Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by A verified traveler from UK
Beautiful location but be aware it is near nothingPosted Apr 6, 2016
I wanted a countryside Italian vacation but unfortunately was unable to pick up my car due to unforeseen circumstances of my bag being stolen over a bank holiday weekend before we flew out the Monday. We had to take public transport and was delayed due to weather but the hotel did provide bus timetable and offered to pick us up by taxi from Siena. We declined as transport was unpredictable. After a €25/30 taxi to the hotel we discovered it is literally no where close to anything. Over an hour walk down country lanes to the closest restaurant and over 6km drive to local shop. We were physically unable to stay here and very upset by this. We could swallow unable to stay for a night due to weather but after paying for 4 nights upfront and not spending more than 20 minutes due to the fact that it is very isolated we were offered 0 refund for not staying at all. I understand the description says countryside and gives distances from local towns but be aware that it is terribly isolated. For me even a countryside retreat should have somewhere to provide food or refreshment within a 30 minute walk or should make this more apparent on the site. I was terribly disappointed and left a very sour taste in my mouth. Do not go if you want to go out for Italian food or have some wine. Driving is a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Linari Girls, Hotel Management
Dear Rachael, Thank you for your review. As you wrote, we are in middle of countryside surrounding Siena and, normally, peaceful position and quiet country atmosphere are very much appreciated by travelers. We are so sorry about all of your misfortunes but as you wrote we've tried to make your stay more comfortable: as you were travelling without a car, we offered you all of our help with public transport but you declined this. More than that your booking was for a not refundable rate. We are very sorry, but we've tried to do everything we could in order to help you. Refunds are not normally accorded if problems are not depending from us and this is the case. We really hope that during your next holiday in Tuscany you’ll be able to travel across our amazing countryside, enjoying it! Linari Girls
by A verified traveler
Perfect Tuscany getawayPosted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
15 min from Siena, tuscany country charm, will definitely return!
by John Dolen from San Lorenzo a Linari
good locationPosted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed the hospitality and breakfast
by Kathleen from Calgary
Run down - LinariPosted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
Didn't like it at all. Very dissapointed. Room smelled moldie and stinky. Asked if we could cancel and were told that we couldn't without paying for the night anyway!!! Wi-Fi only available in 1 area so everyone had to sit together. No restaurant or bar. Breakfast was OK.
by M&D from Carlisle, Ontario Canada
Good value for the moneyPosted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing old place! In need of some maintenance though. We had urgent problems (no hot water and no light in the bathroom) fixed immediately and the breakfast buffet was extensive and good. We were upgraded to a larger apartment and appreciated that, although the rooms could have been a bit cleaner. The bathroom had a funny odour - we think from crushed stink bugs, but we out some lavender in a bowl in there and it smelled much better. Once we got hot water, the temperature was consistent and good pressure for our shower. It would have been helpful if the water heater was explained when we got our room and how to turn on the gas stove. But we'd stay there again if we came back.
for Familiesby A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta
True Tuscan experience in rustic Villa!Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: All the brick architecture, the view, the location, the comfortable beds for our family of four, EVERYTHING.
Cons: Stronger WIFI.
Location: Vast views of Tuscany, amazing countryside restaurants, a short 15 minute drive to Siena, 50 minutes to San Gimignano
This "off the beaten track" Tuscan resort will be etched in our minds forever. We stayed on the third floor of a beautiful old rustic red brick building reminiscent of the movie, A Room with A view, and believe me, what a view!The owner was most welcoming and gracious and at the end of a days work it was wonderful to see him join in the fun at the beautiful outdoor swimming pool and play water volleyball. The pool side breakfasts were amazing and inclusive with the room. We had a kitchen and didn't even need to use it. Very spacious apartment with two bedrooms and comfortable firm beds. Thank you San Lorenzo a Linari! We'll be dreaming of you.
by LovedSanLorenzo from Italy
Loved San LorenzoPosted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels
I cannot praise this place enough! I only wish we had more time here. Everything was fabulous: our apartment, the pool, the delicious breakfast, the fluffy towels. It was great! The views from the hotel were beautiful. The hotel grounds were magnificent. We will definitely come back. This place is full of charm. Loved it!
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Olympia, WA, USA
Nice place a few minutes out of SienaPosted Jun 29, 2014
A little hard to find, but worth the effort. Very comfortable, wish we could have stayed longer.
by Henry from Vancouver, Canada
Breath taking view... even out of the bathroomPosted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
We arrive in the dead of the night and it seem to be in the middle of nowhere. We didn't get to see the property until the next day. Our one bedroom apartment was HUGE and had many excellent views of the Tuscany country side (including the bathroom!). The vintage furniture was a nice touch and the fully equipped kitchen was useful. The location is hard to find but only a short drive to Siena and many other hill towns. Average breakfast and average staff. My only qualm was that the facilities (there were many :) seemed to be behind on maintenance.
by Dodo from Germany
AwesomePosted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
This place is amazing. We were supposed to stay for one night only on our way from Sicily to Rome, but we fell in love with the place and decised to stay an additional night. One Thing to note is that check in is only between 3-7 PM. We didnt read this and arrived very late at night and thought we would not be able to check in, but the staff had left us instrucions to get to the room which was really Kind of them. Surroundings are a pure Tuscna bliss. nature is extremely beautifull and those nice local houses ... Siena is just 15 min drive away . Would definitely come back for longer.