Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Douglasville, GA

Great hotel in a historic building.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was so very helpful. Afternoons wine, beer and other liquid refreshments are served in the lobby. The location can't be beat.
Cons: Currently the hotel is undergoing some construction in the central courtyard with the renovation of a restaurant. There was little noise, however.
Location: On the corner of 7th and F street. Shopping, eating, historic sights all within a few blocks, plus the Verizon Center ( went to the Streisand concert)
Lovely building that was formerly a post office. The Kimpton Hotel Monaco is in an ideal location, across the street from the Verizon Center, great restaurants, and the National Portrait Gallery. Most of Washington's historic sites are within walking distance. The decor is tasteful and somewhat funky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money

Posted Aug 22, 2016
First of all, if you are in a wheelchair or have a stroller, this hotel is not for you!! They have inadequate access and we had to literally bring our stroller up and down a flight of stairs to leave the hotel. The front desk ladies were robotic. No one asked how my trip was, and they didn't even offer a crib for my toddler; just name, give me your credit card and here are your room keys. Then, the hallways have an essence of urine. The room was adequate, just mirrors on every space of the wall. Then on our second day we found a huge trail of ants coming from the window to our garbage can. We usually only stay at boutique hotels in DC, and this by far is the worst. Of course the robotic front desk didn't even ask how our stay was as we checked out; just "you owe $100 for parking". Really disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but could be better

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Courtyard and restaurant under construction. For the price paid I would like a continental breakfast of some caliber. Other than those two complaints the hotel has a unique decor and charm, deluxe rooms have luxurious bathtubs, and the staff is friendly. Directly across from the national portrait gallery; close access to spy museum, Verizon center, and gallery place metro station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Convenient location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Nice hotel, convenient to the National Mall. Restaurant and bar were under renovation and the hotel's compensation for this was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dover, Delaware

Great service and location.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The service.
Cons: I thinking everything is great, just need to speed up the availability when waiting for a room. They should be ready for when customers arrive.
Location: I believe it is located in an excellent area. We are minutes away from Museums, Historical sites as well as shopping sites and dinning places.
The hotel staff were very attentive. The room we got was very clean. When I went to shower I enjoy much the shampoo and conditioners as well as the body bath. When we stepped out and returned to our room they left us a bottle of wine with cheese and crackers which I think was very nice. Really felt good staying at this hotel. And it is located in a good area, close to shopping areas as well as historical sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in posizione strategica

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Questo hotel riassume un insieme di caratteristiche che ne fanno una struttura ideale. Ben tenuto, molto pulito, posizione strategica, personale molto disponobile. Anche se l'entrata non gli rende giustizia, l'hotel all'interno è molto grande con soffitti altissimi e ben arredato. Lo consiglio vivamente.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near convention center

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: nice
Cons: nice
Location: nice
nice hotel near convention center??????????????????????????????????????
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, missing wifi

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: Wifi, and off loading, checkin process.
Location: Many restaurants and museums, also a few bars and lounges in walking distance.
Nice hotel, had trouble trying to off load from vehicle because parking in front is only for loading.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Everything was good except that I did not have much light in my room...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Angelo, TX

Excellent hotel that sets itself apart from others

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Happy hour from 5-6 pm each evening with free beer, wine and soft drinks. Free use of loaner bikes, helmets and bike locks.
Cons: Front staff occasionally was a bit distracted and snappy.
We stayed for 5 nights and used a rollaway for 2 nights so our daughter could join us on the weekend. The hotel is beautiful with several features which make it stand out from all the other nearby hotels. Number one is prompt and courteous staff. Number two, Monaco is a historic hotel which is directly across the street from the portrait gallery and walking distance to Archives and the National mall. Number three, the hotel is gorgeous in decor, emerald green chandeliers in entry way, burning fireplace surrounded by plush and ample seating in the lobby, along with marvelous decor in the rooms. Number four is the proximity to Metro-directly adjacent to hotel. Number five, several excellent eating places nearby. Number six, free use of loaner bikes which made sightseeing a breeze.