Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from central

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Good hotel!!! But far from central n happening place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful beach that is not overcrowded.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Beach, food and staff.
Cons: Availability of wifi.
Location: On quiet part of island but everything easily accessible by taxi/Uber. Great for romantic getaway or if you want to relax in a less busy environment.
Fantastic hotel with a beautiful, quiet beach. The sandbank that appears in the early evening allows you to walk in the sea up to the rocky crag in the distance. Sea water is warm. Views are amazing. Breath taking sunsets. Restaurants at hotel are great. One issue is lack of wifi. Hotel provided a dongle in the room but advised they are limited. Apart from this there is a bar/food area facing the beach which has wifi-think hotel called this area the library. Staff are friendly and very helpful and humble. Hotel is on an isolated part of the island but cabs are reasonable. Another issue is the key card to room-if you place it near your mobile phone it deactivates the key so if you get back to your room late you are locked out, but reception sorted this each time but it was irritating. Massage at spa was brilliant. Pools were great. Damai Suite was perfect. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful way to relax!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Expedia.com
Cons: Showers in the room leak a lot of water, perhaps some proper drainage would help.
Location: Local is a little removed from the main town, about 30mins however the resort provides daily activities to keep you busy.
My partner and I selected Tanjung Rhu Resort as we wanted a resort stay vacation. This hotel was wonderful! It had amazing food and beverage outlets, gym and swimming pool. The staff were amazingly polite, accommodating and always happy and smiling. One half of the resort is under refurbishment but that didn't worry us at all. I would definitely recommend this resort to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur, malaysia

Nice dining

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The resort is very nice. Personalised check-in and the staff are very friendly. The ambience of the restaurant is so comfortable. Sunset during our fine dine is so beautiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL but UNDER RENOVATION not really 5 star

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Cons: NOT CHILDREN FRIENDLY AT ALL.
BE VERY CAREFUL WITH BOOK THIS HOTEL WHEN TRAVELLING WITH KIDS. We book the hotel for a family holiday and was surprised that we are unable to check in to our room and need to upgrade to another room due to our 2 young kids, age 4 and 5. The receptionist mention the room is strictly for 2 guest only and unable to accommodate more guest. Our kids re still small and still sleep on the same bed with us. So no choice to to fork out more money for the upgrade..... i smell something very fishy. Also there is a nice pool with a bar on the other side of the hotel which are restricted for children.... So much for a family holidays,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Excellent

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Wotif
Great location on white sandy beach. Very good staff. Excellent swimming pools. Will return.
5 out of 5
by Steffi Marina

Awesome resort and fantastic staff!

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
The first thing that attracted us to this resort was its private beach (Tanjung Rhu). The view is simply spectacular and the beach is like a dream. The only other resort on this beach is the Four Seasons but it is separated by a rock. We booked the Cahaya Suite and absolutely loved it. The room is spacious, has large bathrooms and has a very comfortable bed. The resort has a magnificent garden and pond which is well maintained. It has 3 swimming pools too which is great! The staff out here are extremely courteous, friendly and very helpful. They're always greeting you as you walk around and have a smile on their face. The breakfast was also quite nice and the happy hours at the adult pool was a good deal. The Italian restaurant by the adult pool has some pretty nice options on their menu. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here and we didn't leave the resort except for lunch on one day when we went to the Four Seasons right next door. However, there was just one thing that freaked us out, it was the "wildlife" in the resort which includes chameleons, monitor lizards, and snakes (Thank God, we didn't spot one!) That said, Langkawi is a tropical island and this is expected. The wi-fi is restricted to the reading room only and trust me this is a good thing. You can have a peaceful holiday without being bothered by work emails or stupid social media. We loved every bit of our stay at Tanjung Rhu resort. Will definetly recommend this to everyone who wants a relaxing beach vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North of London, UK

Superb location, Superb staff. GO THERE !

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: STAFF - Friendly, genuine, helpful ROOM - upgrade to a HUGE suite ( TWO lounges / big bathroom / complimentary water ) LOCATION - the perfect beach
Cons: These are NOT complaints. The room we had was probably original. the run off in the shower needed to be better Nothing else to say
Location: Beach location perfect We would recommend a trip to the cable car ( and the 3D art facility at the village ) and seek out a couple of waterfalls
OK, so part of the hotel is under refurbishment ( although no actual activity was going on while we stayed for 3 days ) and one of the restaurants is due to be rebuilt. BUT ... this place is outstanding From the welcome from the driver who picked us up from the airport to the check in staff to the guys at the pool bars the people are superb. The beach is stunning ... and empty. The rooms yet to be stripped for refurbishment ( part of the main building has had rooms stripped back to brick ready for work to come ... sometime .. !! ) are relaxed and very spacious and the reduced number of rooms just means fewer people to spoil the tranquility. the Pools are excellent, the half price cocktails after 5pm enticing and the ladies in the SPA do the best massage treatments we have EVER experienced. Breakfast has a huge choice of EVERYTHING. Dinner still has plenty of options even with the Saffron original building out of action ( they have moved it to outside tables by one of the pools ) Peaceful, relaxing, good price for room and breakfast ( lunch not expensive .. and I TOTALLY recommend the afternoon tea in the reading room ... SCONES and everything ! ) JUST GO THERE As for the owner ... dive in and sort out the refurbishment ... you could have a 5 Star winner on your hands with staff to back it up
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Not bad, but under construction

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very kind staff in the restaurant and bars.
Cons: Wifi in rooms on arrival, faster checkout process, lots of renovations, more affordable spa services.
Location: The beach is gorgeous. Definitely the prettiest beach on the island. Very little to do nearby the resort.
Staff for the most part was very kind. The rooms are in great shape. About half the hotel is out of commission at the moment. There isn't any construction actually going on, just a big portion of the hotel is inaccessible/blocked off by unpleasant temporary walls. There was no wifi in the rooms. However, the front desk gave me a 4g portable internet router after I had requested one. That was actually plenty of internet for my purposes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beachfront resort

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing beach front view and beautiful even if slightly old rooms. Loved the seclusion and level of service. Food was amazing as well