Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dudleston Heath, Shropdhire

Beautiful venue but let down by the food

Posted Jan 25, 2017
First impressions were wow! My room was amazing. Beds comfy. Great sized rooms. However the restaurant to me was somewhat disappointing. The food was just about ok, but overpriced for what it was. And I was eating alone when most others were dining as couples. Service was pretty slow. I had to ask for more bread as none was offered with the rather meagre starter. Then I was charged for 2 glasses of wine on my bill when I'd clearly only had had one. No apology was forthcoming and I had to wait a while before they came back with the revised bill with the additional glass of wine knocked off. I would have thought they shouldn't charge for the glass I had had personally, and certainly what's happen ended when I have been overcharged elsewhere. If I were the manager I'd be starting improvements in these areas as this would really improve the overall level of satisfaction. This is a beautiful hotel and I would stay again despite these issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Touch of luxury

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Knew little about the location or the property before booking but on arrival... wow! Like stepping back in time with excellent food, attentive staff and excellent finishes. Great location for any type of weekend away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

coudn't be better

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No
Location: N/a
Staff very friendly. Food fabulous. Room ideal. Will be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Beautiful hotel and grounds, McDonaldised service

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It's a beautiful building, marvelous terraces facing the N York Moors escarpment in its own impressive grounds in a great location. Great room.
Cons: The service and the value. IMHO
Location: The hotel is on the edge of the N York Moors so loads of hiking and viewpoints nearby. Lots of local restaurants offering local fayre at great value.
It didn't start well when I had to wait 20 minutes at check whilst a guest with a complex bill was sorted out. No eye contact, no "be with you soon as I can" and certainly no one else prepared to assist. That gets a bit irritating after a while. I explained that I would require a lower floor room and as a single traveler, as I have come to expect, ended up with the room that has the view of nothing but inner roof ledges. Most hotels have at least one of these. It was in excellent decorative order with a sparkling bathroom, comfy bed with crisp white sheets and a soft duvet. Top marks for the housekeeper. One thing that really annoyed me was their obsession with collecting data. At check in, at the spa AND when logging on to use the wifi. The receptionist had obviously had comments about this before and advised me to "make up" the info for the wifi. Why do they need the same info 3 times? For me it was just a one night stop because my first 8 choices of hotel in that location were all full.. The fact that it was one of the few places still with availability should probably have given me a bit of an idea of what was to come. I had a simple, but poor value, room service to eat in the evening. Just the sort of over priced averageness one has come to expect from corporate hotels. This experience will make me think twice about staying with this company again. All IMHO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and food, service a little slow

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Character, food menu's location, friendly service
Cons: Some of the younger staff at times seemed either overwhelmed or not as familiar with their tasks as oud expect. Hnece the disappeared comments.
Location: Coast, Castles. beautiful countryside
Generally excellent but on a few occasions once sat down in a restaurant we seemed to disappear and had to grab people to get drinks, menus etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Nice hotel close to Whitby.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: History and features.
Cons: No swimming pool.
Location: Whitby is close by so we popped down for the rest of the day on checkout.
We stayed over after a wedding we attended. Room comfortable clean and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great stay in a beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
We stayed one night for our anniversary in an executive standard room which was lovely. Food was good, staff were great and the building is unforgettable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Business Trip

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Scenery and position.
Cons: have better opening windows and air-con within the rooms even it they are portable ones...
A nice hotel to stay in and has some amazing scenery, but was a little disappointed with the room I was given as it was one of the Hot nights and there was No Air-Con within the room and the roof only window wouldn't open more than an inch, so had an uncomfortable nights sleep. Food wasn't great but staff where pleasant. would stay again but would try next time and pick another hotel first.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Beautiful hotel and grounds

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting and historic/b //
Cons: Would be good if breakfast was included in the price. the price for breakfast was horrendous! Special cheaper deals.
Location: Lots to do shopping/ walking/beaches/ places of interest.
Beautiful room but spoilt by painted red unit. Beautiful bathroom and amazing shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey Channel Islands

Awful accommodation

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Decent location and nice surroundings
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms. Better service in lounges as we had to go searching for a waiter or someone to serve drinks after 9.00pm and afternoon
Location: Close to a number of historical sites
No air conditioning in hot rooms. Poor service in bar and lounge. Constant smell of vomit in passageway and lift. Too much focus on functions and not on guests