Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Casual comfort
Cons: Nothing...it was GREAT!
Loved it! The staff and entire experience of the hotel was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Hotel on the Beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great overall experience. Wonderful staff, good food, on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views and convenient location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The menu at the Terrace and Lounge would benefit from including more local dishes.
Location: Amazing views. Quaint Christiansted has great restaurants. Great snorkeling on Buck Island.
Tried to give the hotel a rating, but clicking didn't work. The Buccaneer is excellent, the staff wonderful, the facilities superb, both room comfort and cleanliness very good. We had a wonderful vacation experience. The staff at the concierge desk was outstanding! Yvette Stenzel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Staff is excellent! Housekeeping could improve as there weren't bathroom essentials stocked. No qtips or cotton balls. No coffee stirring or spoons. No napkins provided by the coffee station either. I was charged $75 for shampoo, conditioner and hand lotion use provided by the hotel. There was NO sign that we would be charged for this. I was a bit shocked to receive an email that my credit charged was charged for these. This is unacceptable. Lounge chairs on patio are very uncomfortable and weathered. Overall, this is a lovely place and therefore gave a generous rating desoite the few issues mentioned above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort right on the beach.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: This would be a very long list. I think I will go with it was easily a self contained resort, but had easy access to anything else we wanted too.
Cons: My only complaint was the price of transportation. The taxi prices for the "Buccaneer" cabs were 3xs higher than town taxis. Should be competitive.
Location: Snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding, swimming, fishing, tours. You name it, there is a place to do it near by.
We spent a week at this resort & never lacked for things to do. The weather was not in our favor, but we still had tons of beach time, events planned by the hotel to choose from, tours on the island, & easy access to several attractions offered on the island. The room was clean, comfortable & spacious. We were lucky to get one right on the beach, so the views could not be beat! The food was excellent! The breakfast buffet was more then generous every morning & the dinners, although a little pricey, were delicious & I could not really complain. The staff were all very friendly & the front desk & concierge staff were very helpful making sure we got the best experiences we could. I highly recommend this resort to anyone heading to the island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Family friendly and nice beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
2 nice beaches right at hotel, a pool, big clean rooms. Free snorkeling gear, kayaks, beach chairs etc. Very pretty views of ocean from our room. Water didn't get hot enough in shower for my liking. The continental breakfast was nothing special. The waitress, who just brought us coffee, gave us a "bill" at the end of breakfast showing what breakfast would've costed us, so we could tip accordingly, which I found a bit contrived. Easy 10 minute drive to town. A rental car was a must for us, mostly because we aren't the type to just sit at the beach all day long. We had weirdly windy and rainy weather for mid March and the water was cloudy so we couldn't snorkel, but another guest told us there is great snorkeling right at the beach at the hotel. Overall a very good experience and fun vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kernersville, N.C.

Beautiful Views

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The views were beautiful, very laid back atmosphere, and we felt very safe!
Cons: A golf cart shuttle every 15 mins.
Location: Not close to anything, a taxi needs to take you into town or activities other than water sports. The employees were very helpful making arrangements.
When we arrived they upgraded us to a room on the beach. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was more expensive than expected but very good. Some of the shops in town & some activities didn' t accept credit cards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best stay I've ever had in the Caribbean!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Simply wonderful. Every detail is thought to make the stay the pleasant as possible. Great staff, great facilities and the natural beauty of the estate is out of this world. Fully recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Secluded but close main city.
Cons: Relocate the ice machine away from the rooms. Our room was next to the ice machine and at night it was continual noise from usage. Upgrade TVs to HD.
Location: Rent a car and go farther east on east end highway, beautiful public beaches directly across from Buck island. Go snorkeling at Buck Island.
Staff were very friendly, helpful, happy. We stayed four nights. The morning breakfast had enough variety. Lunch and dinner portions were more than sufficient. We did not golf but stayed on the beach. Renovated showers were a pleasant surprise. The gift shop was not open on time, so the hotel manager walked me to the gift shop, opened and allowed me to purchase what i needed as i was in a rush. Very accommodating. I would come back, but this time bring the kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Beautiful, service-oriented hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: In particular, the people who work there are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing really comes to ma no except maybe a less expensive place to eat.
Location: There is plenty to do on the grounds of the hotel--all the things you need for fun in the ocean. Christiansted is good for eating and shopping.
Our room was upgraded to a villa on the beach, which was beautiful and quiet. The complimentary breakfasts are delicious and include a wonderful omelet bar. The scenery is amazing, the golf was challenging and beautiful and the service is excellent.