Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oct 2017

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Positives: The room itself was very spacious. Great location for exploring Wiltshire and surrounds. Negatives: The cleanliness of the room was well below standard. The bed skirt was filthy as was the floor around the bed - it was quite clear that nobody had hoovered for quite some time. The bathroom wasn't much better. The grouting was mouldy, taps broken. The shower door seal didn't fit to the bath resulting in water all over the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Had a great time, family friendly - will come back again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Reasonable selection for cooked self service breakfast but plates stone cold, breakfast also cold by the time we returned to our table
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey,UK

Okay hotel in remote location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: bed mattress
Location: very quite and remote.
Comfortable hotel in a remote location. Used as attending a local wedding. Great to e able to check in at 12.00pm. Bed not overly comfortable. basic breakfast which had nearly all run out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

enjoyable stay at this hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: the spa was very well laid out
Cons: There was a lot of staff at breakfast at the weekend when it was not very busy and fewer when they were needed on the very busy monday morning
Location: There are several national trust places to visit and the hotel is not too far from Bath and Bristol
we stayed here for 3 nights, the spa facilities are very good and the bar food was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing really anymore
Cons: All their processes.
My Caesar salad came without the anchovies, prosciutto or cheese. Just lettuce and croutons. The fire alarm process was disconcerting. At first no one gave us any information other than to say " we do smell smoke but don't know where it's coming from". When we asked a member of staff if a headcount was being done, she indicated someone was !! Then the alarm was switched off, no sign of the fire brigade !!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Faringdon

Brief

Posted Jun 27, 2017
1 night stay left early due to issues resolved with hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not that good

Posted May 30, 2017
Ran out of white bread for sandwiches - really? How does a hotel run out of any food product? Hotel is extremely noisy - doors banging and slamming people upstairs walking down corridors, just all loader than it should be. Shower was broken and had black mould in grout and silicon. Toilet was barely able to flush. Bar was full of some cricket club apparently holding some meeting of some sorts - if you didn't want to be part of that? Leave the bar. Internet was good and staff were pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Disorganised with staff that don't seem to care

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: This used to be a good hotel and we have been coming for 4 years, last year we saw a deterioration and after this year will never return
Cons: Everything
Location: Fantastic pub nearby called the Patriot Arms that we eventually had dinner at, we were very well treated at extremely short notice.
I had booked 8 rooms for a family re-union (confirmed by my itinerary on expedia) and on arrival the hotel only had one reserved. The guy on reception did manage to find us rooms and was very helpful, we found out afterwards that he was not permanent staff there. The bar was almost out of alcohol and had extremely slow service. We had to prompt the waters in the restaurant to give us menus, then they gave us 4 between 14 of us! After 45 minutes we then prompted the waiters that they needed to take an order, and after an hour still without a waiter to take an order we left for another location to have dinner there. In the morning room service knocked all our rooms at 08:30, though checkout was not until 11:00 The pool was opened late in the morning, and only when the receptionist got the keys himself to open it up as the staff member responsible had not turned up