet, which I prefer over the new laminated floors which some of the rooms have. I would have liked my bathroom towels changed a bit more often, Then again, maybe they only change them if you leave them on the floor.
4 out of 5
by Maryia from Chicago

Great hotel close to public transportation

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room, welcoming staff, decent breakfast, close to public transportation. Recommend!