Ratings based on 2,244 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Young lady at the front counter was awesome, very helpful. Close to Metro and Highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Best Western Springfield. We appreciate your patronage and feedback as we strive to lead the industry in customer care. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Business Trip

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Frequent traveler and have stayed here before. The breakfast is quite good for this class of hotel. The internet can be spotty depending on the room and the number of people using it. The pool is nice and well maintained. They were refurbishing (floor by floor) during my stay, so the decor will likely be improved - not that it was bad to start with. Indicates the management is keeping up with the facility before it becomes "worn out".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel could use some serious updating rooms could use some paint and updating of the wallpaper it looks very cheap it was great having a full breakfast buffet and bar totally made up for non upgraded items pool area was great pool a little dirty but love the fact that they had an on-site lifeguard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MURFREESBORO, TN

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Lots of good choices for the free breakfast.
Location: Location is great
The room was very clean and comfortable. This will be my go to hotel every time I visit Springfield VA
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Best Western Springfield. We appreciate your patronage and feedback as we strive to lead the industry in customer care. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Pennsylvania

Nice, affordable -- but requests are iffy

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Rooms clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was good.
Cons: You have to walk outdoors to get from the office to the tower that contains the rooms. In rain/snow, that can be unpleasant.
We needed connecting/adjoining rooms for myself and my disabled adult son. We requested same two weeks early. Apparently, they "pair" rooms with requests based on the dates of the requests. That is a reasonable procedure, but I didn't know it. We got one room on the fifth floor and were offered another on the sixth. Not safe enough in case of fire, etc. So we both bunked in the same room. It worked, after a fashion, though my air mattress put my head on the same level as the cold air conditioner output. At check-in, the staff was apologetic, energetic, and sincere. There were no rooms to be had in the area due to numerous graduations. I guess the moral of the story is: Make special-request reservations very, VERY early. That aside, we will stay there again if the occasion arises. It's a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Best Western Springfield. We appreciate your patronage and feedback as we strive to lead the industry in customer care. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: pleasant staff
Cons: 1st floor currently being renovated
Location: central location, but confusing to a non resident
good. even though there were some renovations going on ,it was not disruptive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Best Western Springfield. We appreciate your patronage and feedback as we strive to lead the industry in customer care. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, Maryland

Business Trip

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Notice of construction and water outages before booking! Let the client decide if they want to chance the issues or choose another facility.
Location: Was a business trip but DC is just up the road.
I live approximately 70 miles away but had a very important meeting with the ARmy and didn't want to chance traffic or other issues that could arrive so decided to stay in Northern Virginia. When I checked in the clerk was very disconnected, noticed hand written signs about water outage in them morning and construction on the 1st floor. I was placed on the 2nd floor but left by 7:00 am so noise was not an issue. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly but no coffee, urrrg. The parking lot was full and my vehicle got blocked in for 20 minutes by a tractor trailer. I don't recommend the facility as too many little issues plus deliveries should never ever keep patrons blocked in! They need to figure out deliveries.... Overall I wouldn't have spent the money to still be "on time" for such an important meeting and next time will pay the higher price for the 4 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know Imran Ali AGM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not disturb means do not disturb!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We checked in very late to the hotel and asked if we could check out at 1 pm instead of noon and they said it was fine. I put the do not disturb sign on the door just to have the cleaning staff disregard it. They knocked twice at about 9:30 waking up my husband, and then proceeded to try opening the door. Since I had the lock on, they realized we were not ready for them to clean. They came back a second time an hour later and did the same thing. This time since my husband had woken up, I yelled out "we're not ready!" Do not disturb means do not disturb. I called the front desk and they said that they would talk to the cleaning manager. As we were getting ready, they knocked again and again. To say the least we ended up not sleeping well at all. This is unacceptable! What's the point of offering a sign that's going to be disregarded. I hope no one else has a similar experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Best Western Springfield. We regret in this instance we did not deliver on our promise to lead the industry in customer care. We will strive to get better. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west chester, pa

Disgusting

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything from cleanliness, to upgraded furniture, to fresh breakfast, to nice customer service, to employees that speak English, and the list goes o
Location: Close to Alexandria and D.C. Surrounding areas.
You walk in a room that is stuffy, humid and smelly. Then you find beds with unchanged sheets and pillow cases.so, even when we asked for clean ones, they still looked unclean and smelled. The furniture looked like it came from a junk yard! The breakfast was not fresh and the employees were crowding with the guests to get their breakfast too! They said they are upgrading the rooms, so I said you should not take reservations until they upgrade all their rooms. This hotel is very run down, dated, filthy, disgusting big time. They do not deserve more than one star, whoever gave them 3.5 stars is doing injustice to the people who are looking for a decent, clean hotel. This was the worst hotel I ever stayed at for the last fifty years, anywhere in the world. Disgusting....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Best Western Springfield. We regret in this instance we did not deliver on our promise to lead the industry in customer care. We will strive to get better. At your service. Imran Ali AGM
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast is generous compared to other hotels.
Cons: Cleanliness, insect infestations, water/mold/sewer issues. Customer care could also be improved, the manager does not return/answer phone calls.
Location: The location is near the highway/Metro which is good. You will need to drive to find meals.
The hotel is quite dirty and run down. Our first room had very wet carpet and a strong sewer/mold smell. Our second room had bedbugs. Running water was frequently unavailable. The building overall is in general disrepair/filth. Unfortunately, the management does not take customer health or safety seriously. Rather than address their issues they choose to avoid/ignore customers. The desk staff are apparently unable to reach the manager on the premises and he does not return/answer phone calls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Imran Ali, AGM, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know Imran Ali AGM