Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fontana California

Travel to Utah

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Staying at the Howard Johnsons in St George Utah was great. Quiet, peaceful, and clean. Chosen now as number one overnight stop when traveling to Utah. Thank you Howard Johnson and staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingsport tn

Close to Zion national park

Posted Nov 10, 2017
I like the way the room was laid out very clean the only thing I didn't like was the bathroom was very small but close to restaurants an would go back for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice location and clean

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, the price
Cons: unclog the drains
Location: Close to freeway and places to eat
I went with my family for a half marathon and softball tournament. The hotel was located near the freeway and lots of places to eat. Our room was clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Both the sink and shower drains were slow to drain. The staff was friendly and helpful and my kids liked the pool. The breakfast included juice, coffee and hot cocoa, oatmeal packets, boiled eggs, yogurt, bagels, toast, toaster waffles, mini cinnamon rolls, fruit, biscuits and gravy, and cold cereal. We thought it to be sufficient and found something for everyone. The hotel is a little older and run down, but we aren't spoiled and found it to be a great place to fit our needs. We would stay here again if the price is right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Pretty Nasty Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Continental breakfast was acceptable.
Cons: All of it.
Location: Roughly an hour from Zion National Park, which is why we booked it.
This place needs a complete demolition and rebuild of the facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Good for pet friendly motel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly
Cons: Mattress way too firm.
The room was clean and relatively spacious. I had ground for for easy access with pet too. The largest down-side to my stay was the mattress was extremely firm, to the point of not being able to sleep. This happened to be a handi-cap room and not sure if the mattress was designed for handicapped or would be the same throughout all the rooms. Recommend checking the mattress comfort if you plan to try this motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Reasonable value for a roomy suite

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: A good value for a suite. Spotless bathroom and excellent room service. Comfortable bed and two TVs in good working order.
Cons: Offer more cookware (pots and pans), utensils, and a toaster. Provide a quieter and less obtrusive AC unit; allow windows to be opened.
Location: St George is situated in a paradise of natural beauty. Zion and Bryce are within easy driving distance.
The suite offers many conveniences, including a regular sized refrigerator, 4-burner stove, plentiful pantry space, a microwave, and separate kitchen and bathroom sinks. In a kitchen drawer I found a few utensils but no chef's knife or bread knife; in the cabinet above, plates and bowls but no saucepans. I found the outlet in the kitchen was dead, and could have wished for a toaster. Front desk service was efficient and helpful. Room service was outstanding: thoughtful, thorough, and considerate of my personal items. The bathroom was spotless. The one thing I struggled to get used to, especially at night, was the hum and flow of air of the AC / ventilation unit. It was impossible to get along without it in the heat, but I would have preferred to open a window at times just for the peace and quiet; however, the windows were sealed. I spent some extremely pleasant hours in the hot tub outside: clean water and just the right temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Utah

For pets, fair room for the price, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, close to amenities and freeway.
Cons: Breakfast biscuits and gravy were cold at 7:30, 1/2 hour after breakfast started. Two days in a row I opened hard-boiled eggs with brown interiors.
Location: Relatively close to the I-15 interstate.
Room clean and functional, well equipped. Bill, the PM clerk was knowledgable, professional and friendly. I will stay again if opportunity arises.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Noting great

Posted Oct 23, 2017
I upgraded to a suite but should have found out the location. It was right by the pool. Not a big deal since it closes at 10pm. The problem was the 2 huge lights that stay on all night by the pool. They shinned right in the beds and this hotel did not have those dark curtains that a lot of hotels do. Just regular blinds. Halfway through the night we were rigging blankets up over the windows to try and make it darker. The other problem was there was a gate there and that was the way to the breakfast in the morning so we heard the gate slamming shut over and over after we were up all night with the light. Ugh. Also, the breakfast was dreadful. Worse I’ve ever seen and I don’t usually complain because I’m not a huge breakfast person. Anyway, I say pass on this hotel until there is nothing else or it’s an amazing deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salmon, Idaho

Small and dirty rooms.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Wife found bath tub dirty and hair all over it. The room is very dated. The advertisement placard was disgustingly dirty. The plug in for the standing light by the door thru sparks when anything was plugged into it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Convenient

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Very clean, convenient and well maintained.
Cons: Towels were very thin,and not a lot of choice for gluten free diabetics. Other than that they had biscuits and gravy, boiled eggs & more.
Location: Tuacahan Theatre
We stayed one night. The room was very clean and spacious. We ended up in a handicapped room which was probably bigger than most. We had to run the AC all night because it was so hot and I don't like that. It was too cold then too hot, but that wasn't the hotels fault.