Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Stained bathtub overhead lights and table lamp didn't work
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Terrifying

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, big rooms
Cons: Overall decor, it's very dated. Fix some plumbing issues (standing water in showers, water pressure in some sinks.
Location: You're very close to everything (less than 10 mins from bars, restaurants, grocery stores, etc.) Taos and Sipapu are less than 30 mins away.
If you're traveling alone as a female or with a group of females you won't feel super safe. There is minimal lighting outside. Not to mention we woke up at 4am to a guy just standing in our doorway. Apparently he had broken into the office and stolen the master key. The office staff was friendly and refunded our money, but we left because we didn't feel safe anymore.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Run down hotel in town

Posted Jan 1, 2017
First they had given my room to someone else and had to kick them out the hot tub was broken the thermostat was broken the heat was ridiculous . It was a large room with no amenities and leaving the window open all night at 15 degrees kept our room at 68
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for the quality.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
It looks like the hotel is on its last chapter. Broken window blinds, one lamp didn't work, sheets stained, bed spread had holes, and the tub was very water stained. Good shower and the beds were comfortable. Room was spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good value for price

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Easy parking. Located not far from what I wanted to do. Value was good for the price.
Cons: Housekeeping could have been better.
Location: Location was not far from shopping and other activities.
Staff was friendly. Room was cute and quaint, but old. Parking was easy. Housekeeping could have been better. Old tv, but it worked fine. Location was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, dated conditions.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Good value, quietand restful. The location was convenient.
Cons: The hotel needs an upgrade. The tv is very old as is most everything else.
Location: Right outside of towns historic district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tulsa, oklahoma

Old but interesting and quaint.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Furnishing were interesting and room was clean and neat.
Cons: Grounds and outside painting.
Location: Easy access to downtown.
Found the room pleasantly nice with older furnishing still in good shape. Grounds need some upkeep but overall it was well worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa fe, nm

Dumpy, dirty, cobwebs all over room, old toweLs

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location. But will not go back
Cons: Everything. A good cleaning for starters.
Location: Taos has a lot to offer.
Ratty pillows, dim bulbs, poor maid svce,dirty. Will not return. No amenities. Junky surroundings, holes in park lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Nice, older hotel with Taos charm

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The charm and location, size of the rooms, beauty of the property
Cons: upgrades on plumbing as it is an older property, the hot tub needs to be repaired/in service, upgrades to room amenities (newer tv) are needed
Location: I liked that it was on the edge of town, and not in the hustle and bustle in the center of town.
Hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. Huge room, which is rare these days, with beautiful Taos accents, and a kitchenette area -would have been perfect for a longer stay. Loved the trees and grassy area for sitting. Only negatives were: the hot tub was out of order, and looked like it had been for quite a while, which was disappointing; tiny, old tv that you could barely see and hear from the beds; bathroom faucets were not working properly; shower didn't drain properly; and coffee maker was not working properly. Otherwise, we had a nice overnight stay for the Alabama Shakes concert and I will definitely consider staying here in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Very disappointing experience.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing about the hotel.....the staff was friendly and the room was clean thanks to them.
Cons: See the review.
Location: OK, but pretty far from the shopping, the square, etc. of Taos.
Where to begin. Oh, when I first opened the door there was only one ceiling light and the room was quite dark. Only other light in the room was from two table lights by the bed. There were inadequate electric outlets. I had to move the one and only small table to another wall to power my laptop etc. Only two small, uncomfortable chairs in the room and a very small table. There wasn't even a bench or some place to put my suitcase. No comfortable chair or couch to sit on. The toilet flapper stuck which I repaired by jiggling it. Summary, it was a very old hotel with no amenities and in a very poor state of repair. The last straw which caused me to check out early, even though I had planned on staying four days, was that the door lock did not work the next morning, and they did not know when they could get it replaced. Only positive about my experience was that the room was clean thanks to a good and friendly staff.