Ratings based on 1,071 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Excellent Staff

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Just can't say enough about the caring attitude of Jennifer J. of the front desk. When she asks how you are doing, she is really listening. There was a Sci-Fi convention at the hotel and Jennifer asked if I was attending, I said that I wished I was there for something that pleasant, unfortunately, I was in the area to say goodbye to a family member. Jennifer later came to my room with a fruit tray and a note because I was on her mind and she wanted to make sure I was comfortable and tried to have a good stay. I had to give her a hug...what a great employee, service and person! Thank you for your kindness, Jennifer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ridgeway, VA

Very nice hotel in close proximity to Busch Garden

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Cons: Need 7 lb free weights and 20 lb dumb bells in the fitness room - really strange to skip from 15 lb to 25 lb weight sets.
Enjoyed my stay. In a king bed room away from elevators, very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlothian, Virginia

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: Convenient to Williamsburg attractions.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated.
Location: Near Kingsmill, Bush Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.
Nice hotel with great staff. The room could use some updating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from temecula, ca

Room like a dungeon

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Our room was on the first floor, near the elevators. We could hear kids/ students tour the whole time we were in the room. The room was in bad shape, needed a renovation. The bathroom was deplorable and badly need of a renovation. If we weren’t so tired from being Williamsburg all day we would’ve changed hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Decent hotel but had some issues

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Booked for the indoor pool so my kids could play and I (unfortunately) had to finish a work deadline that night. No website, Expedia or their personal website indicated pool was down!!! 3 disappointed kids and one stressed mom. Staff did try to call area hotels to see if we could use their pool. No. They would not let us cancel our room and go somewhere else but did give a small credit back. Rooms were good size, comfortable. Room service was horrible and my sons steal rated rotten. 3 of us tried it to be sure, it was bad. Staff handled things well, pleasant and said would refund room service but hasn't shown up on my card yet. Overall a decent stay, decent hotel, large rooms, helpful managers but some hiccups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Spacious, comfortable hotel with some flaws.

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness of rooms, a lot of space, all gadgets functioning except the airconditioning. Friendly staff.
Cons: Air conditioning, moving people moe quickly, informing people properly when there are problems.
Location: Colonial Williamsburg, nice wooded lot, enough parking.
I booked this hotel for my grandchildren and me because it had an indoor pool. When we wanted to swim, the pool was closed (at 8:30 p.m.! ) " for cleaning". We waited half an hour and then went back, but then were told the pool was closed for the night. We were so disappointed. We wasted a precious hour! Also, the airconditioner/ heater was very loud, and I could not turn it off. It greatly affected my sleep. Finally, the next morning, there was a very long line waiting to be seated for breakfast. Our time was precious because we had planned to explore colonial Williamsburg, and there was so much to learn and see. When we were finally seated, there were at least five big tables without patrons, but with dirty dishes on them. There should have been more staff to clear the tables. I think all these annoying experiences were a matter of very poor management! A hotel near an interesting site should take into consideration that people want to go sightseeing and not wait around for food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern virginia

Close to Busch Gardens

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Great pool for kids. Hotel very clean but dated. A bit run down. Our room had visible water damage on the ceiling in several places. There was some issue with the original room we reserved we were very helpfully offered a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. We could not open the door to the balcony. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topsham, Maine

Off season bargain in Williamsburg!

Posted Mar 12, 2018
We were at the Doubletree HILTON off season so the hotel was pretty quiet. The rooms were well done, comfy bed, and we had a king with a couch, nice to relax on after a day of touring. Came with an extra blanket for the couch - I like to wrap up while watching TV! The breakfast buffet was very hearty and the restaurant had a nice selection. Didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and clean. Great Stay in Williamsburg!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Had to change room after unloading due to smoke smell. Understaffed at front desk and cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Clean, safe, & well run!

Posted Jan 23, 2018 on Hotels
Very slow time for tourism in Williamsburg when I visited. Property was near empty as were all other hotels in the town. A few days of near 70 degree sunshine drew me to this mini golf mecca for a Jan. thaw. Asst. Mgr. Korey was at the front desk making sure the guests were enjoying their visits. Great staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Samantha, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg. We appreciate the 5 Star review! Thanks for the great comments about our fantastic staff, including Korey! We are so glad you were able to enjoy the warm January weather! We hope to see you back again soon!