Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington,DC

KMADC Visits Tamarind Reef Resort

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The room was nice and cool and a balconey with a view of the ocean. The ammenities included Aveeno soap in the bathroom which was clean.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel is in a remote location. The only things to do at the hotel are to snorkle, lay in the sun, swim at the beach, or swim in the pool.
My old colllege chum and I had a late arrival. I arrive very late and checked in with no problem. They gave us two free drink tickets each and I found the room. The room was nice and cool. The ammenities included Aveeno soap in the bathroom which was clean. As fars as the staff, they were relaxing. The Spa was great too, I enjoyed it so much, I went twice for a deep tissue massage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Soothing, scenic, surf, sun... and rum!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Location, location, staff! Our room, the Honeymoon Suite, has been renovated and is perfectly situated under a shady tree. Quiet, tranquil setting.
Cons: They are in the process of renovating rooms. Otherwise, I think they have it just about right!
Location: Conveniently away from the noise of town. BE SURE to eat at the Blue Water Terrace Restaurant. Check the reviews! Fine art for the palate by Lori!!
Exceptional. Rosalie and the entire staff went out of their way to make our week the quiet, pleasant 30th anniversary celebration we were looking for. The layout of the resort allows for beach/pool fun to take place away from most of the rooms. So we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our patio drinking our morning coffee and watching the sun rise over Buck Island and listening to the gentle surf in the evenings with practically no noise pollution! Although the facility is dated it is clean and has a bit of an old fashioned charming character. Restaurant serves tasty food and drinks. Snorkeling along the reef right outside our room was a delightful perk. And, did I mention Rosalie? WHAT A GEM! The epitome of a gracious hostess. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and hope to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great location right on the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: All of the rooms should be updated in a manner similar to Number 34.
Location: Close to Christiansted, close to great restaurants. All island activities are within a short distance.
The staff at this hotel are top notch. They helped us set up dinners and activities. The restaurant on site had fabulous burgers. The beach and facilities were great, and the pool was clean and cool. Our first room was a bit outdated, but clean. The bed was very comfortable. On the second day, the air conditioner decided to stop blowing cold air, so we were moved to a different room. This one had been remodeled and was in much better condition. Beautiful shower and floors, and the same great beds. It's close to everything. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Average

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The quietness and friendliness of the staff
Cons: The bathroom and overall furnishings could stand some updating.
Location: Not much to do unless you are into surfing or snorkeling. Kinda of boring. The downtown area of St. Croix was really pathetic
The hotel was clean but old. The bathroom was very small and could use some updating. Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very average and some of these,ections were below average. The beach was very quiet and quaint. Not great for swimming but if you went further out it was good for snorkeling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach, good restaurant onsite, snorkeling from beach, excellent views of Green Cay and Buck Island
First time to St. Croix, family vacation, enjoyed exploring the island, Bio-Bay tour was great, food around town is awesome including Twin City Coffee, TLC, Chicken Shack, and Eat at Cane Bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Enjoyed our Visit

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Deep End Bar and Grill
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired, but well maintained. Landscape maintenance, could be done after 9am, for a more pleasant experience.
Location: Marine next door, Deep End Bar was nice to have on grounds. Short drive to Christiansted ($6 pp ea. way) Not much within walking distance
The resort was convenient for activities around the island. Not much but relaxing to do at the resort. Water activities are nice, but water is difficult to enter.(rocky beach area) Close to marina, rent a car for sure. Cab rides will eat your fun budget. Great people and many locals visit for the bar and grill. Staff was friendly and most helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great for Snorkelers and Nature Lovers

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: We love the comfortable beds, large rooms, and great views, as well as the awesome snorkeling on the reef in front of the hotel.
Cons: Some tiles were chipped, the sink stopper was broken, and a the cleaners had missed a few spots in the corners behind doors, etc.
Location: The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Christiansted's restaurants and shops and about 20 minutes from Point Udal, the easternmost point in the U.S.
The Tamarind Reef is one of the best snorkel sites on an island with many great snorkel sites (terrific snorkeling and diving on St. Croix are among the Caribbean's best kept secrets). All rooms at the hotel overlook the reef, which is shallow and filled with a wide variety of fish and coral (especially in front of the hotel itself). A series of tide pools in front of the hotel always contain interesting sea life (but beware of sea urchins--beach shoes are a must). There are beautiful views of the Caribbean, Green Cay, and Buck Island in the distance. The beach shack offers snorkel gear and kayaks; Green Cay is easily reached by kayak. The rooms themselves are large, comfortable, and well appointed with large closets, plenty of hangers, refrigerator, safe, and flat screen TVs. Second floor rooms have a large balcony with plenty of space to relax, and first floor rooms have generous patios. In our room this time there were a few chipped floor tiles and the sink stopper was broken, but these minor problems did not interfere with our enjoyment. The Deep End Restaurant onsite offers excellent food and friendly service poolside. We love St. Croix and have visited many times, and the Tamarind Reef Hotel is our home away from home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shinglehouse, PA

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted May 1, 2016
Beautiful views great place and staff. 2 great restaurants on site. This was for our honeymoon and Mimi at The Mermaids Art Room and all the staff at the Deep End Bar and Grill made our week great! We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice hotel, great location, close to surf/waves.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Bright & freshly remodeled, great restaurant, friendly & helpful staff, ammenities and near-central location to everything!
Cons: Clear a small pathway (sandy bottom) around coral & rock to allow better access to ocean for swimmers/snorklers.
Location: Near-central location. Pool, snorkle, kayak, paddle-boarding all on-site. Marina next door with sailing to Buck Island & other power water sports!
Ammenities and a great location! We sat on our balcony with coffee every morning watching the ocean & listening to the surf (20-30ft away). Snorkle, kayak, pool, & paddleboards all included on-site. Beach is not too friendly for swimmers as too much rock & coral but its large area is great for volleyball, relaxing & sun-bathing. One of the best & reasonable on-site restaurants on the island, The Deep End, usually with live evening music (we ate at about 12 different ones). Green Cay Marina right next door with sailing to Buck Island - fantastic snorkling with Carl & Heinz and fly-boarding with Island Revels Tay & Savannah. Also upscale restaurant Galleons w/ jazz piano bar at Marina. Everything mentioned within easy walking distance. Then, if you're comfortable navigating & driving on the left side (right turns are tricky), you will need a car to get around on the island. Christiansted is about a 10 minute drive. Pt Udal, Cruzan Rum Factory, Estate Whim Plantation, Frederiksted, & west-end Rainbow Beach w/ restaurant Rythms (beautiful sandy beach for easy walk-in water swimming are all about 30-45 minutes away, some in different directions (pick up free maps at the airport upon arrival). If you desire an alternative from a big dinner or fresh fish some night, don't miss the best island cheeseburger at Cheesburgers & bring the little kids (5 mins east). And don't miss Duggans Reef @ Teague Bay for a Sunday Brunch or evening meal right next to the ocean (10 mins east).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel is located right on the beach. The room was nice and clean and the staff is friendly. Private beach and free snorkeling gear. Hammocks and beach chairs are all over the property. Just a 10 minute drive to Christiansted and about 25 minutes to the airport. Would definitely recommend.