Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Good location -- close to our offices. Hotel and room decor very nice. Good internet access. Staff very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Ginny: Thank you for your feedback. I'm very happy to know that our service and facilities were up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Capital Hill and Whitehouse.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very nice. Love the wine hour from 5-6pm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the five stars. Great to know that you loved our wine hour. It's the highlight of our day when we meet with our guests and offer them a glass of wine at 5 pm every day. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located and all the museums within walking distance. Plenty to do, Plenty of restaurants near buy. Plenty of shopping.
Stayed for 8 days and it was a wonderful experience. Great staff, the décor was right out of the great Gatsby, (elegant). Located in the heart of DC. Restaurant and bar was great. Food was excellent. Coffee in the morning, ice tea at noon and wine later in the day. Room was very spacious and met with all our expectations. If visiting DC again would stay here again. Loved every minute of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
John: Thank you very much for the five stars. Thanks a million for this awesome review. I'm very happy to know that our services and facilities were up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. I'm sure we'll see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
avoid if you can
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm disheartened to know that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations. Please call me when you have a moment, so we can better understand what happened, and fully address it. I truly would like to regain your loyalty, and see you coming back to us again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Very unique, which is a big draw. The location is incredibly convenient for tourists. The staff aims to please, and never flinches at requests.
Cons: These days people are more aware than ever of the dangers in hotels, so cleanliness is ESSENTIAL. Furnishings and bathrooms need to be sanitary.
Location: Monaco couldn't be better located. Walking distance to all the museums we wanted to visit, and very close to the metro station as well. Perfect spot.
The staff was awesome from the moment we arrived. The room we found was not the size we had reserved, but we were too tired to deal with it til morning. The room was very nice though. It was ok that it was small, but we'd hoped for a window that we could sit or stand at and watch the world go by from. This one's windows were set too far back from the wall, and were at ground level (we'd requested an upper floor, larger room). The shower head felt great on my back, but it would have been nice to be able to control the pressure. The sink was not clean - bits of something on it, hair, and a bacterial odor. Otherwise, it was a very nice room. The next day our things were moved to the room we had reserved. When we arrived there was a lovely note with a wonderful bowl of berries, a banana, and a bottle of Pinot Noir. Very nice. The window sill was one you could sort of sit on (very nice), and the accomodations in general were very comfortable and well-furnished. Only complaint in this second room would be that the throw blanket was quite dirty and dusty and a bit of an assault to our sinuses. The hotel in general has a very interesting multi-cultural decor theme. Quirky, yet sophisticated. I used the word gaudy a few times. But it was very charming, and quite stimulating. Definitely not boring! The staff was very outgoing and accommodating, and the night security man, Warren, was an absolute joy to spend time with and learn about the history of the surroundings and the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Chryss: Thank you very much for this awesome review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I fully agree with you, our location in the center of downtown DC is remarkable, it's truly close to everything. I personally enjoy it everyday! Thank you very much for describing our hotel with such wonderful words (awesome, wonderful, absolute joy, etc.). I'll personally look into the con you mentioned, and make sure it's fully addressed. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room to small to walk

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel has an excellent location The staff is friendly Coffee or tea in the morning and wine in the afternoon are complimentary and served in the lobby The room was too small even to walk There was. A makeshift bathroom added to what most likely was an office in the basement The room was noisy because it was slightly below street level I would definitely be careful at checking in and ask for a room on an upper level The pictures posted in their website seem to be somewhat deceptive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed our exceptional location in the center of downtown DC, as well as, our amenities and offerings. Next time you come back, I recommend the Monte Carlo room type, it's spacious and has enough room for everyone to stretch. I truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, ok staff.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff
Location: Verizon Center
It's caddy corner to the Verizon Center. Location, location, location. Staff was ok, room was ok, If you like older style hotels you will love this place. It has a smell about it that most old hotels have that I don't care for.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Traveler: Thank you for your feedback. So true, our location in the center of Washington DC and across the street from the Verizon Center is exceptional. Please come back soon.
3 out of 5
by meghan

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017
Meghan: Thank you for your feedback. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
by linda

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017
Linda: Thank you very much for the five stars. I'm sure we'll see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coata rica

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel definitely has carácter and a diffident style, it is attractive and beautiful at the same time distinct. There are several incredible restaurant all around the hotel of different kinds making dinning options infinite and all the museums are just a walk away, the hotel also lends you bikes which makes going around Washington a lot more fun and fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Jorge C: Thank you for your feedback. Many thanks for describing our hotel with such wonderful words "attractive and beautiful". I'm happy your enjoyed our awesome location, as well as, our fun Kimpton bikes. Please come back soon.