Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Was working so did not get to use much of the property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful relaxing, pampered week

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: Pillows were flat but plentiful.
What a surprise and delight this oasis by the beach was! Went with 2 children under 5 yo. Did not see many other children this young there but would recommend this place without any concerns for families. I highly recommend the Oceanfront rooms unless you want to walk uphill back to your room after you go to the beach. Views were divine. The staff was incredible and friendly. Most of them treat you with a special personal approach. They try to get to know you overall. Beach and water are pristine. They have all supplies you need for a fun beach day (snorkels, fins, noodles, lounge mats, beach toys, kayaks, paddle boards, etc.) Breakfast buffet very complete and a nice touch when complimentary. Dinner options limited to usually 1 restaurant on site each night but satisfactory. Menu is exquisite and staff and dinner are exemplary. Food at beach is really good (especially the Jerk Chicken from The Mermaid). I couldn't get enough of it. Portions were generous. Took a snorkel trip to Buck Island with Big Beard's. (Must do activity if you love sea life. Way way better than any snorkeling I've seen in Hawaii. Rivals some of the Best sites from the Red Sea)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wash DC

Great Expedia Recommendation

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: From the front desk, concierge, housekeeping staff to the chef...the staff was wonderful. The room views were remarkable.
Cons: Plumbing and air condition had a few challenges
Location: We rented a car to tour the island-- however it is not necessary since the hotel provides a shuttle to transport passengers to local events
This was the 1st recommendation that popped up on Expedia. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised. Husband, wife, aunt, uncle and 5 year old. The staff was gracious and accommodating. The facility was well maintained and clean. I really appreciated the beach toys and entertainment for the child. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful vacation

Posted Jul 12, 2016
This Buccaneer exceeded my expectations. Check in was smooth. The room was large and the bathroom was clean. There was no shortage of towels, shampoo, conditioner, etc. Upon arrival - there was a bucket of ice prepared for us as well as a pitcher of cold water. Daily breakfast buffet included in the price was a nice surprise. The breakfast is amazing with lots of choices. The beach is just a few steps away and is absolutely beautiful. I had a great July 4th weekend. I will definitely be coming back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Not the best for a couples get away. Lots of kids. But the staff was awesome. And a beautiful place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from satellite beach, fl

Beautiful old world charm

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Just beautiful! Old world charm hotel, really nice staff, great porch on rooms. Nice comped breakfast!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful, quite and family friendly.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The staff at this hotel is very friendly and accommodating. CJay and Ortize in particular where very helpful and took good care of us.
Cons: I'd love to see more specific details readily accessible on excursions from the hotel. Departure times, locations, duration and cost would be a plus
Location: The location is incredibly scenic with extraordinary views. We attended "Jump Up" which was sort of a street fair with vendors and merchants.
This was a last minute vacation for us so I had not researched the hotel well prior to our departure. However, I did see some of the reviews and that Expedia had rated it highly. I tried to call ahead of time and book an airport shuttle but when I called, it was explained to me that transportation was provided by taxi service only. Just as I was told, taxi's are readily available at the airport and it is a short drive to the hotel. When we arrived we were immediately warmly greeted and offered a beverage. We were provided shuttle transportation to our room(s) which overlooked the water. They were spacious and had tasteful décor and very large bathrooms amply supplied with towels. Just outside our rooms were the pool and a place where they distribute snorkeling gear, towels, floats and kayaks. The staff was very helpful in describing how to safely snorkel avoiding the reef. There is a reef adorned with abundant tropical fish to look at and it is accessible right from the beach. A more elaborate reef is just off the beach but can be easily accessed if you don't mind swimming out there. (I would recommend life vests that the hotel will provide you for young swimmers or adults like me that might tire easily during the swim back). Follow directions CLOSELY when swimming out the reef! There are places with minimal water between you and the brain coral which will hurt you if you touch it and there are places where the current will pull you in to the waves
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Great experience, nice resort friendly staff Great oasis in a poor Island
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Down home on the plantation

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Nice location on hills overlooking the bay.
Cons: A lot could be improved. Start with new management.
Location: Location is inconvenient unless you have a rental car. Bicycles would be a great cheap way to get into town, but not a lot in town either.
The Buccaneer is situated on the site of a former sugar plantation. The staff are friendly, the grounds are well-maintained and the rooms are clean. But it is overpriced, the food is sub-par, and it feels all too much like a modern-day plantation with all the colored help serving the mostly white guests. It may be a safe place for families with children or elderly retirees, but it's a very dull place for anyone seeking adventure or lively fun. It feels oppressive, as if staff are constantly looking over your shoulder. If you happen to be out, a maid comes in to open the drapes in the morning and close them again in the evening - whether you want that level of invasion of privacy or not. It's a weird vibe and seems based on recreating a fantasy history that is out of date and out of step with modern sensibilities. But I never have like the Caribbean resort mentality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

so Very disappointed!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The property is beautiful.
Cons: staff
Location: Buck Island - Charter Teroro and Dragonfly, Rent a car and enjoy the island! Restaurant - Bombay.
Our experience at the Buccaneer was very unpleasant! Unfortunately the majority of the staff is either cold shouldered or rude. This was quite a shock. We have traveled and stayed at different places between the islands and have always been happy. This was our first trip to St. Croix. St. Croix itself is a nice quiet island. We found the people on the island itself to be extremely nice. Not sure what the problem at the actual hotel is. For what you pay and what you think you are going to get it is NOT up to par! One day we came back from a long day out to Buck Island and found our room key no longer worked. No explanation as to why. We had 2 nights to go. I will say the hotel is clean. A few little ants but you are on an Island and I am sure that this is hard to control at times. There is a gentleman named George at the golf course and out of all the staff he deserves to be mentioned. VERY nice man!! Thanks George. I would say spend your $$$$$ elsewhere. Sadly we had chosen to stay here to celebrate a 50th birthday and an anniversary. We wish we had not. This hotel is waaaaayyyyy over rated.