Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel with great style and services

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
This little gem is hiding behind the songtsam temple, though it's a bit hard to find even with the GPS. The small town in front of the hotel is undergoing heavy constructions. We arrived there with no hot water and got a free upgrade a suite. Room is huge but not as cozy as the smaller one. They even set up the fireplace to get the room warmed up for us everyday. Food is excellent but too bad we missed the spa. Overall an excellent hotel where you can relax and find you inner peace, definitely will visit again.
5 out of 5
by Eldon from Tucson, Arizona

Fabulous cultural get-away, done perfectly!!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a return visit to this exotic city, where we were meeting the parents of our Chinese foreign exchange student. We are good friends for years. They stayed in the "sister hotel" close by. The entire hotel staff and all the facilities are at the 5-Star level. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Staff of this hotel are brilliant

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: A free shuttle to the old town
Location: The location is excellent for the temple but a little out of the old town
This hotel is a little out of town but that is the only negative otherwise this is an excellent world class hotel with staff that give personal and excellent service
5 out of 5
by William from Peebles

Outstanding oasis.

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely outstanding service from Patrick and his whole team. Great attention to authentic detail in the design of the hotel and the menus, but it was the uniformly excellent service from all the staff that made this hotel stand out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chan

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on HotelClub
Marvelous resort that I didnt want to get out of. A good view of the beautiful Songtsam Temple, which the hotel provides a free buggy ride to. In the evening, staff come to start the fireplace and deliver Ginger Tea. Heartwarming value adds that made our day.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Hong Kong

Highly recommended for family trips

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
I would love to give a 5+ rating for this resort. It's situated inside the Songtsam (ie the main religious site) area so the tranquility and freshness of the air has no rival. Admittedly it's too far away from the city centre so it's not too possible to go out for food, but this is compensated by the breakfast and Zang cuisine offered by the hotel restaurant at a reasonable price. The hotel arranges shuttle to the main tourist sites so it saves you much trouble if you are going as a family - otherwise you will have to hire your own driver-guide as the main sights in Shangri-la are sparsely situated.
4 out of 5
by Zipjolababy from Hong Kong

A perfect retreat at Shangri-la

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights at the beautiful, quiet and peaceful retreat. Delicious food and excellent service at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Singapore

Wonderful Tibetan Retreat

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful and authentic Tibetan Retreat located just behind the famous Songzalin Monasetry. Very quiet and peaceful. However, it is about 15 min away from the main town so a little inconvenient unless you have a driver. Other than that, a perfect getaway to relax.