Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Location:
The room was a little smaller than we expected but otherwise ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location if you like to be near action downt

Posted May 30, 2017
Danced at the on site club to great music....co tinental breakfast decent. Good stay will return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Handy

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Various bars and restaurants,
Cons: Ice machine operation times
Location: Water front, flying boats, kayaking, Buthart Gardens
Short stroll to waterfront and shopping, handy for major bus stops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Favourite Victoria hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
You can't beat the location and the price is excellent. Always find the staff friendly and the rooms comfortable. It is an older hotel so upgrades could be done but considering you'll pay 2 or 3 times the price for most hotels in the area, the Strathcona is an amazing deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chemainus bc

good location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: enjoyed the continental breakfest
Cons: Free parking and room changes available without big costs. complimentary coffee for someone who is up before 7/30 breakfast time
Location: location is good
I had pre booked quite a while in advance. Then my partner had knee surgery so had to have there own bed, I inquired for a room with 2 beds as the one I had booked was apparently 1 queen, they wanted 40$ more. I said I would not pay that but still needed 2 beds so they told me I could have a single and a double bed for 15$ more so as I had to have 2 beds I had to take it .I was not pleased and then you have to pay 15$ to park your car. Was not impressed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very central. Easy walking to sights/shops.

Posted May 12, 2017
Location: In the heart of downtown Victoria. Shopping, sightseeing. Great walking city.
Beautiful old hotel that needs some TLC. Bar/restaurant on sight. Great food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, in the middle of everything!

Posted May 8, 2017
Clean, great location. Cold breakfast had everything you'd need. Has five different types of bars..mostly for a younger crowd.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noise level

Posted May 8, 2017
Stay was good. The only comment I would make is making the windows soundproof. The noise from the clubs can be heard on the 3rd floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Iconic hotel in the center of things

Posted May 6, 2017
Hotel stay was good overall, some hiccups though. Stayed on a Thursday which is probably good because there is a definite party atmosphere around the place. Our room was on the 5th floor which was great for quietness, but upon check out became a bit of a pain because the elevator was down and having just returned from a vigorous walk around town was not great having to haul up shopping bags and my tired self. Friendly staff and comfortable beds made the stay great for the time we were there. Would stay again if just myself and hubby. Wouldn't recommend for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too small and dirty

Posted May 5, 2017
Room was small and dirty Not enough towels Bathroom was gross and dirty Carpets were gross and were not vacuumed Lots of dust everywhere Will not return nor recommend Small tv Staff didn't seem to care Not enough pillows Toilet didn't flush properly Seriously how much do I have to write here??????? No seriously ? This is silly Just let me finish this review Expedia I won't use you next time I will use kayak instead This is stupid How many words do I have to use