Ratings based on 1,295 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Horrible horrible horrible. Rip off.

Posted May 20, 2017
Stuff was unprofessional. Awful awful awful. Not what I expected to spend $500+$ on. Just awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south florida

Absolutely fantastic!!!

Posted May 18, 2017
We celebrated Mother's Day at The Don and it was perfect. We had two junior luxury suites which were immaculate and cozy. I had arranged for flowers to be delivered to the hotel for my daughter's room and they were sitting on the table as she entered. Check in was a breeze (she had an infant and 4 year old) so that was great. Room service was fast and DELICIOUS! The amenities are beautiful and we arranged for a couples massage at the Ocean Spa in the hotel and it was luxurious. The pool wasn't too crowded and the beach cabanas and seaside grill and bar service was icing on the cake. It couldn't have been a better trip... my daughter and son in law said it was the best weekend EVER!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Everything was terrific

Posted May 12, 2017
The staff (reservations, restaurant, pool, EVERYONE!) went out of their way to ensure a wonderful visit. While there were a few disruptions, hotel mgt made sure guests were taken care of. I will definitely visit 'The Don' again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Fl.

Lovely experience.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Amenities and good proximity to beach, shopping and restaurants.
Cons: Parking was pricey. Should be included.
Location: We went to dinner does the raps at Selene's . Deliscious food and moderately priced.
We had a great one day getaway. The Don is a spectacular hotel with one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. Very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Classy Grand Hotel with gorgeous beach!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The staff at the Don Cesar exceeded our expectations. We were looking for a great historic hotel stay and The Don was amazing! If you like The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island, this is a must. Perfect for a romantic get away or upscale event.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belle Vernon, Pa

Nice hotel on the beach with lots of other charges

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pricey drinks $12 but they do use top shelf, everything costs extra and they charge you a resort fee of $25 a day. Beach chairs $35-125 for a beach bed, parking valet $25, self $20, breakfast $57 dinner $120 for two.. Resort is nice but still old, rooms are tiny but clean, hard to get pool chairs have to reserve by 10 am or out of luck until after 3 pm. Also stayed at Grandplaza this trip in the penthouse and had free parking, drinks $8, breakfast $32 dollars and no resort fee... Beach cabana $25
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great for family during spring break. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Loved every minute of our stay here. The beach was beautiful. Free paddle boarding in the morning was great for our girls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Parking, $10?! Really?! Never heard of that. You stay at a luxury resort and you you have to pay $10/night to park. Stupid Maybe it's just Florida, but taxes?? They tax you on everything. My bill contained so many taxes, on taxes, surcharges and taxes on surcharges. Renting a chair on the beach!!?? Really? That makes no sense to me. Nice place, but will do a bit more research when looking again. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We have stayed here several times . Always a great vacation