Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, U.S.A.

Wow. Amazing all around

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was superb, food extraordinary, hotel beautiful, just a fantastic experience overall.
Cons: During the room intro, I probably should have been warned about leaving the door open during a shower. There's a sign, but I was too tired to see it.
Location: Easy access to everything Portsmouth. A short walk to some stores, a very short taxi ride or drive to the farthest sites (HMS Victory, etc.)
I can think of no other place I have stayed in my lifetime (48 years old, been traveling internationally since I was 14), that was as nice as The Clarence. Before we even checked in, we were helped very enthusiastically by the staff to find a parking spot. As we were too early to check in (flight arrived at 0630, we were at the hotel by 1000), they offered to hold our bags and try to get the rooms ready as soon as the current guests checked out (the hotel only has 6 rooms I believe), check in was supposed to be 1400). We didn't want to impose any more than we had to, so we decided to hold onto the bags while we drove around the city. They took my phone number and said they would call us as soon as the rooms were ready. They called at ~1200. When we got there, the same staff member (I am so sorry I don't remember her name as I wish to credit her personally), was obviously on her way to lunch when she saw us pull up. Despite our protests that she go to lunch, she helped put our bags inside and make sure we were taken care of. The woman who checked us in (all I remember is her name started with an M, and she was from Poland... I really need to be better at names...). She was extraordinarily nice also, and took us each on a detailed tour of our rooms, being sure to explain everything really well (where hair dryer was, etc.). Another very attentive woman served us breakfast the next two days( se. She knew my room number and name already, so I didn't have to give it to her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good staff, small room

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Shower head would not stay up. Bed not great.
Location: Ok. In a residential area so fairly quiet.
Mostly good. But room was a tight fit. Not close to Dockyards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Nice little hotel close to the seafront.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
A nice little house hotel with 7-8 rooms is located in a quiet area close to the seafront. The room facilities are new and clean. All staffs are very friendly and helpful. As the hotel is very quiet, you might disturb or be disturbed by other guests, particularly when opening the front door or taking shower at night. The hotel is a bit away from the city center, so you might have to walk about 15 mins to find a good restaurant for dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

No complaints about the Clarence.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming and friendly staff. Large bedroom with very comfortable bed and no noise disturbance from outside or from other guests. Brilliant shower!! Good choice of cooked breakfasts with the usual fruit and cereals available too. Apart from a couple of spaces there is no parking on site but permits to park on the road were given on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Very nice hotel close to lots of local attractions

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Southsea Castle and the Pyramid Centre museums and other places are within a 5 minute walk.Central Portsmouth is served by regular bus services.
Very courteous and pleasant staff who treated us very well and help us even after we checked out as we had a problem with the car
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorking

Lovely one night stand

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and welcoming
Cons: Not easy to find and better parking facilities
Location: Great for visiting Portsmouth. Plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby also
Firstly not the easiest place to find and off street parking didn't feel the safest. But once in the hotel everything was excellent. Room was very comfortable maybe not the biggest but okay for one night, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and very friendly and prompt service. Would seriously consider staying again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel, really great staff especially Lisa, she was so helpful and friendly!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bijou Georgean hotel within a city

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for our needs - primarily visiting family, but also access to a wide variety of interests with many interesting amenities - both old and modern. The only caution is the door into the shower cubicle - rather snug! Other than that the hotel and amenities were excellent and intend using it in the future