Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Really nice small hotel (8 bedrooms).

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: small & very clean
Cons: none
Location: Sea front walk. Portsmouth historic dockyard
Very nice & tidy small hotel. friendly staff very welcoming. Excellent room and super breakfast. Yes we will be back
5 out of 5
by graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast selection was good and nicely presented when served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: All of it
Location: Was handy for the coast and rides
Booked the superior room with the double spa bath and it was fabulous - gorgous room, lovely bathroom, and really friendly and helpful staff. Booked for a romantic weekend and met all expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, U.S.A.

Wow. Amazing all around

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was superb, food extraordinary, hotel beautiful, just a fantastic experience overall.
Cons: During the room intro, I probably should have been warned about leaving the door open during a shower. There's a sign, but I was too tired to see it.
Location: Easy access to everything Portsmouth. A short walk to some stores, a very short taxi ride or drive to the farthest sites (HMS Victory, etc.)
I can think of no other place I have stayed in my lifetime (48 years old, been traveling internationally since I was 14), that was as nice as The Clarence. Before we even checked in, we were helped very enthusiastically by the staff to find a parking spot. As we were too early to check in (flight arrived at 0630, we were at the hotel by 1000), they offered to hold our bags and try to get the rooms ready as soon as the current guests checked out (the hotel only has 6 rooms I believe), check in was supposed to be 1400). We didn't want to impose any more than we had to, so we decided to hold onto the bags while we drove around the city. They took my phone number and said they would call us as soon as the rooms were ready. They called at ~1200. When we got there, the same staff member (I am so sorry I don't remember her name as I wish to credit her personally), was obviously on her way to lunch when she saw us pull up. Despite our protests that she go to lunch, she helped put our bags inside and make sure we were taken care of. The woman who checked us in (all I remember is her name started with an M, and she was from Poland... I really need to be better at names...). She was extraordinarily nice also, and took us each on a detailed tour of our rooms, being sure to explain everything really well (where hair dryer was, etc.). Another very attentive woman served us breakfast the next two days( se. She knew my room number and name already, so I didn't have to give it to her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good staff, small room

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Shower head would not stay up. Bed not great.
Location: Ok. In a residential area so fairly quiet.
Mostly good. But room was a tight fit. Not close to Dockyards
5 out of 5
by George

Would I go back, I am, Recommend, without a doubt

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Those who read my posts will know its usually 4 or 5 star hotels, believe me this little hotel rates a 6. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Everything was spotless, room good, bathroom excellent, breakfast good and pleantyful, brilliant staff. And you could walk anywhere in 30 mins even walk to the hovercraft and be in Ryde in 30mins if you timed it right.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely clean room but mattress was a little saggy other than that it was nice,breakfast was lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Nice little hotel close to the seafront.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
A nice little house hotel with 7-8 rooms is located in a quiet area close to the seafront. The room facilities are new and clean. All staffs are very friendly and helpful. As the hotel is very quiet, you might disturb or be disturbed by other guests, particularly when opening the front door or taking shower at night. The hotel is a bit away from the city center, so you might have to walk about 15 mins to find a good restaurant for dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels