Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I had an amazing experience in Martinique. The hotel was beautiful and so close to the beach.
3 out of 5
by Antoinette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

3 nights

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is dated. Rooms were comfortable, balcony with kitchenette was very useful. Bathrooms (showers) should have been cleaner. The staff tried to be helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Karibea Team, Hotel Management
Dear host, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding the residence of the Gulet. We are delighted to see that you were pleased with our rooms and the welcome you received. We are however sorry if the general cleanliness of the rooms did not satisfy you. Please be aware that we take your comments into account and pass on the information to the departments concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our establishments. Regards, The Karibea team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Elegant deserted wreck.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Grey Gardens of the carribean across from a fairly nice beach. Whole resort and boardwalk / town/ island suffering from economic malaise. Very far from American standards. Room was basic-, but clean. Staff was nice. Bare kitchenette. On site restaurant/bar was closed, pools were maintained.several of the building were no longer being used. Only about 20% occupied. If you go, bring Dish soap, sponge Paring knife and your own beachtowels. Historic sites were neat. You need to rent a car and have experience driving on tiny roads and chaotic roundabouts. If you have driven in the EU before and speak French, you can manage this adventure, other wise not recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Karibea Team, Hotel Management
Dear NYC adventurer, Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion regarding the residence of the Golétte. We are very pleased to see that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and the welcome you received. We are sorry if all our services have not satisfied you. Indeed, the standards of hotel in Martinique are different from those of the United States, which is why we recommend before each departure to visit our website to find visuals and several descriptions concerning the establishments. We hope to welcome you back to one of our establishments. Regards, The Karibea team.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
one thing I have to say never again the room wasn't clean what you see it not what you get
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not like described !!!!!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We have book suite triple with sea view. We did not have (although the room description and our booking was claiming it is provided) the following items: two bathrooms, free toiletries, NO SITTING AREA (no sofa, coffee table and armchair, as supposedly shown on photos for this room)!!!, one night table was not working, wifi was suppose to work nearby swimming pool and was not working. All the photos at hotels.com are artificially coloured and do not reflect real colours. Main desk person did not tell us about kitchenette location (hidden in the locked wardrobe at the balcony) so we did not know it is at all in our room. Also he did not tell us beforehand all the necessary codes (in particular, to the pedestrian gate leading to the town). Overall, too expensive and providing shockingly misleading (incorrect) description.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, We first would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at la Goélette. We are really sorry if your stay didn't meet your expectation. Be sure that our priorities are to satisfay our customers and that they can spend a comfortable stay. We are sorry if the pictures did not shown the right room, we had sent your comments to the technical center so they can check that there is not a mistake in the pictures. We do apologize for the inconvenient. We hope to welcome you here or in another Karibea hotel to show you our wishes to meet with your expectations. Kind regards, The karibea team
2 out of 5
by Kesha from Tahiti

Better than nothing but in need of a lot

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
My stay a tv the hotel was somewhat disappointing. There is no hotel restaurant or bar. So after 33 hours if flying it was difficult to find a place to get food. Reception was basic and the room was sparse. There was little soap and only one set of towels. We were promised another one but it never arrived. It is a pitybthat this is the hotel in the area. A truly disappointing stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Does not live up to Tartane's

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Asset is aging needs major restore and update asset will crumble quickly
2 out of 5
by Juliana from Trail BC

Don't judge a hotel by it's pictures

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
I felt that the pictures of this hotel were a little misleading. It's almost like the pictures of the hotel was from when it was brand new and when we arrived I felt as though there has been very little upkeep over the last 20 years. Our suite was ground level and only security was a fence. On our second night there someone stole food from our fridge (the kitchenette was on the patio). The reception was not open at night and my phone in the room did not work. The cleaning service only happens mid-week if you are staying a minimum of 7 nights. In my opinion it should be advertised as apartments instead of a hotel. Our room was quite sandy and dirty especially with being on the ground floor and going outside to eat. The pools were lovely and beach spectacular. Mainly I feel if it were advertised in a different way we would have had a difference experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great location, just the basics

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Affordable, two bedrooms and two bathrooms with outdoor terrace kitchenette. Great location in Tartane.
Cons: Kitchen supplies, better bedding, additional towels. Something a bit above the bare minimum.
Location: Wonderful beaches in easy walking and driving distance. Quiet, secluded area of island.
My family stayed at this hotel for the first four nights of our stay in Martinique. My 3 year old and 7 year old both loved the pool, specifically the two slides and waterfall. My son complained there wasn't enough shallow area for him to feel comfortable, but the pool certainly seems designed with kids in mind. The room was just the basics, exactly 3 spoons, 3 chairs, 3 towels, etc. for the Junior Triple room (my kids shared the pull out couch). It was great to have a door you could pull between where they slept and where we did and the outdoor kitchen on the terrace was wonderful for breakfasts and after the kids went to bed. The hotel had plenty of parking and was 5 min walk from a nice beach, 5 min drive from a fantastic one. I would have given a higher rating to this hotel if they just invested a bit in going above the bare minimum. They could, for example, provide a hand towel, dish soap, paper towels, garbage bags, wine bottle opener, or paring knife in the kitchen area. The beds were only moderately comfortable.