Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Very cozy Hotelp

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Love this little hotel it was so cozy in a little village below the mountains. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Cute Hotel, Disappointing Staff

Posted Nov 18, 2017
My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The town of Wilderswil is very cute and quiet and is in a nice central location for exploring the area. The room was ok. We had a nice view of the mountains from our window. The room itself is basic but functional. Biggest issue with the room is they do not have single beds for a couple. They essentially pushed to twin beds together and called it a day. Not the most intimate way to sleep while on your honeymoon. Breakfast was included and was very good. The reason my rating is low is the staff. Most of the staff was very cold and unhelpful. The front desk staff seemed upset we were checking in 20 minutes before the scheduled check in time and gave very short answers when we asked for help in determining if certain attractions were open. We also tried asking for an extra pillow for my wife and they told me they didn't have any extra pillows. How does a hotel not have extra pillows? It's a real shame that such a cute little hotel has to be run by a staff that is not customer service oriented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Average, but good breakfast

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Average, but good breakfast. Sofa bed was not comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A basic hotel closed to the railway station

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location- close proximity to the railway station
Cons: They should do some renovation to the room
Location: close to the railway station and from there you can go anywhere in Switzerland
Pro: the location- close to the railway station. The dining room in the hotel is newly renovated and the breakfast is delicious. Con: the room is small and the bathroom is smaller. You can barely turn in the shower stall.
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rugby, uk

Lovely place, beautiful views.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very nice hotel. Staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The rooms clean, but some refurbish would do. The only issue I had was that the windows were pretty low, without any child protection. To keep the room open we had to keep kids away. Food was very good, and the views on the mountains were amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
we loved the balcony off our room until about 10pm when the bar area below started to get rather noisy. convenient free on site parking and a nice breakfast
1 out of 5
by geetanjali

All in all-not recommended

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Pros-300 year hotel, nice small town and good restaurant, good customer service at check-in. Cons - The hotel is 10mins uphill walk from WIlderswil station which can be tough with luggage and if rain, bus station is 200ft and closer which was good. No elevator. Room was not inviting at all and Carpet in room was very old and run-down and also run-down dirty tile in the very tiny bathroom. Bathroom had a step which would be uncomfortable for older folks. The mattress was uncomfortable and the worst was the road noise. It was a hot summer day and with no AC, you needed windows open but couldn't sleep due to traffic and people noise. Its an experience to stay in 300 yr hotel but if you cant get sleep, its not worth it. The hotel was pricey too so you got no value really. WIFI was nonexistent in rest of rooms, we had poor WIFI it as we were close to main lobby. The breakfast was OK but lady keeping tables at breakfast then was rude. She screamed at us when we asked a question. The restaurant charged us in USD and not CHF and made us victim of Dynamic currency conversion. They didn't ask us before and when it was brought to manager's notice, she was rude and said they didn't have to check before charging us in USD- WRONG. We felt cheated then.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Traditional hotel in Wilderswil.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Room was comfortable but very small. Quite a lot of noise from the street and squeaky floorboards. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Good value for area

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Clean rooms. Reserved family room,disappointed with pull-out sofa, expected bunks for boy/girl siblings. Coffee in room at no charge would be nice.