Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Excellent place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Barbara was very helpful. this was our third time here. Would recommend highly if you want a home base for Tuscany.
5 out of 5
by teresa

A delight to experience!

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
What can I say - we found a gem in this hotel! The rooms were large and quirky , the location perfect for access to the local town and the evening meal was the best we had during our stay in Italy. I can't praise it enough and found it a delight we didn't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey, CA

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Described above.
Cons: Caveat from a heat hater: During a heat wave in Italy, the air-conditioning was not strong enough to satisfy our yearning for coolness at night.
Location: The immediate location was gorgeous. A beautiful town, Colle Val D'Elsa, is located nearby. We ate wonderful dinners there after sundown.
Elegance and Comfort This inn, located in a historic abbey, is the epitome of the beautiful and luxurious European vacation escape. The surroundings are graceful, calm, and cool (even in a heatwave). My family and I actually did stay there during the recent European heat wave, and the expansive pool, nestled in the trees and surrounded by comfy chaises, was a perfect antidote to the heat. The inn was large enough to provide space for privacy and contemplation. The service was both gracious and efficient and the food, including a sumptuous buffet breakfast served in regal surroundings, was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Not quite what we expected

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Staff is very nice at this hotel. Grounds and pool are lovely. Rooms we older and beds not very comfortable (more like cots.) The setting for the hotel was not what we expected. Off a busy road across from a retail/restaurant complex. From the description I thought it was located in a more countryside setting. Couldn't walk to the old town. Lift was broken and it would not be an easy walk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total relaxation

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay... needed to recharge our batteries.. this was just perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

A gorgeous, charming hotel with great history

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly, welcoming, attentive staff, lovely food. Always on hand to help, whatever the query. comfortable and charming room and overall ambience.
Cons: Improvement of shower facilities, though I can only comment on our particular room.
Location: Close to nearby historic town. Lots to visit, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Walking, cycling all easy access to attractions.
A lovely location, just minutes away from a gorgeous historic town. Well looked after by all of the staff who were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. Lovely room, excellent breakfast, superb restaurant on site, can't really fault the stay. Very impressive. Nice pool area, always clean, attentive staff looking after your individual needs on a daily basis. Would very much like to return.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

A wonderful base for exploring Tuscany

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful set of buildings - the main one being a former monastery and home to a Cardinal in past times. Take time to look at the architecture of the place. We were staying in the Farmhouse block - cleaning and grounds were so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast very good - the staff will even make you a coffee of your choice! Front desk very helpful when we wanted to book an evening of Opera very comfortable and cool. We can really recommend this hotel - front desk, breakfast waiting staff, Arias in Siena - they did it all for us. Grounds gorgeous, even a swimming pool, what more could you ask for? Great situation for exploring Tuscany, with many walled Medieval towns within easy reach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Relais Della Rovere is a beautiful monastery from the 11th century that has been renovated and decorated to create an austere, tranquil, pleasant environment. The staff is wonderful and speak multiple languages. The grounds are beautifully kept with plenty of greenery and an inviting swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by Sam

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was ideal for us driving through Tuscany, not much around though so when we realised the restaurant was shut on the night we were there it was a change of plan and we drove to Sienna for dinner. The hotel room was massive and had character and the place its self was very nice. I wish the weather was nicer to make use of the pool. The breakfast was also very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels