Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Room is small , but cosy Shower was a bit dirty in corners Breakfast is nice , staff is helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Hotel is a good place to use as a base camp for snowboarding. We have used this hotel for the last two years and the service is good and the bus to the mountain is a 5 minute walk. The resturant is not the greatest for dinner, but the breakfast is good. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from both of the main resturant areas and is right next to the bus and train depot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location and great staff!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
We stayed for a little over a week and had a wonderful experience! The location was amazing - close to the train station and walkable to pretty much everywhere. The cleaning staff did an excellent job every day cleaning the room. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming! Breakfast buffet was your typical European breakfast with lots to choose from! They had the best raspberry jam every morning! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Excellent hotel: v helpful staff, nice breakfast!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, lovely staff, great breakfast!
Cons: Not much really.
Location: As above: excellent central location. Nice views of mountains. Can walk to Hauptsberg ski lift, and Partnach gorge (a must see).
Slightly tired building, but great location, very clean, very generous (tasty) breakfast, first class reception staff! Highly recommend this hotel, which is not very expensive, and suited our large skiing group. Right opposite train station, so easy for to and from Munich airport, but, importantly, also the Zugspitze train which stops at main lifts to skiing areas, including a super, though pricey, ride to top of Zugspitze (highest German mountain, at about 3K metres).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Nice hotel, central Garmisch

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Rooms are rather small (our bed was set in a corner so one of us had to climb over the other to get out), no air conditioning--nights were cool however. It's on a busy street, so road noise is loud if you're trying to leave the window open to get more cool air. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was great. It's labeled a 4 star, but more like three.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, unrenovated hotel that has max. 2 stars

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was nice and appropriate for a four star hotel. the location across the street from the train station
Cons: This hotel would need a major renovation and the addition of an exercise facility to satisfy four stars (or even three).
Location: shopping in the pedestrian zone, excursions into the Zugspitz area.
We stayed at the Koenigshof for two nights and were very disappointed. allegedly the best hotel in Garmisch and with four stars, everything, from the rooms to the overall facilities was disappointing. many parts of the hotel (e.g. bar and sauna) were closed due to repairs, so we only experienced our room and the main lobby and restaurant (which does not serve lunch).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Toronto

Excellent stay

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Excellent breakfast and friendly people in an amazing setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Milford, Delaware

just across the street from the main train station

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The bed. The best night sleep I've had in a long time
Cons: the front desk clerks
Location: the edge of town but taxi, bus and train very close.
The room was nice and clean. The bed was the best!!! The breakfast included was very good. The two clerks I had the pleasure to deals with seemed bothered by both my arrival and departure. NOT friendly at all. I would have highly recommended this hotel if not for them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yurek from Sudbury, Canada

Very good location!

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Staff! Restaurant! Old Europe charm!
Cons: Install real AC!
Location: Excellent location, but given the size of town any other location would be just as good!
Room comfort only 3, because it was a very hot Summer! No AC!!!!!!!!! Any other time of the year other than the hot Summer it would have been OK! I got an upgraded room to a suit, because my reservation did not get there before my arrival! people that did not have a reservation were asked to pay well over 300 Euros for a similar room! Sick! avoid staying on the East side of the hotel in the Summer, because it will get unbearably hot by 7:00!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from London, UK

Don't miss this opportunity!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and views from windows.
Cons: None.
Location: Couldn't be better.
Unusual hot weather and the Hotel and room stayed cool. Viewing on first arrival the outside has no character. Reception area needs a welcoming touch, and at present showing a well used carpet and the open door admitting leaves. Efficiently received and the lift took us to our floor and room which were immaculate, as were the stairs down with window aspects. Breakfast in a large area with outside if preferred, and all you require from a buffet section. Tables cleared as you leave and cloths renewed. This is obviously a very well run Hotel, everything works efficiently without you noticing, All staff are happy and enjoy their visitors. This Hotel is extremely well placed for train, buses, shops, park, walks. We hope to visit again and would recommend this Hotel to anybody. No outside garden but a superb park within 5min..