Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: some staff were courteous.
Cons: The hotel needs renewal. There is a major problem about room size, which is not easy to change. But, the furnishing could be upgraded. An alternative
Location: Location poor -- near motorway, and at edge of central active part of the town.
very small size room; low quality furnishing; cheap flooring; lumpy pillow; ultra soft mattress; limited offering in toiletries, teas, etc; no bar. This is definitely not a four-star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Lovely hotel, close to Leiden Rail station

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly service.
Cons: Hotel restaurant menu choices could be larger. More generous amenities in the room. Help getting luggage to and from the room for elderly people.
Location: Very close to Leiden city centre and rail station. Lots of nice cafes and restaurants near by. Great location.
Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were polite, friendly and efficient, and the room was comfortable, clean and attractively decorated. The hotel is situated close to the rail station, so travel to and from Schipol Airport in Amsterdam is very easy, and Leiden city centre is within 5 minutes walk. The hotel has a good restaurant attached where a buffet style breakfast with decent choice is served every morning and the quality of the food during dinner was very enjoyable, although the menu is a little limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming UK

Comfortable Modern Hotel

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: The position and the comfort.
Cons: We found the scrambled egg at breakfast rather unappetising
Location: Central for the station and the city centre. The Keukenhof Gardens are about 30 minutes away by bus (but only open late March to early May).
We stayed one night while visiting Keukenhof Gardens for the tulips. The hotel is very convenient for the railway station and the buses to the gardens. It is only a short walk to the historic centre of the city. We were upgraded to an executive room, which was a good size and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was include although I was not expecting it to be. A decent buffet breakfast. Altogether we were very pleased and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Executive Rooms are very nice and spacious

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Quality of room and Free Health club pass
Cons: Parking instructions could be clearer on the website. Parking at the adjoining garage is much cheaper than the city so quite a bargain
Based on other reviews I selected the Executive Room. It was really large and spacious, facing the back and so very quiet and a big plus was the free pass to the gym (Sport City) close by which has squash courts. The guys at the gym were very friendly and loaned me a squash racket, ball and even court shoes so I could hit away for half an hour. Nice machines and treadmills also on the other floor. I saw lots of people in the restaurant and it was very reasonably priced but I did not try it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

for one night only might be okay

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The staff. And location.
Cons: Buy new linen and towels. Change lighting. (See also my comments above).
I have been to this hotel more than once so this is my review summary for all the stays as I do not intend to go back. The good: (1) close, less than 5 minute walk, from the train station, (2) good restaurant, but very expensive, (3) fantastic(!!!) staff, unless you get the night-shift staff, they are cantankerous. (4) free gym passes. The ugly: (1) Linen and towels are very old. Linen is yellowish and with holes in it, also it did not fit the bed so you can see the mattress. Towels are also old and hard. (2) Rooms are dark, with low lighting and small windows. Feels suffocating. (3) Noisy! When you book, ask if your room is on the road side and if so, ask to switch. The hotel is next to the highway, so if you are on that side of the building the noise will be unbearably loud, through late at night and early am. (4) Windows don't open and because of the low lighting and old carpets and furniture, the air gets stifling. The annoying: I had paid for the Golden Tulip executive suite -- I was put in the Tulip Inn (next door, lower quality). I told them and I was told it does not make a difference. (However, it does make a difference when you pay expedia.com.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to station and towns amenities and sights.

Posted Dec 26, 2015
On a previous visit to see my daughter at the university I stayed in one of the comfort rooms. I found it a bit dated and basic. This visit we were fortunate to be upgrades to an executive room. This room was spacious, modern and tastefully decorated making our stay far more pleasant. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did not use the restaurant or any of the other facilities as we eat out at local establishments with my daughter. Will definitely use again but would recommend booking the far superior executive room rather than the comfort room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, MD

Comfortable & across the street from train station

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect if you need to be at the train station early/quickly. Incredibly clean, modern, and comfortable without losing any character.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Train station: 2 minutes, airport is another 20 minute train ride. City center/bars/restaurants: 10-20 minutes. Anything you could want is nearby.
My s/o and I stayed at this hotel for one night before moving on to Amsterdam. It was perfect as I was only in Leiden towards the end of his time there for a conference. The rooms were comfortable and it was directly across the street from the train station, so no hurry to catch our train when we left the next morning. The rooms were updated and modern and there was a bar and restaurant in the lobby. We did not have breakfast, so I can't attest to their food, but we had a drink and snack from the bar after our night out on Saturday night and it was perfect. Despite being near the train station, it was a relatively quiet hotel. No problems with noise. Leiden is a beautiful city, smaller and more quaint than Amsterdam. It was easy to walk to anything and everything from this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenience and Comfort

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Convenience for rail station and for historic Leiden central area.
Cons: Open plan shower directly off bedroom & the toilet with semi opaque glass door may not suit guests sharing the room who are not on intimate terms.
Location: Great for rail station. Fast and frequent trains to Amsterdam CS (35m) and Schiphol airport (16m). Walking distance to beautiful and historic city.
Note that this review refers to the Golden Tulip, not the lower rated Tulip Inn which shares the same premises. Four night stay in July 2016. Comfortable and spacious room. High standard of presentation. Quiet location (room was at the back, not on the street side).Substantial breakfast buffet - charged as extra for Expedia customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Extremely convenient for train travellers

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: Nothing except the decor is a bit dated and could be more attractive if modernized perhaps
Location: Everything in Leiden only a short walk
100yds if that from the station and as Leiden is small and walkable, the hotel is very conveniently located Rooms are a decent size We did not use any facilities as we were out all the time but the hotel was certainly very clean Staff very polite and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel close to the city and train station

Posted Jun 29, 2015
All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful (and excellent at English which helped me greatly!). The restaurant was amazing for breakfast, diners and snacks. Loved being able to hire a bike from reception and explore Leiden. And the room was just perfect. Spacious, nice bathrooms. TV had English programs as well as Dutch, and the bed was just divine. My perfect home away from home.