Featured Image

Reviews of Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel

3.5 out of 5
Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel
Jacaranda Road, Watamu

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

3.9

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 3 out of 15 reviews
5 - Excellent 20%
Rating 4 - Good. 9 out of 15 reviews
4 - Good 60%
Rating 3 - Okay. 2 out of 15 reviews
3 - Okay 13%
Rating 2 - Poor. 1 out of 15 reviews
2 - Poor 7%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 0 out of 15 reviews
1 - Terrible 0%

4.1/5

Cleanliness

4.1/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

3.9/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worst place so far !!! Horrible.
Stay away from this hotel..Stayed for 2 dayz..Empty hotel, less variation in breakfast offer. Less welcoming staff, specially at the restaurant. Live Cockroaches on the food as we had a breakfast. Outdated and broken coffee kettle, Electricity went so water anf we were not able to shower.. Horrible experience. We went to breakfast and being told "no coffee due to lack of electricity power. the pool was good.. but the management is tired and see no future in this business, we think.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Manager on Feb 16, 2020
Morning Mr. Dahir, Thanks for your review but, despite your suggestion, we still receive guests. Just like the same days you were our guest: we had 11 rooms on 12 occupied, but maybe you didn’t notice! In the restaurant we have waiters, not animator for welcome the guests. And, sorry, why you didn’t immediately call the manager when you saw “live cockroaches” on the food? May be because it wasn’t! About electricity you are right: in that days the National Company often cut power several times during the day. And, sorry, how can you say “the management is tired”? You saw the manager sleeping on the chair? Anyway thanks for your review and we’ll do our best to improve the hotel performance waiting for your next stay with us!!!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
A little gem off the beaten path
Mawe Resort is a great place if you want to get off the beaten path and do nothing but enjoy the beautiful Indian Ocean. It’s a bit isolated from town, but then then you’re generally going to come here to do nothing but relax. The service is very attentive, the ambiance is super and the food is decent. While it’s not on a beach, it’s right on the ocean which can be a easily and safely accessed through a stairway through a small cliff. Two areas for improvement would be to install more formidable air conditioning in the guest rooms and to arrange group transport to the airport for guests on the same flight.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Nice design, small boutique hotel The "Sea View" Suites might be considered as "Sea Glimpse" The AC's in both Suites we occupied produced only noise but no cold air, forget the restaurant
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Facilities were very nice. Food was good. Service good. Location is somewhat remote, but after we found stairs leading below the cliff that led to the beach, it didn't mater. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2019
Response from Beba on Feb 16, 2019
Thank you for choosing Mawe Resort!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Mawe Resort is very comfortable and relaxing.
Mawe is a great place for couples who want a comfortable and private stay away from the busier parts of the coast.
Response from Beba on Apr 25, 2018
Thank you for your visit,we hope to see you soon

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Response from Corrado on Apr 8, 2018
tanks for your revenue

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice clean quiet place in watumu
This hotel is located a little north of watumu. It is perched about 30feet up on a cliff. There is access to the water down some steps cut in the rock but this just takes you down to a rock ledge from which you can walk or wade a little way to the nice beach at low tide. You can also walk around on a road. Because it’s a little higher, often a nice cooling breeze. Friendly, helpful staff. Italian manager.. corrado? Was responsive..we asked for American coffee and next day he had a new coffee maker at breakfast...though he shook his head at any coffee that was not Italian espresso. Shout out to a good bar man Anthony who produced excellent margaritas.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2018
Response from corrado on Feb 11, 2018
grazie per la vostra vistita è stato un piacere servirvi

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Nice resort away from party crowds
Enjoyed my vacation stay. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Staff could more trained to handle English speakers, but they seemed to do very well with the Italian speakers. I'd like to see chef offer more options. Overall great stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2018
Response from corrado on Feb 1, 2018
tks for all we hope meet again

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Watamu Hotel
This is a small hotel owned & run by a very husband & wife who are anxious to make sure your stay is comfortable. The owner, Stefano, was a big help when I was having a problem with my air ticket/reservation. The staff are extremely friendly & very helpful. Arriving early at the hotel was not a problem & we were given a room as soon as it was available & I was allowed to stay at the hotel until the afternoon as I had a late afternoon flight out of Malindi. The hotel does not have it's own beach but has a nice swimming pool area. Beaches do have a problem with locals trying to sell you things, so you are spared this ! Fully recommend it if you are looking for a small friendly hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Relaxing, stylish resort on a cliff above the sea
We stayed for our last 3 days of a month long trip through Ethiopia and Kenya. It was a treat for us to relax here after stimulating but often tiring travel. We were very pleased with our choice- great views, food, pool and especially the friendly, attentive staff. The resort is a short Boda ride from Watamu town. We rented bikes the first day but found them pretty low quality, and quite expensive for a rental. Next time I would bring my own bike to explore the area more. The resort is part of a complex that was developed by a visiting Italian, and the styling was really impressive. The whole place was very relaxing with a maritime theme. Great comfortable bar, fantastic breakfasts and other meals. The resort is on a cliff next to the shore, and there is a tunnel you can walk down to a small beach at low tide. Hot water was plentiful and reliable, air conditioning in the rooms was effective. Really a nice spot. A short note on traveling in Kenya - we'd heard safety warnings especially for the coast. We had no unusual safety concerns (beyond the obvious general considerations for traveling in Africa). Highlights for us included taking a reasonably priced kiteboarding lesson in town, and sunset over the mangrove in Mida Creek

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
È un piccolo gioiello affacciato sul mare raccolto ed intimo
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Perfetto hotel per il relax e l'avventura
Abbiamo soggiornato in questo hotel 10 giorni, personale gentile e disponibile, buona la cucina, qualche piccola imperfezione, ma va bene anche quella per la meravigliosa Africa!!
Stayed 10 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Corrado on Apr 8, 2018
grazie per la vostra recensione a presto

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
mare, sole, safari.. rilassati sei in kenya ..:) )
Sono arrivato in Kenya per festeggiare il Capodanno con mia moglie e due figli di 19 e 16 anni . Quando arrivi sei ancora nei ritmi Italiani e credi che le cose siano uguali anche in Africa , ti aspetti risposte e servizi come in Italia .....ma in Kenia devi fare le cose piano, piano..quindi non ti agitare ma rilassati e goditi le vacanze . L'albergo è piccolo ma molto carino , pulito e ben gestito dal Direttore Corrado al quale puoi chiedere serenamente consiglio per risolvere ogni tua esigenza : safari ,escursioni , cene, piccole gite ecc... Il ristorante è semplice ma offre una buona cucina casalinga ( ricordati che sei in Africa ) Il personale dell'albergo è molto gentile , disponibile e non invadente, si meritano sicuramente la mancia . Molto interessante l'area relax e massaggi dove Peter è molto bravo . Il mare non è il massimo a causa delle maree , ma puoi farti accompagnare dai tuc-tuc ( tre ruote , ape scoperte ) nelle spiagge vicine ( temple beach ) . I beach boy in spiaggia sono abbastanza fastidiosi ma con 200 scellini ( 2 euro ) ti accompagnano senza farti disturbare da altri . Non comprate nessuna escursione meglio rivolgersi al vs albergo . La piscina dell'albergo è di acqua di mare e questo rende molto piacevole il bagno . Abbiamo fatto un magnifico safari nel Masai Mara organizzato dall' albergo presso il kichwa tembo uno spettacolo.....ma questa è un altra recensione .....:))
Stayed 9 nights in Dec 2017
Response from Corrado on Feb 1, 2018
grazie della vostra recensione spero di inconrarvi ancora grazie per il libro

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Séjour relaxant avec vue à couper le souffle.
Super séjour très relaxant. Le staff est particulièrement aimable. La décoration et l'ambiance de l'hôtel permettent de se relaxer tout en gardant un sentiment d'intimité grâce au faible nombre de chambre (12) et un agencement de la propriété bien étudié. Vue à couper le souffle.