Ratings based on 977 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice old hotel, but nothing special for the price.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathrooms need updating. The nickel and diming from parking, internet and mini-bar prices are upsetting.
We stayed the night before Thanksgiving and the price of the hotel was acceptable, but I expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on our recent stay at The Willard.We're disheartened to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We never wish for our guests to leave our property dissatisfied with any part of their stay, thus we are disappointed to hear you did. Should we have known of your dissatisfaction during your stay, our staff would have worked to rectify the situation immediately. Should your travels bring you back to The Willard (and we sure hope they do!), we hope to have the opportunity to make amends for your recent experience. I would encourage you to speak with our Front Desk staff for information on accessing the hotel's complimentary WiFi. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, rooms
Location: White house, Mall, Universtiy Club, Newseum, Portrait Gallery, shopping , dining....
The location was perfect for all the things we planned to do. The rooms were excellent and the ambiance of the hotel and staff were wonderful. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review. Perfect location, excellent rooms and wonderful ambiance and staff are all things we love to hear from guests when describing their Willard experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our historic property in the not so distant future. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girl friend's 80th birthday!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was professional, friendly and very accommodating. The birthday cake we ordered from their bakery was beautiful and delicious. Room service elegantly brought the cake to the room to surprise my friend.
Cons: I wish we could have been there longer. We liked everything about this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We're delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and humbled to hear that you liked everything about our hotel. Here at The Willard we love celebrating our guests, and a birthday is definitely a cause for celebration! It pleases us immensely to know that you found the birthday cake created by our pastry department to be beautiful and delicious. I will be sure to share your compliments with them. Thank you again for your review. On behalf of the Willard InterContinental Washington, DC we wish your friend a very Happy 80th Birthday and hope to see you again next year for their 81st. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland,NY

Lovely hotel, comfortable beds, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It's decor and the tip top shape it is kept in. The cozy old round bar tucked away in the corner.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's right around the corner from the White House, close to the National Mall and many museums.
The lobby brings you back in time and the decor is wonderful. Our hotel was close to everything, we walked most places. Everyone was very nice. We felt very secure. The hotel is steeped in history. We are glad that we chose The Willard for very first stay in DC. Just know that there is a back way out of the hotel, which can save on walking time, especially if you are going to the White House. We did not know this until our final night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We're humbled to hear you were glad you chose to stay with us for your first stay here in DC. It was our pleasure having you as our guests! Should your travels bring you back to the DC area (and we sure hope they do!), we look forward to welcoming you back to our historic property. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing!!!!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location- premium Staff- beyond Excellent Amazing rooms- spacious Food- Great Restruant close by Museums- close by Hands Down Favorite Hotel in Washington,DC!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and are incredibly humbled to know that The Willard is "hands down favorite hotel in washington, dc". We understand that you have many choices for accommodations here in town and are pleased you chose to stay with us. Our staff go above and beyond to ensure our guests are well taken care of during their stay, thus it was such a pleasure to see their efforts did not go unnoticed and that you found them to be "beyond amazing". Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Willard soon. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Hotel is lovely. Very comfortable. Only complaint is the cleaning staff rang our doorbell early in the morning and woke us up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We're pleased to hear you found our historic property to be lovely and very comfortable. While we never wish for our guests to leave our property dissatisfied with any part of their stay, we're disappointed to hear you did. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to ensure such a disruption does not reoccur. Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon! Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 대한민국

글로벌 정치, 외교의 중심지에서 최고의 호텔

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
편안함과 비즈니스를 모두 만족시키는 호텔
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a very nice hotel. However, our room was not ready at the check-in time - we had to wait for an hour and a half for a simple 2-queen bed room. Still, it was nice that they gave us free drinks at the hotel bar while we were waiting. The valet was just average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to welcome you to The Willard. While we do our best to ensure rooms are ready upon check-in, there are occasions where additional time is needed. My apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. I'm glad to see however that you were able to enjoy a drink in our historic Round Robin Bar while you waited. If you should need anything during the remainder of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Luxurious

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with very grand foyer and great history. Be sure to visit the historic gallery near the rear entrance to see previous guests and information about the hotels past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We couldn't agree with you more, our history gallery located off of our F street entrance is well worth a visit during one's stay. It does a terrific job of summarizing the hotel's history since 1818! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed it as much as we do. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon! Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rhode Island

Overnight in the Capitol

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Classic grand hotel Efficient yet elegant Lots of style
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We're delighted to hear you had a memorable stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our historic property in the not so distant future. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager